We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad map!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cariari Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Heredia B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We reserved a room and tried to make our way to this hotel, but the map on tripadvisor is wrong. The property is not in downtown Herederia, it appears to be in an adjacent suburb. Disappointed that we didn't make it there! And lost our deposit....

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_Scurvy_Lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGB12, Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

So sorry you had a problem----I will call trip advisor & give them our GPS coordiates to make sure this does not happen to anyone else. Did you have our phone #??? Did you go to our website where there are very good directions. When ever you are going to a location that is unfamiliar--you should ALWAYS have a phone #. You are in new territory & it is easy to get lost. When i contact my guests I make sure they have our phone # & proper directions. Was the Res. made through an agency online?? Please accept my apology --but since you were never here --I think it is unfair to give a bad review to Cariari Bed & Breakfast. If ever you return to C.R.--I will be happy to comp you a nite---But ,please contact me directly----Thank you, L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 75 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Cariari Bed and Breakfast was our first stop in Costa Rica and we wished it had been our last stop as well, as we were leaving the country. Laurie is an amazing host, going out of her way (and the staff's way!) to make us a fabulous dinner upon our arrival on Christmas Day. The room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was --- as our travel agent put it --- to die for! Fresh fruit, delicious banana bread, eggs and bacon. A perfect start to our first full day in the country. When our rental car was delayed in delivery, Laurie took us to the store so we could stock up on water and supplies for our trip to the coast. She really went out of her way to make our stay very comfortable. Thanks, Laurie!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGB12, Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you both & your agent--we really had a good time Xmas nite---Perhaps we'll run across each other in the future. Have a wonderful life!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have stayed many times with Laurie at Cariari B&B whether going to and from the airport or to do shopping and business in the San Jose area. Laurie can guide you in whatever your needs are plus her B&B is like a home away from home with a perfect location....close enough to the airport, a market & 4 restaurants within walking distance, the new Hard Rock Cafe nearby and a beautiful and exclusive, safe area to walk. Many of Laurie's customers are repeat who live in Costa Rica or frequent from the U.S. She also has a wonderful staff, Erika & Victor. Her B&B is tops in the area!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hummingbirdnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGB12, Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thanks E. I just realized I can answer my reviews. I wish you had shown me how earlier--I feel like a dummy for not answering before now. Hope to see you soon---L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at The Cariari Bed and Breakfast for 3 nights: Very nice room with great bed (we usually have problems with foreign beds, but this one was very good and BIG!), lovely surroundings and neighborhood. It was nice that there was only a short walk to the fresh market and restaurants. And we agree - that the breakfast is really good - the best we had i Costa Rica. But the overall active and "speciality" at Cariari is Laurie herself! You won't find a better host anywhere, we think! Helpful, great advices and service! Our visit at Sibu Chokolate was one of the best experiences we had in CR - and we would never had found it, if Laurie hadn't suggested it and made the arrangement. And she is funny and interesting company as well:-) We can only recommend you to stay at the Cariari B&B - lots of value for money, we think. Best Regards to Laurie and your staff from Susanne & Jakob, Denmark

Room Tip: We had The Royal Suite: big room with very big bathroom and the deepest bathtub ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGB12, Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Just found out how to answer my reviews---Guess what---I took a group of 16 women to Sibu Chocolate & the Toucan Ranch--we had a wonderful day-----This was just last week!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review---L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The location which is walking distances to great variety of restaurants was my favorite thing and the security to be able to walk in the evening was so comforting. The whole place is spotless and her staff is constantly cleaning and so helpful. It is so nice to meet with the other guest on the outdoor deck for cocktails that she provides every evening. I feel like it is a home away from my home. I highly recommend for everyone and have stayed here many times in the last 5 years.

Room Tip: The Royal is romantic and off the deck and very private...The friendly is great for groups and the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGB12, General Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2016

Loved your review! Thanks a Bunch---L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed in several hotels throughout Costa Rica, and this was the best! Laurie is so wonderful, arranged to have us picked up at the airport and made sure the driver waited when we were delayed in customs. She was so welcoming, the room was beautiful, the back deck was absolutely gorgeous, and the property was so peaceful. Nice location, plenty of places to walk to, and wonderful staff make for a truly delightful stay! The breakfast was fantastic and we LOVED the coffee! Bought a bag to take home and are still drinking it! Overall, staying with Laurie was like being at home and we only wish we could afford to take it off her hands and continue the legacy that she has created! Thanks so much Laurie and hopefully our paths will cross again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khenderson124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGB12, General Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2016

It makes me very Happy when people really enjoy my home! Thanks a bunch! Glad you enjoyed C.R. Also---You'll be back----

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Admittedly Cariari may not be for everyone but we loved it! We were warmly welcomed by Laurie, with whom I had been emailing prior to our visit as she had organised all our minibus transfers for us (great value and easy), offering us a drink and an invitation to a belated 4th July party at a friends of hers! The room was homely and comfortable, and Laurie's house is in a quiet residential area ideally situated between the two San Jose airports with a mall with some food outlets at the end of the road. We only stayed one night and left early in the morning but the night is one of our holiday highlights and unforgettable. The banana bread we took with us for breakfast was delicious. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah2JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
8.4 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Puerta del Sol Hotel
#4 of 7 in Heredia
62 reviews
16 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,394 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
0.7 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cariari Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariari Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ave de la Marina | Casa 12 Cariari, Heredia 40103, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Heredia
Price Range: $102 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cariari Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful Sp. Col. house in the safe, quiet area of Cariari. Just 10 min from the SJO airport & 15 min to D.T. S.J. All rooms have private bath / ceiling fans / cable TV / wifi & some refrid. Welcome drink w/a boca upon arrival. All have nice shower w/ hot water & good towels. We are known for our delicious breakfasts, excellent staff & friendly warm hospitality. We offer Van service, to & from the airport at the going Taxi rates. Our van will also do pvt. tours -- We are available to assist you w/ all your travel needs, incl. auto rentals & other transport. Any questions, just ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Cariari Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariari Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing