We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarindo Village Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tamarindo Diria(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$162
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Tamarindo(Playa Langosta)
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Seis Playas Hotel(Huacas)(Great Value!)
$89
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arco Iris(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$286
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$67
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$257
$204
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
105
23
2
2
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
23
2
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge pooloutdoor showerhosts stevecosta ricalush vegetationpatio furnitureten minute walkhappy placeprivate patioliving roomperfect hostsover christmassuper marketbreakfast was deliciousbreakfast each morningdefinitely stay here againrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 139 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Recently, my wife and I traveled to Costa Rica along with my sister and brother-in-law. We stayed 4 nights at Tamarindo Village and it was an absolute paradise. We loved the private villas and plunge pools, not to mention the swimming pool on the property which we were the only ones to use while we stayed there.

Dan and Crystal were so accomodating and helpful with recommendations to eat and things to do. They are great caretakers of the property. The maid and groundskeeper were so friendly and always had a smile on their face, which really is a common occurence in CR. We opted for the Ocean View Villas at the top of the property. We witnessed some of the most magestic sunsets you could ever imagine. When I am having a bad day at work I just go back to my "happy place" and envision that setting and it's like an internal therapist. I would highly recommend Tamarindo Village to anyone who travels to this great little surf town.

The property is very accessible to the beach and main strip, but also just far enough away from the action that you get to listen to all the beautiful birds and the howler monkeys. The only bad part of our visit was when it was time to check out and head home. Also, I recommend the fruit platter and coconut when you arrive, it was a delicious and fresh treat after driving many hours from the Arenal area.

In closing, if you want a private setting that is an easy walk into town, I recommend Tamarindo Village over some of the larger properties. There is something nice about not having to share a wall with a stranger. Not to mention the kitchen is set up so if you want to cook or store some groceries, you can do that rather than eat out every single meal. Keep up the great work Dan and Crystal, you guys know how to treat your customers great. Anytime I had a question prior to our trip I would email them and get an IMMEDIATE response. This speaks volumes to their committment to their visitors.

Can't wait until we can come back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank cdthrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Fuss free but beautiful detached wooden houses with private yard and jacuzzi. Medium sized swimming pool to cool yourself in the hot weather of Costa Rica. Short distance to the beach and quaint town centre.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smcahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My family stayed at Tamarindo village in May 2011 and we had the best time. The property is immaculate, with lush vegetation and flowers. The villas are beautifully decorated and comfortable. The plunge pools with a view were fantastic. We loved the outdoor showers!
Dan and Crystal were extremely helpful, kind and fun to be around! The gardner and maid, who have worked at Tamarindo Village for a long time were great as well. The location is quiet and yet close to all amenities. definitely a classy place worth returning to!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa with ocean view
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurentTrabadello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Spent five wonderful days at Tamarindo Village from May 7th to 12th, travelling from Vancouver, BC. The pictures don't truly do the place justice, the grounds were lush and green and the villa we had looked over the treetops to the ocean and beaches from teh bedroom and balcony. Outdoor shower and personal splash pool were great. There was also the common pool for all guests to swim/lay around as well.

In addition, the managers Crystal and Dan were super helpful with booking tours (went on a catamaran trip and a ATV/surf trip, as well as a zipline/horseback riding/whitewater tubing trip...Dan hooked us up well) and recommending delicious restaurants to try in town (some of the best ahi and steaks I've ever enjoyed...).

Really no complaints here...everything I expected and more. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vancitytraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

With short notice and moderate to high expectations, Tamarindo Village fit the bill perfectly.

Dan and Crystal are the ultimate hosts from the very beginning. Daily email correspondence assured me that they were as excited to have us as guests, as we were excited to get there.

The layout truly is that of a village, with each free-standing villa in its own area. We opted for the upper-level villa because the price was only $20 more than the poolside room and the perks were outstanding! We had a plunge-pool on our private sundeck, a balcony off the bedroom with a beautiful ocean view (sunsets were amazing here!) and plenty of space to unpack and feel at home for 4 days.

There is no cafe or breakfast here, but you will have a kitchenette with mini-fridge, toaster, blender, etc. We went to the grocery on day 1 and loaded up on bread, jam, juice, fruit and beer:) to stock our kitchen. This definitely helped us feel even more at home! Side note, housekeeping is about 5-6 days out of the week, so you may be there on a day when your bed doesnt get made up. But I dont see this as a bother to anyone visiting the Tamarindo area...

I do suggest renting a car if you visit Tamarindo because the nearby beaches are worth seeing. Langosta is just down a dirt road... maybe one mile from TV and definitely worth a visit (Eat at Langosta Beach Club for lunch! You will love everything here!). With a car you can also get to the very secluded beach at Playa Grande. This huge expanse of sand and waves is perfect for a romantic picnic day and a great place to surf without the crowd! Having a car also gave us the freedom to self-drive over to the caves in Barra Honda where we went spelunking in caves that were only discovered in the 60's and 70's! Talk about off the beaten trail!

We felt totally safe in Tamarindo Village and would do back in a heartbeat! Plus, they offer a 10% discount for referrals... so you can spread the good word with a good deal!

Room Tip: Upper-Level Villa... you wont regret!
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meamatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews