We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rafting for everyone”
Review of Sarapiqui River

Sarapiqui River
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Class II-III Rafting and Chocolate Tour from La Fortuna
More Info
$95.00*
and up
White Water River Rafting Class III-IV from La Fortuna-Arenal
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Sarapiqui River Rafting Class II-III Rapids
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This narrow river offers white-water rafting that's enjoyable at every level.
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good rafting for everyone”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We rafted the upper river and found the class II and III rapids exciting but not really scary, so really fun! Guide was also a good naturalist and along the lower stretch pointed out lots of birds -- although, because of the water, couldn't take any pictures. It was part of a Wild Planet Adventures tour. Would highly recommend the rafting trip!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very restful trip”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

At our hotel we arranged to take a two hour motorboat trip on the Sarapiqui River. There were 7 other passengers on the boat with the captain/guide who was excellent at spotting wildlife. Like some boat tour operators, he did not keep up a stream of chatter, but just pointed out birds, caimans, lizards, and monkeys of interest. He knew the English names and stopped the boat so everyone could get a good view and take pictures. It pleased him that we all got excited when viewing the wildlife. We thoroughly enjoyed our time on the river.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank btowhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sarapiqui Rainforest Day Tour”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had a great time on the tour including the scenery on the drive from San Jose, and the boat ride on the river viewing the howler monkeys, iguanas, crocodiles and birds. The highlight was the zip line rides over the forest canopy - what an exhilarating experience! Mauricio was a fabulous guide and the meal was traditional Costa Rican - delicious! Tour is through graylinecostarica.travel that was suggested through the American Airlines booking site, but you should be able to book it or check it out at the URL above.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A wonderful place for bird watching”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Sarapiqui area was somewhat unclear for me, eventhough I passed by the town many times. Sarapiqui River is a truly marvel place for birdwatchers and nature lovers. On the high part it is a white water rafting place (class II and III), and on the lower parts it is a slw beautiful river to see wildlife and all kinds of birds that live in this kind of forest. I stayed on Hotel El Bambu in Sarapiqui, and did a couple of tours (river tour and inflatable kayak rafting in the river), both a very different perspective of the same rive!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelBatours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adrenaline Rush!”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Day 2
When I decided to come to Costa Rica, it was with the intent to live on the edge a little and to step outside the typical lounge on the beach vacation.

Well let me tell you- the Combo Tour of Zip lining (they call it Canopy) and White water rafting (7 miles, takes about 2 hours to complete) was the right selection. In the company of three super friendly and experienced guides you buckle up in your equipment, secure your personal belongings in a locker and FLy through the rainforest at incredibly high altitudes across rivers, lakes, valleys and areas of lush dense woods! Beware though poisonous snakes, vipers and feisty bullethead ants that BITE, the guides will steer o clear if you pa attention though. The feeling of soaring through the air on these lines is so exhilarating and you feel on top of the world (a bit like Tarzan) as You only hear your shouts of excitement echo over the woods mixed in with various birds, amphibians and monkeys calling out as well. make sure to tip these guides (minimum of $2 USD per person/guide is customary across the board in costa rica).

Rafting takes place immediately after and you will need to swap your set of guides. The new crew has a different demeanor, slightly more serious at first (they need to be since the rafting can be dangerous on this level 3 (out of 5) river. The Sarapiqui, is full of surprises, gentle lulls mixed in with a few wild drops and pretty aggressive areas that (as I learned the hard way when it swept away my wallet and credit cards from m pocket) are look deceptively peaceful but carries all the power and vigor of a level 5 raft. I would advise that you put the people who either have the most experience rafting or physical strength in the two front seats since they (along with the guide/anchor) will be responsible for getting you out (or in) dangerous flip over situations. On the river mid way you dock and have a snack of freshly picked pineapple and can jump into the river and float around (beware of the current and stay close to the shore). The scenery is amazing on this trek, you pass through some local areas and see the natives enjoying the river with their families and friends and you get to see some cool birds and weeping willow trees brushing the river (that you may have to duck under). Be assured there are no crocs in this river (unlike the yellow river where you can see 30 crocs within one area at once! Not raft friendly).

While this trip isn't for the elderly or out of shape person, I recommend it for anyone looking for adventure or a boost of excitement!

Almost immediately after, you

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ray3823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarapiqui River also viewed

 
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Sarapiqui
 

Been to Sarapiqui River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing