We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toucan Rescue Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heredia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toucan Rescue Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Wonderful place to visit with children, everyone can learn a lot about tropical wildlife and about the responsibility of keeping pets....tropical animals are not meant to be kept in captivity, and here many of them damaged in captivity under bad conditions find an exemplary refuge . Lovely place, lovely and dedicated people.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank elenacr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
79
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough about the dedication and caring from the people of this place. I learned so much about the animals and the sad stories about why this facility exists. The place is amazingly clean and the people very accommodating. I wish the rescue didn't have to exist, but the need is there and this is worthy of support from all of us who are priveleged to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rkarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

First of all thanks to Leslie the owner and operator for having us on such short notice, we arrived in San Jose at the Adventure Inn early this morning and the only thing left on my boyfriend and I's "to-do" list was to see some sloths! After checking in the front desk called Leslie and arranged for us to meet her there about an hour later. The property is set back on a small residential street on a HUGE piece of property with many mature trees and a beautiful natural habitat for the animals there. We didn't stay on site we just did the tour of the property but the guest house looks lovely and very "homey" :) Upon arriving she gave us some information on how she began the rescue and what they do for all the local schools and universities in the area. I had a Macaw for years and to find someone who really cares for the well being of these animals and the rehabilitation of them is just so nice. The grounds are well kept and Leslie was so nice. The baby sloths were sooooo cute! I don't think I have ever seen anything so lovable in my life! The birds are beautiful, from macaws to hawks to a few different kind of owls, not to mention the spider monkey, porcupines, and an oncilla which we found out are very rare. Thanks so much Leslie for the memories and we will see you soon! Keep up the good work, it's so nice to see someone with such a passion for animal rehabilitation!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joshuaxadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was our first place we stayed in Costa Rica and we couldn’t have been happier with our choice. Leslie is amazing, as is all the work she does with the animals. Upon arrival we were greeted by Leslie and a tiny baby sloth that she was feeding. After we checked into our room, which was great, we had a long tour of the property and learned about all the animals. This was the closest we were to wildlife (sloths and toucans) the whole 2.5 weeks we were in Costa Rica. My kids loved the tour, as did both my husband and I, and we learned a lot.

Leslie helped us not only with finding a great place to eat that evening (which delivered), but also finding a fantastic car rental company. For breakfast we had what my sons called the biggest pancakes in the world, and after 2 we (the adults) were stuffed.

Thank you Leslie for a great first night in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlinfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We did not stay at the lodging, but visited the Ranch on a tour. This place offers so much meaning and hope, it was by far the best thing we did in Costa Rica. The manager Leslie offered an amazing tour of all the animals and birds, with stories of where they came from, the right way to care for toucans, sloths, owls and otters... Incredibly knowledgeable and generous with her time, she has built a real refuge and place of hope for so many animals and birds which we got to see up close. It must be exhausting work to feed and care for so many lost, abused and wounded animals and we felt good coming out to the ranch and supporting her and her husband Jorge's work. A rescued baby sloth who had to be bottle-fed during our tour was by far the highlight of the visit, but seeing so many toucans up close is also not to be missed.

It was quite easy to get there by public transport from San Jose. We took the bus to San Isidro for about a dollar, and the ride took 30 minutes, getting off at the Toucan statue after leaving the highway.

We cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BA_Minerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This ranch was beautiful. It was very neat to walk around and look at all of the animals. We even got to see Leslie feed 2 baby sloths. There was a bunk bed and a single bed and a queen. We slept very well. Leslie was very generous and it was included with breakfast and a tour. There was also a menu you could order off of and the restaurant would deliver it to you. Breakfast, Leslie had two options either gallo pinto or pancakes, the food was beyond. I have never seen any of those animals so close up. Lots of cool wildlife to see. I would for sure recommend staying at this ranch. the service was so great and I had a great experience. I loved this place it was excellent

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent the first 3 nights of our 2 weeks in Costa Rica at Toucan Rescue Ranch. It was an amazing and inspirational experience! Our guest lodge was beautiful and comfortable. We liked to sit on our patio in rocking chairs, surrounded by chirping and squawking from the myriad of birds and other wildlife on the ranch. Leslie and Jorge care for lots more than just the many injured or orphaned toucans on site. There are several species of owls, both two and three-toed-sloths, beautiful parrots, macaws, some kinds of wild cat, spider monkeys, and lots more, including Ralph, a cute and curious small duck who followed us wherever we went. Leslie's tour of the grounds and the ranch's history was fun and very informative. The breakfasts were delicious. But most of all, it was great just being there and knowing that our stay was contributing to such a worthwhile endeavour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
0.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toucan Rescue Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toucan Rescue Ranch

Property: Toucan Rescue Ranch
Address: San Josecito, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Heredia
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Toucan Rescue Ranch Hotel Heredia
Toucan Rescue Ranch Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing