We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Lorenzo Inn ~ muy perfecto!”
Review of San Lorenzo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Lorenzo Inn
Streamwood, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“San Lorenzo Inn ~ muy perfecto!”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We just returned from our trip to Costa Rica and fell in love with the country and the San Lorenzo Inn.
The service was perfect! The owner, Minor, took care of us for the entire trip. He made sure that we were comfortable with our room, served us an authentic Tico breakfast every morning and took care of all of our transportation and sight-seeing needs. He went out of his way to take us to places that we wanted to go - even if it meant a 4 hour drive one way for him.
The rooms were spotless. However, the water pressure was a little low in the shower - the only negative in a completely positive experience.
This is a small inn in a nice community. The locals are all friendly and you will fall in love with the area as much as we did.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limjoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2010

10-15 minutes from Airport. Perfect hub for a travel break in between San Jose/Heredia/Alajuela and anywhere else in the country. Offers transportation. Extremely friendly work staff. Quiet beautiful local neighborhood in the central vally with view of both mountain ranges. Great location, spotless clean, excellent tico breakfast included.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teocox87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Spent 2 nights. Compact room, but spotlessly clean. TV with US channels, wi fi.
Excellent Tico breakfast included. In nice neighborhood, but hard to find.( No street addresses in CR.) Hospitality by owner and staff excellent. Owner on premises.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducks470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2010

This is a charming and authentic experience. The owner is gracious and friendly. He went out of his way to make our experinece comfortable. He pampered us with special meals and went out of his way to meet all of our needs, ex. ordered a car rental for us arranged for transporation to the airport etc. A delightful man and a superior experience!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DownersGrove_ILMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2009

* Describe the service you experienced: superb; the owner, Minor Herrera Murillo, went out of his way to do everything he could for us

* Tell us how you liked the room: room was small; minimal amenities; extremely neat and clean after maid service each day; water pressure and temperature mediocre

* Talk about the location & amenities: location not too far from airport - but unless you're familiar with the streets in the area, it's really difficult to navigate in a rental vehicle; amenties of the inn are minimal

* Say what you liked best & least - Best: owner service, clean rooms, food ("comida tipica", standard Costa Rican fare); Worst: nothing terribly bad; minor annoyances (see above)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuckFriar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Just got back from Costa Rica. Stayed at the San Lorenzo Inn in San Joaquin Heredia Costa Rica. We used the San Lorenzo Inn as our base for our trip. Excellent accommodations. Super clean and comfortable. Owner of the hotel provided delicious Tico breakfast and the best coffee We've ever had each morning. The Hotel also offered guided transportation and itinerary support for our entire trip, including hotel, attraction and restaurant recommendations.

This is not a luxury resort with a beautiful view. But if you want clean, comfortable,convenient and inexpensive accommodations for your Costa Rica trip, this is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkers2evers2chance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
2.2 mi away
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
13.2 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,278 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B Vista Los Volcanes
B&B Vista Los Volcanes
#1 of 2 in San Lorenzo de Flores
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Puerta del Sol Hotel
#4 of 7 in Heredia
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Familiar La Tortuga
Casa Familiar La Tortuga
#2 of 11 in Heredia
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Lorenzo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Lorenzo Inn

Property: San Lorenzo Inn
Address: Residencial San Lorenzo | San Lorenzo de Flores, Heredia 2356-3000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Heredia
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
San Lorenzo Inn Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing