We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Toucan Rescue Ranch
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Heredia
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Chirripo(San Isidro del General)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bougainvillea(Santo Domingo de Heredia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel America(Heredia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aranjuez(San Jose)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
243
17
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
243
17
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housebaby slothsher husbandhour tourcosta ricasan josebirds and animalsanimal loverstheir effortsgreat tourwould highly recommend a visitordering foodchickens roamingrelease programinformative tourspecial experiencetheir natural habitat
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 265 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed at the Toucan Rescue Ranch for 3 nights in June. When we arrived we knew we were at an extraordinary place. Leslie and Jorge were so genuine. You could see from their actions that they loved the animals they were caring for very much. While we were there, a newborn sloth came in and Leslie took it in like it was her own baby which included nightly feedings for awhile.

What an opportunity to see the Costa Rica wildlife in such an amazing hands on experience. Our 11 year old son was absolutely thrilled and enjoyed the interaction he had with all the animals and his "chores". For animal lovers this was a dream come true and wished we lived there to help volunteer with everything that needs to be done. Which is a lot.

We had an amazing breakfast every morning and spent lots of time feeding Milly the Two Toed Sloth her breakfast. Leslie was kind enough to order our take out food each evening, helping with the Spanish.
The guest house was clean, spacious and nicely decorated with photos Leslie has taken of animals. It was also very private and a ways from the main house. The landscape was also quite beautiful with amazing views during the day and night.

The location was so convenient to San Jose and after 2 weeks of scorching sun and humidity in other parts of Costa Rica we really enjoyed the cooler climate. It was the perfect ending to a wonderful long trip. Our son stated the Toucan Rescue Ranch was one of his top memories of our Costa Rica trip. We agreed. Thank you Leslie and Jorge for a wonderful experience with you in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1319blb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

How fortunate that we found the Toucan Rescue Ranch- it was a visit we will never forget. We traveled to Costa Rica with two kids (7, 11) and wanted to experience the unique wildlife there. The first part of our trip was in the Osa Peninsula jungle, where we saw wildlife but more at a distance. The second part was at Toucan Rescue, where we got to see the wildlife close up! Leslie and Jorge invite you to their home and their lives with their animal ambassadors. They are the real deal: rescuers and rehabilitators-not collectors. The animals are beautiful and well cared for, and Jorge and Leslie have dedicated their lives to their welfare.
In terms of logistics, we arrived without a car, which means you are dependent on walking to local stores for food. It worked out for some things, but Jorge and Leslie generously took us on a few excursions to see local sites. The accommodations were clean and just the right size for our family of 4 (no issue with the hot water). I would encourage any animal lovers to check out the Toucan Ranch- it's truly a unique experience for all. You come in as strangers and leave as friends!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugPlus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We recently spent 4 nights as we cared for dental work in San Jose... little apprehensive at first because so many "eco" businesses seem to be not as advertised and expensive. But we reasoned, "At the least, the expense will go toward a good cause." However, our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. Leslie and Jorge are gracious and thoughtful hosts and a relaxing setting with the geese, ducks and chickens roaming the expansive grounds and a tastefully decorated sutie. But the grand thing was what they are there doing, working with all kinds of rescued widlife indigenous to Costa Rica... what a joy and uplift to the spirit to witness these critters up close and personal... an encouraging, rewarding experience!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocobuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My husband and I are from Florida in the U.S. But now live in rural Costa Rica, up by the lake. We recently stayed at the Toucan Rescue Ranch, after finding their website in March 2011 when trying to determine the significance of different calls of toucans. I was so enamored of their work that I HAD to stay there on our next trip into San Jose and, trust me, we were so happy we did. A few words first about the accommodations although certainly that was the secondary reason for our stay there. Their guest house is adorable! The ceiling is constructed of bamboo, painstakingly laid one by one. It must've taken an inordinate amount of work and is very attractive. There is a matching bamboo screen divider that separates the bedroom area from the living/kitchen area. The pictures on the wall were all photographs taken by Leslie and are beautiful, the furnishings (including a leather loveseat) are very comfortable as are the beds (a very comfortable sleep). The “sitting area” outside the guesthouse is beautiful and peaceful. I, for one, had no interest in cooking so I wasn't at all upset about having no stove, although a microwave would've been ideal. There is a toaster oven, full sized refrigerator (scrupulously clean), and an array of tea choices to please even the most finicky tea drinker, coffee, sugar and milk for morning coffee. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful. A note here to address what others thought was noise. In Costa Rica, EVERYONE here has chickens. In your visits to Costa Rica, you will just have to train yourself to tune out their noises. Just a fact of life.

The grounds at the Toucan Rescue Ranch are wonderful and give you the feeling of isolation. To me, the mix of city (which it is to us, coming from the countryside 3 hours away from San Jose) and rural is ideal because you can always go out of the grounds and get that pizza you crave! Now, the main reason for our stay at Toucan Rescue Ranch. What a wonderful opportunity to see the wildlife from Costa Rica (primarily birds) get a second chance in life after a history of abuse by God-knows-what. In the tour, Leslie introduces the many birds that have been brought to her for caring and relates the background of each. Leslie has a true love of birds and has, of late, been extending that love to a few other types of critters, namely, 3 sloths, a porcupine,kinkacho and Izzi, a squirrel monkey with whom I am in love. You will never have an opportunity to see such birds and animals up close and personal under the care of such professional and caring people. A special note: Leslie doesn't just “snap up” these animals....Because of her knowledge and extensive background in rehabilitation of birds and animals, she has been given permission by the government of Costa Rica to care for the animals and, in fact, has been brought several animals by the government's own environmental department. I'm being very truthful when I say that, if you want a golden opportunity to see the spectacular birds of Costa Rica with the security of knowing they are getting the best possible care, you must visit the Toucan Rescue Ranch.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We LOVE Toucan Rescue Ranch. My 7 yr old son and I visited for 2 days with Leslie and Jorge in April. They are kind, warm and loving people with a very precious resource - their Rescue Center - that they pour their heart and soul into. We visited many wonderful small and luxury properties on our trip to Costa Rica for 10 days - but this casual bed and breakfast was my son's and my favorite. It is not luxury - but clean, cozy and lovely - it is a property full of heart with great city and mountain views and warm host and hostess. The breakfasts are wonderful. My son is animal crazy (and loves birds). Jorge and Leslie very sweetly let him help with feeding the animals (sloths!), collecting the eggs, watering the chicks and baby ducks and generally let him be very free observing the animals and playing while I read a book, drew and enjoyed the fresh mountain air. Leslie drove us to a wonderful cafe for lunch (everything was shut it was Easter) and generously shared her stories with us. We learned more about Costa Rica here than anywhere else - through the animals and their stories. Yes, the geese honk, the rooster crows and the crisp air is filled with birdsong - we loved that. It is not a place for everyone but it was our favorite. If you go please be sure to say hi to Ralph - the gorgeous dandy of a duck. Also, we did not have a car and wanted to just be free and enjoy the animals - but it might be best for some to be mobile during the day if you have a car.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanstatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews