We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER GO THERE --> WORST PLACE EVER !!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Heredia

Hotel Heredia
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Heredia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Heredia
Save
You added Hotel Heredia to your Saves list
Heredia 3000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Heredia
Munich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NEVER GO THERE --> WORST PLACE EVER !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

dirty, no service, absolutely too expensive for this, bugs in bedroom and shower! don't believe Lonely Planets' descriptions! They must have paid for getting such a good ranking!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelsheet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    2
    6
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wherever
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Avoid, unless it is the last room in Heredia, Costa Rica. I'm not a resort sort of gal, so if I think a hotel is dingy- it is. Disgusting bathroom, didn't even want to walk in room barefoot. And I've seen other budget places in CR, so I'm not clueless. Only thing good to say is relatively quiet yet convient location in Heredia. Over priced too, for $33 a night it should have been MUCH better. Clerk was nice enough, switched rooms when I asked because our first room had it's only window to an inside hallway. Two thumbs down.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qayaqgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heredia hotels

Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

My husband and I are adventurous. We traveled to Costa Rica on our honeymoon and intentionally did half of our trip using small hotels and hostels because we like to have a more authentic travel experience when we leave the country. We stayed at many lovely hostels that were spare, but clean and I have nothing but positive things to say about them. Keeping our low expectations in mind I must warn you that this hotel was simply beyond horrible.

Lonely Planet gives it a perplexingly positive review (Oct 2006), which mentions "renovations," and "sparkling rooms." I have no idea what they are speaking of, because unless they had just finished filming a horror movie in this hotel there is NO WAY it was recently renovated. So far from their description was this hotel, that I checked the address twice to make sure we were in the right place.

There was dirt and some unknown substance on the walls, the floors were tacky...and the bedspread looked dingy and unwashed. I did not even dare to sleep beneath the covers...and actually kept my clothes on the whole night. Not what my husband had in mind.

On the positive side, they did have parking, and we considered sleeping in our car. Also, we didn't see any roaches. I was amazed, but the couple that stayed across the hall said they were all over their room the whole night.

I will say that our honeymoon took place in 2007 (it is now 2009), so if you are thinking about staying there I strongly suggest you have a look at the rooms first. I hope for the sake of all that is sanitary that things have changed.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank msg0lightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

It was a great hotel. We rented the apartment and it was perfect. Not Luxury but a great way of spending a vaccation in Heredia.
Not much to do on the hotel but there is not far to some entertainment.

  • Liked — The View. :)
  • Disliked — No luxory
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jakobwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
5.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 10 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
0.0 mi away
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Puerta del Sol Hotel
#5 of 10 in Heredia
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
7.4 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heredia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heredia

Property: Hotel Heredia
Address: Heredia 3000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hotel Heredia Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing