We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Las Flores

Hotel Las Flores
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heredia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Las Flores
Ranked #7 of 11 Heredia B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Can't beat the value. I stayed here by myself for five nights and although it wasn't perfect, I was impressed. They charge by the person, which is great if you're by yourself - only cost $80 for five nights. The hotel is family-owned and operated. Most of the family is very friendly. I was glad I could speak some Spanish.

The pros: inexpensive; had everything I needed; overall the room and bathroom looked nice; it was convenient having a soda/restaurant attached to the hotel; gated parking lot; nice shower with hot water; most of the family is very friendly; it's actually in Heredia, within walking distance of everything in town

The cons: there was a constant line of ants along one wall (they didn't bother me); one man who worked there was a little gruff; you can't just walk in, you have to press a doorbell and a family member comes and opens the gate for you, which means you can't enter after their bedtime unless you set it up with them ahead of time; thin walls and yappy dogs - bring earplugs; it's not the safest part of town after dark, although I wouldn't call it dangerous either.

Overall a good experience.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 13 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

In truth, I have not stayed at Flores recently. I just put some friends up there and I eat at the soda (small restaurant) a couple times a month. I did stay there regularly for many years, before I moved to Costa Rica.

This is a true budget gem. It is clean, safe, friendly, comfortable, and conveniently located. Heredia is a much easier city to navigate than San José and you can walk from the hotel to the central park. It is not a fancy tourist hotel - no jacuzzi, cocktail lounge or elevator.

The 28 rooms are basic, but clean and pleasant. The second story doubles have a nice view of the city at night. All have private baths with hot water and televisions. It is run by a family that lives on the premises and they are very friendly and helpful.

The eldest daughter runs a small restaurant (soda) off the lobby, mostly just breakfast and dinner. She can also help set up tours or get transportation for travelers. Don't miss her empanadas stuffed with either cheese or beans. She will bring food up to your room if you like. If you have an early departure, you can set up breakfast and taxi with her the day before.

Additional services include secure parking inside the electric gate; WiFi in the soda; a computer in the soda that can be used for a small fee; wash can be arranged; directions and explanations of all things Costa Rican.

I would (and do) recommend this hotel for anybody traveling to Costa Rica who does not need to be pampered in a Gringo-fancy tourist hotel.

Room Tip: The double rooms on the second floor offer a pleasant view of the city at night. A good place to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quincho Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This hotel is anything but fancy...it is more like a motel. But the price is right considering the private, gated parking lot included and the location, which is very close to the center of Heredia. It feels very secure and safe. I recommend this hotel for someone wanting to stay in Heredia town or looking for a cheap option. It is not as close to the airport as many other hotels, but it is still no more than 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eduardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled solo
1  Thank Angel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Brayan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: la que este desocupada en ese momento
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Max V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heredia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
1.2 mi away
Apart-Hotel Roma
Apart-Hotel Roma
#5 of 7 in Heredia
7 reviews
2.5 mi away
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Puerta del Sol Hotel
#4 of 7 in Heredia
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Valladolid
Hotel Valladolid
#4 of 11 in Heredia
29 reviews
14.8 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,304 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Flores

Address: 12 Between Streets 12 And 14 | South and 50 mts. East from Heredia's Hospital, Heredia, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Heredia
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Flores Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing