We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Infotainment”
Review of Britt Coffee Tour

Britt Coffee Tour
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Britt Coffee Tour and Chocolate Tasting from San Jose
Ranked #1 of 12 Tours in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Britt Coffee Tour has educated and entertained nearly 1 million friends and coffee lovers from around the world since 1991. We use humor and insight to show you the secrets behind an exquisite cup of coffee. Our experts lead the way on an enjoyable journey through the world of coffee. Discover coffee´s colorful history and the process that transforms the red coffee cherry into the delicious morning brew.Located in Heredia, 25 minutes away from Internacional Airport. Daily tours at 9am, 11am, 1:15pm and 3:15pm. Advanced reservation required. Our roastery campus and facilities include:•Lush green areas and colorful gardens. •Restrooms and pathways suitable to people of all ages and physical abilities. •On-site restaurant. •Plenty of secure parking. •Factory store with coffee, chocolates, cookies & more.•Door-to-door international coffee delivery service via courier.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Infotainment”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We were expecting a ride to the countryside, but were surprised that the location was at the edge of a city. So if you have about 3~4 hours to spare its worth a visit, though not really a getaway. Nevertheless the tour was fun and informative. Even if you are not a coffee lover; you just might become one.

Helpful?
Thank Anil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittCoffeeTour, Fiorella Miranda Coordinator of the Coffee Tour at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear visitor,
We are glad to know you found our Coffee Tour fun and informative.
We value our visitors comments and love to hear that we are doing a good job!
Thank you very much.
Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    149
    61
    19
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vacaville, california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Britt Coffee Tour”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent tour of a coffee plantation. The 2 tour guides do an unexpected routine in their explanation and description of the history and care of coffee beans. They reminded me of the Smothers Brothers. They are hilarious and the information is primo. They also have a video
presentation at the end of the tour along with a "how to" demonstration on properly brewing good coffee, what it should look like and how to drink it properly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tw502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittCoffeeTour, Fiorella Miranda Coordinator of the Coffee Tour at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear visitor,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Coffee Tour, we try to make it not only entertaining but also informative.
Thank you again for your comments, we truly appreciate them.
Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Educational and entertaining!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our guides, Maria and her sidekick were amazing. The combined interesting facts about coffee and the roasting process in an entertaining manner. We Leo want to thank Mario for taking time out of his lunch to answer questions for us. I would highly recommend this tour for everyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittCoffeeTour, Coordinator of the Coffee Tour at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear visitor,

Thank you very much for your nice comments, we truly appreciate them.

We are glad to hear that you had so much fun at our Coffee Tour and sharing time with our guides.

We hope to have you back at our plantation soon.

Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun, and informative”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Fun, and informative. It is not a true coffee plantation. Britt is in many counties across the world but they are not growers, they are roasters. Worth checking out if you're in the San Jose area. It was educational regarding the growing and roasting of coffee beans. More of a skit then just a presentation. In the gift shop you can sample the different coffees before buying which is nice. The coffee is cheaper here then at their off-site stores so if you like coffee you'd probably enjoy a visit here. Don't expect to see a large coffee growing facility, this is not a true farm/plantation.

Some people thought it was hokey but I got a laugh or 2 and enjoyed a nice latte at their coffee counter.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlheberl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittCoffeeTour, Coordinator of the Coffee Tour at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear visitor,

It’s nice to know you had a great time at our Coffee Tour. As you say we are not coffee producers, we are coffee roasters and have been for the last 29 years.

We try to make our Coffee Tour not only informative but also entertaining, and that’s what makes us different. We are glad you liked it.

Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A good time”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The tour is on a very small coffee plantation. Fun, light, and informative I would recommend it if you are a coffee lover, if not I'd skip it. While some coffee is grown and harvested on site, it is not a true coffee plantation. Britt is in many counties across the world but they are not growers, they are roasters. Worth checking out if you're in the San Jose area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JGarrettson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittCoffeeTour, Coordinator of the Coffee Tour at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Visitor,

Thank you very much for your comments.

As you say we are not coffee producers we are coffee roasters and have been for the last 28 years.

We are glad that you liked the coffee tour, thanks for recommending it to others.

We hope to have you back,

Pura vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britt Coffee Tour also viewed

Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 
Heredia, Province of Heredia
Heredia, Province of Heredia
 

Been to Britt Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing