We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”

Restaurante Colbert
Ranked #11 of 197 Restaurants in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Heredıa, Costa Rıca
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This restaurant is on the way to Volcano Poas from Heredia. From the outside it looks unimpressive but don't let that deter you. Inside the greeting is warm, service friendly and efficient and the dishes are scrumptious. Priced a little high, but based on the flavor they impart, worth it. Nice spot to stop and relax on the way up or back from Volcano Poas. I never pass them by without stopping to dine there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunsancr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    38
    15
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“THE DOGS!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We actually never got to make it inside the restaurant. We drove up to the restaurant in the afternoon to go in and make reservations for dinner and parked at the bottom of the cement stairs out front. As she got out of the car my sister litterally got attacked by the huge and very aggressive german sheppard. I truly believe he was going to bite and she was lucky to be able to retreat to the car without getting hurt. The dog was not on a lead and despite the fact that he was barking his head off, no one came out of the building to investigate. I saw antoher review on here mentionning the dogs and management answering that this dog is usually "in his place" with guests. I can assure you he was not! Way to ward off potential customers!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ikomaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It ok to go once, not twice...”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The restaurant is nice (at least inside), has a nice view from most of the tables, when you go in it looks like its going to be the best experience, unfortunately it is not.
Lunch started with a bad experience from the owner (or at least he looks like the owner, with his french accent). With his bad attitude taking our orders, I could only think on the waste of potential for a restaurant on that beautiful location, with such an awful service. The owner, who is not very nice, should seriously consider not dealing with customers.
Regarding the food, regular, nothing special, this is one of those places where you don't regret going once, to try different restaurants, but that you would not return a second time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fabcoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“worth a special trip”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Colbert can be visited on a trip to Poas Volcano,but its a nice drive up from the capital, Very good French food,reasonable prices.Some minor criticisms...staff seems unable to serve everyone at a family table at the same time.Waitresses seem overwhelmed when things are busy, and no one stops by to see if anyone needs more water,or bread..and you have to flag them down as they go back and forth to the kirtchen, Desserts are delicious,but small.The less
expensive wines were not available when we visited, and I dont like to pay more for the wine than for the meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelsuire, General Manager at Restaurante Colbert, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks you very much. you help me.
y don't understand every things you say, specially the problem with the wines and the deserts.
see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beware of guard dogs”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We celebrated my wife's birthday here on 7/23/13. We arrived just after dark under foggy conditions and parked right in front of the restaurant. At the time, we were the only patrons there. As we approached the restaurant on foot we were charged more than once by a large and VERY AGGRESSIVE German Shepard guard dog. Luckily we were able to use an umbrella to ward off the dog until we could get safely inside. The meal and the service were great. The chef went out of his way to make the evening special for us. I would recommend this establishment but please be careful and keep an eye out for the guard dogs in the evenings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edtfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelsuire, General Manager at Restaurante Colbert, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
thank you, the german sheppard usually is friendly and in his place, not with the visitors.
excuse!! thank you for visiy us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Colbert also viewed

Heredia, Province of Heredia
Heredia, Province of Heredia
 
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
Heredia, Province of Heredia
 

Been to Restaurante Colbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing