We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good bed, best breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cariari Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cariari Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Heredia B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good bed, best breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Probably the best breakfast EVER in a B&B, lovingly prepared and served by Erica. Pancakes, plentiful and delicious tropical fruit, followed by full Tico eggs, rice, beans, sausage, etc, etc. Yummy! Hostess Laurie was an actress back in the day in Boston and L.A., is very nice and helpful and fun to talk to. Great roof deck to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and the beautiful weather. Location is great for airport, San José, and as a starting place for tours.

Room Tip: Try to get the "Royal Suite" -- big and comfy. The Friendly Suite is not as nice and can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGB12, Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review---sorry I did not reply sooner --but i am not computer literate & have just learned that I am able to answer---Your comment about the Friendly suite--about the dogs--is correct. Now , we have learned that if the local animals are teezing the dogs at nite--we put them in the Garage & the do not bark! But, we can not control the neighbors dogs! Thank you again---L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
34
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We only spent one night (our last honeymoon night, before going back to Montreal CA), but felt right at home. Cariari B&B is wonderfully decorated, very clean, nice size rooms, and modern (recently renovated and free wifi). Laurie is a wonderful, hospitable, very kind, caring person, who makes sure that you are happy and well taken care of, and makes you feel right at home. My wife was feeling under the weather, and Laurie went out of her way to make sure she felt better. Laurie is also well experienced with Costa Rica, with good connections, and knows all the ins and outs.

We highly recommend staying here.
Michael and Genna

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbort79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGB12, General Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Gracias Mike & Gina---after 15 years ,I had better know this country!! I enjoy helping others to get to know it also!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, MS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We loved the location, quiet and residential feeling with such easy access to anything you want to do. Laurie is a great hostess who goes out of her way to make you feel at home and Erica cooks up the best breakfast. While we did a few day trips, most of our time was spent on the 2nd floor rancho, so cool and relaxing. The home is spotlessly clean, and a bit dated, but for us, that added to the charm. After 12 years there, Laurie knows the ins and outs of anything you need, day trips, transportation, dentists, etc. We truly felt like company instead of customers. We felt that the price was extremely reasonable for the quality of the services and food received. Thanks for everything Laurie.
While coffee was available in the kitchen all the time, I would recommend a coffee pot upstairs on the rancho for visitors ease of use.

Room Tip: The Royal has its own door to the rancho. If you are an early riser, it is nice to go out to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGB12, Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Sorry it took so long to get back to you--I JUST learned, that I can answer you all!
That was a great suggestion about the coffee on the deck. I immediately went out & bought a coffee pot for the Rancho--Thank you! Hope to see you again in C.R. L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Laurie was helpful arranging our stay at her B&B as well as looking in to various activities for us. Breakfast was enjoyable and plentiful, though the coffee was quite weak (tends to be the case in Costa Rica, it seems). The bed was comfortable. The property itself is quite nice and the staff were friendly and hospitable.

The shower in the Royal Suite was the worst shower of the entire trip in Costa Rica; this was very disappointing. What good is a solar panel and hot water if you can't properly use it? Furthermore, there was no soap in the shower soap dispenser.

I was also disappointed that the safe in the room (which could be easily picked up) was not functioning. Laurie had informed me that it didn't work for over a decade because she had lost a key. While I appreciate the home is in a secure neighbourhood and that the staff are honest people, not having a safe after weeks traveling around the country, where one is constantly told to lock up valuables, is troubling.

Finally, Laurie informed me at breakfast on the final day of my stay that the room I had booked was needed early for the next guests. Not good form.

WARNING: there is a 7% charge to pay via credit card that is not mentioned on the website and the cost of the transfer to/from airport is not disclosed on the website. If the hotel is so close to the airport, why does it cost $15 to get there in light traffic when it cost me that much to get to downtown San Jose during moderate traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for up to date pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThisCanadianTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGB12, General Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Sorry you had trouble w/ the shower-----You were the only ones to complain??? I wish you had said something when you were here. I am sure it could have been fixed--All you had to do is ASK for strong coffee----we would have gladly made you a special pot.
As for the Taxi fare to/from the airport--They make the prices ---we get NOTHING--
Because we are so small, the bank fees are high for us , so we have to pass them on the the guests. Please , when next you have complaints please tell the owner---we want to know---I have not used that shower---so if you find something wong. --Let us know!!
I would have gladly given you an envelope for any valuables you wished me to put in my safe--All you had to do was ASK-- Thank you for you suggestions--
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Cariari B&B ideally located between the airport and downtown San Jose is the only place to begin or end any Costa Rican adventure. Proprietor Laurie is the consummate host and raconteur. She will guide you through the history and excitement of downtown San Jose. Her beautifully restored older hacienda is full of surprises in every nook and cranny. Ably assisted by her right-hand gal Erica -- comfort and service are yours. Check it out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGB12, General Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay w/ us---C.R. is enchanting & the fresh fruits & veggies the best!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda Dunes, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

After spending 2 lovely weeks in the beautiful country of Costa Rica a friend recommended we try Cariari B&B for our last few nights. It was near the San Jose Airport and we said ok. To share a very large exquisite hacienda style home with the hostess was a unique experience. Our hostess was very knowledgeable on things to do and see in the city of San Jose, including which bus to take, streets to walk down, current exhibits at museums, and where to eat. Her home had many beautiful artifacts on the walls, fresco paintings both outside and in the breakfast room. More importantly we found a new friend in Laurie. From Manhattan Beach, to Hollywood, to Boston and New York -- good wines, coffee, quiet elegance. I am still smiling as I recall the great conversations we had into the night. Cariari B&B is definitely on our list of places to recommend and return to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank word2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here one night before and one night following a kayaking trip in the Honeymoon room. The entire house is clean and all of the rooms are nice. The outdoor balcony is the best, with plenty of seating and a nice breeze. Laurie offered snacks and breakfast was plentiful, local and delicious. Airport transport to B&B is $18 and $15 from B&B to airport. They take either USD or Colones. The neighborhood is safe and I walked to the local Fresh Market and pharmacy without issue. Stay here - you'll love it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice! Shower only in Honeymoon room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMURPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGB12, General Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Appreciate the time you took to write the review---Thank you--Glad you had a great Kayaking experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
0.0 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,149 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#3 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
3.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cariari Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariari Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cariari Bed & Breakfast
Address: Avenida De La Marina 12 | Casa 12 Cariari, Heredia 40103, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariari Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful Sp. Col. house in the safe, quiet area of Cariari. Just 10 min from the SJO airport & 15 min to D.T. S.J. All rooms have private bath / ceiling fans / cable TV / wifi & some refrid. Welcome drink w/a boca upon arrival. All have nice shower w/ hot water & good towels. We are known for our delicious breakfasts, excellent staff & friendly warm hospitality. We offer Van service, to & from the airport at the going Taxi rates. Our van will also do pvt. tours -- We are available to assist you w/ all your travel needs, incl. auto rentals & other transport. Any questions, just ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Cariari Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariari Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing