We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great B&B to end a great vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cariari Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cariari Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Heredia B&B and Inns
Bermuda Dunes, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B to end a great vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

After spending 2 lovely weeks in the beautiful country of Costa Rica a friend recommended we try Cariari B&B for our last few nights. It was near the San Jose Airport and we said ok. To share a very large exquisite hacienda style home with the hostess was a unique experience. Our hostess was very knowledgeable on things to do and see in the city of San Jose, including which bus to take, streets to walk down, current exhibits at museums, and where to eat. Her home had many beautiful artifacts on the walls, fresco paintings both outside and in the breakfast room. More importantly we found a new friend in Laurie. From Manhattan Beach, to Hollywood, to Boston and New York -- good wines, coffee, quiet elegance. I am still smiling as I recall the great conversations we had into the night. Cariari B&B is definitely on our list of places to recommend and return to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank word2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
34
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here one night before and one night following a kayaking trip in the Honeymoon room. The entire house is clean and all of the rooms are nice. The outdoor balcony is the best, with plenty of seating and a nice breeze. Laurie offered snacks and breakfast was plentiful, local and delicious. Airport transport to B&B is $18 and $15 from B&B to airport. They take either USD or Colones. The neighborhood is safe and I walked to the local Fresh Market and pharmacy without issue. Stay here - you'll love it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice! Shower only in Honeymoon room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMURPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGB12, General Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Appreciate the time you took to write the review---Thank you--Glad you had a great Kayaking experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The owner is amazing a lot of fun, very helpful and friendly. We were well taken care of, and breakfast ist just delicious. Maybe a bit pricey, but we enjoyed our stay. The B&B is in a very quiet area, close to the airport, and it has facilities, like a grocery store and pharmacy 5 minutes away.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joaquin1296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGB12, General Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Glad you enjoyed our lovely home. And Thank You for taking a few min. to send in a review---Much appreciated---
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights, once on the way into CR and once on the way out of CR and it's a good alternative to San Jose.

Laurie is an excellent host, the rooms are spacious and the breakfast hearty. There are also dining options within walking distance and the neighbourhood is safe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had a wonderful one night stay before heading to the Arenal area. Laurie is a wonderful host, and extremely helpful in making transportation arrangements, etc. She is such fun and a wonderful cook! We loved the breakfast before we headed out... She has my highest recommendation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BASlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I went to Costa Rica to have dental work done and spent several days at the Cariari. It was my best B&B stay ever. It was immaculate, the decor warm and attractive, and the friendly staff very attentive. An amazing breakfast was served every morning in the lovely patio. Eggs were prepared to my liking and on the table was a large selection of fresh fruits, meat, toast, muffins, preserves and endless coffee. I really never needed lunch. It was truly excellent value. Laurie took care of all my "where to go and what to do" requests. Even though every room was filled she seemed to have time for everyone. She's remarkable. I am recommending her to friends and family. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at Cariari Bed and Breakfast while we honeymooned in Costa Rica, and I must say what a great way to start off our vacation! The place was kept extremely clean and the service was great!!! Lori was extremely hospitable. Cariari was booked the night when we came back from the south to go to the San Jose Airport, but Lori still went out of her way to make sure that we were taken care of and helped to find another B&B quite close by also in our budget but that also provided superior service. This is a beautiful upscale neighbourhood with a great food joint quite closeby. Right down the street is a horse ranch where we saw the most remarkable show horses! We could just walk right in and pet the horses and the owners were quite welcoming.

The breakfast that was provided was just as great. Lori went out of her way to make sure that my husbands request of a variety of cheeses including fried cheese were met. The rooms are kept in great condition, and there is a beautiful terrace upstairs where one can sit and just relax. I would recommend that anyone coming into San Jose DEFINITELY stay at this Bed and Breakfast. Lori is one of the most amazing people we met on our trip, and it really helped that she started off our vacation on such a great note. We felt right at home with the amazing service and cleanliness provided resembling a 5 star hotel at a fraction of the value.

anyone looking for a upscale beautiful neighbourhood, a great breakfast, great service and hospitality must book with Lori!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prabhjot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
0.0 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,148 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#3 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
3.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cariari Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariari Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cariari Bed & Breakfast
Address: Avenida De La Marina 12 | Casa 12 Cariari, Heredia 40103, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariari Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful Sp. Col. house in the safe, quiet area of Cariari. Just 10 min from the SJO airport & 15 min to D.T. S.J. All rooms have private bath / ceiling fans / cable TV / wifi & some refrid. Welcome drink w/a boca upon arrival. All have nice shower w/ hot water & good towels. We are known for our delicious breakfasts, excellent staff & friendly warm hospitality. We offer Van service, to & from the airport at the going Taxi rates. Our van will also do pvt. tours -- We are available to assist you w/ all your travel needs, incl. auto rentals & other transport. Any questions, just ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Cariari Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariari Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing