We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wildlife viewing in rainforest”

Tirimbina Biological Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.00*
and up
Hiking in Tirimbina Biological Reserve from Sarapiquí
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great wildlife viewing in rainforest”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We did the self-guided walk on the rainforest trails and found it to be very relaxing and rewarding. We know you can always see more wildlife when you go with a guide, but we didn't want the pressure of a guided tour. The hanging bridges are fun to cross and the views of the Sarapiqui River are lovely. We were very fortunate in seeing lots of wildlife. We walked almost all of the trails and saw many strawberry poison-dart frogs, other small frogs, toucans, wild pigs, many birds, and a troop of howler monkeys right above us on the long bridge into the reserve as we were leaving. They stayed on the bridge cables and in the trees and let us take lots of photos.

The forest is pretty with several big trees and lots of neat vines.
We agree, however, with most of the recent comments that the trails are definitely in need of maintenance. They could use staff walking them at least once or twice a week to clear debris and maintain the paths.

The self-guided tour is well-priced for a lovely couple of hours walking through the rainforest.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gringa-tica28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    31
    4
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Rainforest sadness”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

After a long time without visiting the Tirimbina Reserve, it was sad to see that has been transformed into a medium class hotel, with no interest on the conservation or research, and few interest in maintain the forest. To start the bad experience we want to book a night tour, but they do not have guides for this activity. Finally we do a self-guide tour, but no interpretation or stations that tell us what we are looking at the forest. The trails were bad, we took the "Corteza" trail, and it was trees on the trail, and sections were it was hard look for the right location, because the material accumulated on the trails. Still we enjoy the sight of some animals, but safety: cero. It was a Monday and we want to talk with the Administrator, but a young man told us that only we are able to find him on Wednesday, Thursday or Friday, and we start learning why all this mess. It wasn't a cheap fee ($17 per person), so you expect to see investments on the maintenance of the forest and the trails.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank carcalumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
174 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A dash through the rainforest to a fascinating chocolate presentation.”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We arrived, as part of an escorted group, in good time for the start of our tour, and as we waited for the centre guide to join us, a couple of us were captivated by a Toucan high above us. Whilst we were looking up and snapping away, the centre's tour guide apparently appeared and promptly vanished with the rest of our group, leaving us wandering about trying to find the right path through the forest! Reunited with our group, thanks to one of the shop assistants, we found ourselves at the back of a long, single file queue marching along the forest trail and across the suspension bridge. We could neither see nor hear the guide at the front and gained very little from this part of the tour. The views from the bridge were attractive, but we saw no wildlife except for a black vulture and are still wondering why some trees and plants bear bright pink or orange ribbons. When we were finally delivered to the demonstration area, where we were sat on hard, wooden benches, we were treated to an excellent and witty account of the history of chocolate growing and manufacture by two charming young women. We sampled every stage of production and also enjoyed a hot chocolate drink, which we could flavour with a selection of ground spices. I chose chilli powder. This all took nearly twice as long as it might have due to the presenters having to pause whilst everything was translated into French for the group of Swiss tourists who were already waiting for us in the hut and possibly the reason for our somewhat speedy route-march through the forest! Excellent demonstration but I would have liked to have had more time to enjoy the walk through the forest and learn about the flora and fauna.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirecat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Hiking Paths in Disrepair Beware”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We visited the Tirimbina Saraqiqui Reserva Biologica on a Saturday morning with a private guide. After putting on mud boots we began the tour which was lovely. The bridge was fun but once we got into the hike we found the upkeep of the paths to be in disrepair. This Reserve needs someone to walk all the paths and repair them immediately before someone gets seriously hurt. Our guide gave us a heads up when pieces of wood were missing on the path. Also where pieces of wood were crumbling causing us to walk over them. At one point he slipped and told me to take his hand but to no avail. I slipped and fell hard bruising my knee and entire lower leg. At another point we had to step down about a foot where the path was missing and then again step up again to continue on. The metal grating used in some parts were torn up. When we exited the reserve the guide said we had to fill out forms notifying the staff where I fell and what needed to be done in several other areas.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank srk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
250 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Two Great Visits”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We explored this wonderful rainforest during the day as well as the night on an OAT tour. During the day we arrived early in the morning to walk the trails and do the suspension bridges, one which is the longest in Costa Rica. Along the way we saw a huge cutter ant colony, howler monkeys, and many beautiful birds. Being afraid of height I thought the bridges might be a challenge, but they were not at all scary. Loved our day hike and we also returned at night for a bat hike. This was very informative and helped me to see all the many reasons bats are helpful to the environment. This place is a Costa Rican gem and should not be missed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockport4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tirimbina Biological Reserve also viewed

 
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Tirimbina Biological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing