We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our whirlwind tour of Costa Rica”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heredia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toucan Rescue Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The highlight of our whirlwind tour of Costa Rica”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We were happy with all of our accommodations in Costa Rica, but the Toucan Rescue Ranch is definitely the most memorable of all of our hotels. Leslie and Jorge did an amazing job making us feel welcomed and at home. They stayed up late with us to answer all of our questions and on the next day Leslie got up at 4:15 am to ensure that we were awake to catch our taxi. The reason we had so many questions was because the Toucan Rescue Ranch is not an ordinary B&B, it is actually a privately run wildlife rescue facility. At the Toucan Rescue Ranch, there are a wide variety of indigenous rescued animals that Leslie and Jorge treat, rehabilitate and if possible, release back into the natural habitat. We had such a great time talking to them and their stories were very engaging. We wish we had more time to stay there and our stay at the Toucan Rescue Ranch was really the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abs4478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
93
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

You will love this hidden treasure.
Our Family was cared for by Jorge and Leslie.
Anna makes the best gallo pinto in all of Costa Rica.
The passion for animals and people is amazing.
The grounds are beautiful and the farm trip was amazing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Jorge and Leslie the owners are a fabulous couple to get to know. They made my husband and I feel very welocomed into their home along with all the other animals. The guest house does not have any frills but is very comfortable. We stayed at a five star resort in Puerto Jimenez but enjoyed our stay at the Toucan Ranch even more. We had the opportunity to see all the animals upclose and even eat breakfast with the sloths. We will be returning to the ranch next year with our children for another fantastic stay. There are many wonderful sites to see that are less than an hour from the ranch. Don't miss the opportunity for Jorge and Leslie to take you to their farm.....!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chezmaryjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Arriving at Toucan Rescue Ranch after a long flight was a real treat. We were welcomed at the gate by Leslie and from that moment on we were treated like old friends. Leslie showed us to the casita and we were able to settle right in. The room was very nice, the bed extremely comfortable and the sounds of the toucans waking up in the morning was an added treat. We paid a lot more money at other lodges later in our trip and weren't nearly as comfortable.
Breakfast was typical foods, pinto gallo with eggs, fresh fruits, breads and toast. Leslie even makes her own yogurt! And the delicious coffee is grown right on their property. There was even coffee, a coffee maker and cream in our room so we could enjoy it when we got up in the morning. This service is very rare in Costa Rica and I thought a very nice touch.
Jorge and Leslie had good suggestions for local restaurants and even a nice bakery where we could get a great capuccino when we needed an afternoon pick me up. They know the area very well and were very helpful in planning our travel route when we left.
I particularly enjoyed getting a glimpse into the work that they do rehabilitating injured wildlife. The commitment they have to the care of the animals is amazing. We toured their facility and everywhere you turn there are animals that they are helping. Sloths on the sofa, owls in the kitchen, parrots in the bedroom and giant flights outside. With all of this going on there is amazing order to everything. A highlight for me was helping Leslie to collect grasshoppers that would be fed to baby birds. They, of course, don't expect this of their guests but were kind enough to let me join in the fun.
We had the time and good fortune to also spend a night at their farm in Sarapiqui. It is very rustic (as in not for everyone rustic) but we had all that we needed and the birds that we saw on their property made the trip very worthwhile.
I would highly recommend a stay at the Toucan Rescue Ranch as part of your trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_T_Peterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2010

My family and I visited the Toucan Rescue Ranch last week. We heard about it from another visitor while we were CR. It is close to San Jose. As a last minute add on, we called Leslie and she graciously invited us to visit with her and Jorge and all their wonderful birds, owls and sloths. Wilson our driver did an amazing job to get us to the ranch before dark. (We knew The B& B guest house was booked but we still wanted to visit) Leslie and Jorge were wonderful to take us around and tell us all about their animals and what they do. We were in awe of all the hard work they put in to rescuing the animals and enjoyed hearing how they got started. This visit was a big hit with my kids ages 13, 11 and 8 and one of the highlights of our trip to Costa Rica. Next time we are in San Jose area we will try to reserve to spend the night to spend more time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno NV
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2010

I have stayed here every year for the pat 5 years. You can sit on your Porch and watch all the bird Wildlife. In Holding pens there are Toucans, Macaws and other kinds of Parrots. They have 3 two toed Sloths that they have Rescued, and they are a blast to watch. If you decide to go to there farm you will go through the Rain Forest to get there and the wildlife that you can see here is just amazing.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeGeeRenoNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my 3-night stay at the Toucan Rescue Ranch, which included a night walk and a day trip to Leslie & Jorge's farm property. They really do make you feel like family and the meals were a nice plus! When I'm back in Costa Rica I will definitely want to stay here again and think it fabulous for anyone from solo travellers to small families to seniors.

My only regret was that I got in fairly late and didn't have as much time to spend with the sanctuary animals as I would've liked, although I did get the requisite photo with Georgie. That being said, the trip to the farm provided amazing opportunities to spot wildlife and birds like howler monkeys, sloths (including a mama 2-toe and her baby), toucans, araçaris, and butterflies.

Kudos on a wonderful way to see some of the incredible beauty that Costa Rica has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june_bug74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
5.0 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
239 reviews
15.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,276 reviews
12.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
988 reviews
8.0 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
5.4 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toucan Rescue Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toucan Rescue Ranch

Property: Toucan Rescue Ranch
Address: San Josecito, Heredia 40601, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Heredia
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Toucan Rescue Ranch Hotel Heredia
Toucan Rescue Ranch Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing