We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kinda of hokey.”
Review of Britt Coffee Tour

Britt Coffee Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Britt Coffee Tour and Chocolate Tasting from San Jose
Ranked #1 of 14 Tours in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Britt Coffee Tour has educated and entertained nearly 1 million friends and coffee lovers from around the world since 1991. We use humor and insight to show you the secrets behind an exquisite cup of coffee. Our experts lead the way on an enjoyable journey through the world of coffee. Discover coffee´s colorful history and the process that transforms the red coffee cherry into the delicious morning brew.Located in Heredia, 25 minutes away from Internacional Airport. Daily tours at 9am, 11am, 1:15pm and 3:15pm. Advanced reservation required. Our roastery campus and facilities include:•Lush green areas and colorful gardens. •Restrooms and pathways suitable to people of all ages and physical abilities. •On-site restaurant. •Plenty of secure parking. •Factory store with coffee, chocolates, cookies & more.•Door-to-door international coffee delivery service via courier.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Britt does not have a coffee farm. They are only roasters of coffee beans. So a lot of the production process is shown in pictures vs. seeing the real thing. Too many other real coffee tours to participate in.

Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittCoffeeTour, Fiorella Miranda, Coordinator at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear visitor,

Thank you very much for your comments. As you mentioned we are not coffee producers, but we are the best gourmet coffee roasters, it has been our speciality for the past 28 years. We buy our coffee from around 2000 independent growers in Costa Rica, that have plantations like the one you visited in our tour, environmentally friendly. As you mention there are many coffee tours in the country, all of them are different and have their own charm, ours is that we mix education and information with fun, since we want our visitors to really enjoy their vacations with us, while learning and enjoying themselves having a great time!

Thank you for your visit!

Pura Vida,

Britt Coffee Tour Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
There are newer reviews for Britt Coffee Tour
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 237 of 572 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very entertaining tour of coffee from plant to our cup. I hadn't expected the show that was put on and it made it interesting and very entertaining. Lunch was very tasty and the coffee I tried and purchased is delicious. I would recommend this tour.

Thank twiga5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittCoffeeTour, Fiorella Miranda, Coordinator at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear visitor,

Thank you very much for your comments. We love that our visitors have a great time and enjoy their vacations with us, thats why we mix learning with entertainment since vacations are for having fun.

We hope to have you back at our plantation again, and dont forget to visit us at www.britt.com for more delicious products!

Pura Vida,

Coffee Tour team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We went on the way to the airport. In that way the tour nicely filled the gap between leaving the hotel and boarding the plane, and the Britt people were very helpful in getting to the airport.
We did not enjoy the tour very much. It was too much show for us, which we found tacky. We would have preferred more coffee, especially working coffee plantation. As the whole thing only builds up to a detour via the gift shop I am also wondering why on earth I'm paying for the tour when I am just being marketed to.

1  Thank soho49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittCoffeeTour, Fiorella Miranda, coordinator at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear visitor,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are the best gourmet coffee roasters and have been for the past 28 years. Our coffee tour has been teaching and entertaining our visitors por the past 22 years, where we love to teach the secrets behing a gourmet cup of coffee. Our plantation, like the rest of the countries have coffee season, you can see the red cherry and the coffee pickers in our plantation from November/December till January/February depending on the crop, but we do are a working plantation.

We are sorry you felt that way, as most tours, we have a store, ours is a factory store where we spoil our visitors with factory prices and of course all our 9 different type of coffees and our chocolates are available to sample and decide which suits more your tastes.

Again thank you so much for your visit and your comments.

Pura Vida,

Britt Coffee Tour team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

very trite but entertaining, you can taste several different coffees and candies. Makes for good souvenirs but prices are somewhat high. Not worth going out of your way definitely set up for tourists.

Thank jfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittCoffeeTour, Fiorella Miranda, Coordinator at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear visitor,

Thank you very much for your comments. We want our visitors to learn while having fun, which has characterized our tour from the rest for the past 22 years.

As you know we are the best gourmet coffee roasters and have been for the past 28 years. Our in house store is a factory store, we have special promotions on our coffeee, chocolates and candies which our visitors can take advantage when purchasing in quantities, not just one bag of coffee, we have lots of visitors who love to take advantage of this and even ship their purchase back home!

Again thank you very much for your visit and your comments.

Pura Vida,

Britt Coffee Tour Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

While a little corny the tour was fun and educational. The two tour guides did a great job. Was a good stop on our bus tour. We learned a lot about coffee plants and the roasting process. The coffee drinkers in our group loved the coffee samples.

Thank MikeKerrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittCoffeeTour, Coordinator of the Coffee Tour at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear visitor,

Thank you very much for your comments!

We are happy to read that you learned a lot at our Coffee Tour.

We would love to have you back at our plantation.

Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britt Coffee Tour also viewed

Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 
Heredia, Province of Heredia
 

Been to Britt Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing