We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This property exceeded our expectations”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Shelly M
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This property exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We came here with our adult family (ages 5 - 57). We loved this place. There was plenty of room for everyone. The bedrooms were large with ensuite bathrooms. We spent a ton of time out on the deck just enjoying the beautiful weather. The guys spent a lot of time playing pool when we were hanging out at the penthouse as well so that was great entertainment. We had a couple of minor issues which can never be avoided with any property but when we contacted Stephano he dealt with everything right away. We also had the Chickas come and cook for us three times and that worked out very well. The only thing I would mention is the one bedroom with the single beds is fairly small and the top bunk isn't ideal for older teens however we ended up with just one person in that room and he had his own bathroom and everything which was great. I honestly have no complaints whatsoever about this property and wouldn't even hesitate to book from them again. In fact I look forward to it. If you are a large group this is the place for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I just loved all of the room that we had for 10 people. The bedrooms were just great!
Liked least: A bit of a walk to town.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyfam0...
Clovis, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great vacation!”
Reviewed January 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a great vacation!
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
From the very beginning Bob was helpful and timely. When we first inquired about the Penthouse Bob got back to us within 24 hours. He sent us suggestions for things to do the week that we were going to be visiting. We stayed there the week between Christmas and New Years and apparently that is the busiest week of the year. Bob suggested that we book any excursions early which we did. We arrived in Liberia at 7:30 am to a driver waiting for us to take all 11(4 parents and 7 kids ages 22 to 27) to Tamarindo. The Penthouse was not ready that early in the morning but we had full access to the Langosta Beach Club that we took full advantage of. We were in the Penthouse early afternoon and then Bob arranged for us to be taken to the grocery store to pick up items needed. The home came with a prepaid cell phone with Bob and Stefano's numbers already loaded. The house was amazing and easily slept all of us. There were TVs everywhere and the views were breath taking. We were within walking distance to the beach and town and felt very safe when the kids walked to the night life. We rented a golf cart for the week which was great. There is a little Fish, Wine and Cheese store next door to the Penthouse that had just opened. We shopped there 3 times and highly recommend it to anyone staying there. Loved the owner!
We took two excursions. The first was to Arenal Volcano. The drive was very long but the zip line was absolutely incredible. The guide shared so much history and information with us as we drove along to our excursion. We stopped at a wonderful little coffee plantation where we were able to buy coffee beans sold only in Costa Rica. We also were able to go to the Hot Springs which was beautiful and we totally enjoyed the water slides and water falls of hot water. Our second excursion was the sunset catamaran which was a blast! Both excursions picked us up outside the condo and delivered us back when we were finished.
When we ran out of propane for the BBQ a call was made to Bob who immediately had a new one delivered and installed for us.
The Penthouse was a little lacking in some items in the kitchen, but nothing that we would ever complain about and we did fine without. We left any left over seasonings to help the next family arriving.
New Year's evening we were treated to the most amazing fireworks display from our different porches.
Without a doubt this was one of the best vacations we have shared. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being with our extended family
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“¡Pura Vida!”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

¡Pura Vida!

This was my third time to Guanacaste, Costa Rica. During my first two vacations, I stayed at the Westin. This time, I stayed at this luxury penthouse. I have a winner and am sold. This penthouse experience was extraordinary. It’s simply impossible to get the full luxury and ambiance of this private penthouse. Wow! The penthouse is pristine.

With the penthouse comes a local cell phone with pre-programmed contacts for Bob and his team, who are available, pleasant, and responsive 24/7.

We were picked up at the Liberia airport - - had a thoroughly enjoyable partial-tour ride to Tamarindo, where we were met by Bob, the property-manager-extraordinaire. After touring the property (the ground floor security, the building’s pool, the vastness, modernity, and beauty of the penthouse we were ready to go grocery and wine shopping. Bob took us to the grocery store and escorted us with local tips while shopping. On the way back to the penthouse, Bob gave us a fantastic tour of Tamarindo, including recommendations for restaurants, hang outs, and activities, including pointing out the private beach club of which we were members for the week.

We arrived back to the penthouse in plenty of time for gourmet Chef Frank of bellyfedbetter.com to prepare the first of three dinners for the week - - and to catch the first of many breath taking sunsets from our private balcony facing west.

The Langosta Beach Club was fantastic with its infinity pool - - unparalleled, pleasant, personal service - - great cocktails, beer, champagne, and wine - - and activities, including first-time surfing lessons.

Bob also assisted us on two extraordinary days of sports fishing. One full day on the Talking Fish via Tamarindo Sports Fishing with a trophy sailfish, bonitas, snapper, and unbelievable grouper - - and a half day on the Gamefisher II via gamefisher2.com with rooster fish, mahi mahi, wahoo, and a trophy amberjack.

Thanks to Bob and his timely logistical arrangements, we were able to historically visit and see the Olive Ridley Sea Turtles laying their eggs at Playa Ostional. How lucky we were. it really is a once in a lifetime opportunity to see this natural wonder of Costa Rica. Bob arranged ground transportation to and from the penthouse - - and covered with Chef Frank to move the timing of that night’s celebration dinner to a bit later.

I believe our only regret - - is that our week went by too quickly. Costa Rica has a special place in my heart and, on future trips to Costa Rica, I cannot imagine staying in a “Westin” or other major hotel when you have the elegance and attentiveness like the Peninsula Penthouse with Bob and his team.

You will not be disappointed. To the contrary, you will experience the grandeur and beauty of Costa Rica from your private penthouse balcony with jacuzzi. What a splendid way to experience "¡Pura Vida!"

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StvPR
Onsted, Michigan
2 reviews
“Magnificent”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

First Bob Wilson, the owner, is a character .. and a pleasure to deal with. He is a resident in Tamarindo with an easy laid back style. As soon as we arrived we wanted to stock the kitchen .. 'OK" he said 'lets go to the grocery store..". We were a party of 6 (with 3 more arriving during the week) and all climbed aboard his truck and headed out.. He accompanied us through the store giving helpful hints mixed with his blend of humor.
And so began our 10 day stay at the 'Penthouse', a truly tranquil location. From Howler monkeys on our street (they do not interact with people), to Marlin in the bay, the location and accommodation met every box we ticked.
We did not need a car (taxis are really cheap when we needed one) and the town center was a short walk. Safety was not a concern. The town still has a local feel with plenty of food/adventure options and a vibrant, un spoilt, character. Recommended? You bet!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akthree
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week - a family reunion of sorts. This was a wonderful place to stay. Very impressive bedrooms, baths, patios, views and complex. Each bedroom has a private balcony (perhaps all but one), kitchen was really nice, common areas were spacious and luxurious. Fairly centrally located to "downtown" tamarindo, has a spa on the patio in the unit, huge pool in the complex, plus unlimited access to langosta beach club (gym, pool, beachfront, bar, etc - a nice addition).

A couple of considerations for those considering this condo:
1. Great with kids.
2. Great for families and for non families - would be a great bachelor party spot also.
3. Furniture is a little worn - living room couch was shedding white stuff onto our clothes - not a big deal but should be addressed.
4. There are wall air conditioners in each room (as opposed to central air - which is apparently common in CR). The a/c unit in the kitchen didn't work and we were told it never did. The a/c unit right outside the kitchen didn't work, we reported it and were told a part had to be ordered, so the entire week we had no a/c in the kitchen or right outside - might not seem like a big deal but it's HOT! The a/c unit in one of the living rooms also didn't work, was never fixed despite reporting it and so consequently we didn't use that living room.
5. Wifi! This is huge. I had planned to work a bit from my vacation. The wifi was very spotty and was extremely frustrating. Don't plan to have reliable wifi in this unit - bring an air card with international data. My company offered it to me and I turned it down because I knew the unit had wifi. Big mistake. It worked about 50% of the time. Had to go to the beach club and sit in the hot sun to get a signal sometimes.

This is 5 stars FOR A RENTAL - but just because it's a 5 star rental doesn't mean it's a Four Seasons or a Ritz Carlton - mostly because of the few issues listed above. Overall it was an incredible place and I'd stay there again. For a reference point, I typically stay at 5 star hotels exclusively - and I would go back to this penthouse. It truly was awesome!

Another tip: renting a car was awesome - not necessary but we did rent one and it made it really easy to explore the area on a whim and also go to dinner with kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn K
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Even better than we ever could have imagined”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had the pleasure of spending a week in the villa at the end of March. We were two families, with 6 kids ages 6 to 14. Unlike many other listings where they don't look like the pictures in the ad, this one was even more spectacular. The space is huge and immaculate. Bob and Sebastian did everything they could and then some to address anything you could possibly want, from planning day trips to arranging travel to making restaurant recommendations, they did it all. The location is perfect....a short walk from more restaurants and bars than you could ever go to. In addition the beach is literally across the street. One of the best bonuses of the trip was the membership that was included to the Langosta beach club. Between the pool, the restaurant/bar and access to the beach, this was the icing on the cake. I couldn't recommend this more highly and I encourage anyone thinking about renting to reach out to Bob and/or Sebastian to learn more. You will not be disappointed.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanS061...
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Luxury Living-Pura Vida”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I will start by saying please read Kathy O's excellent review from August 2014. i will not restate the accommodations because she does it beautifully. This property is exactly as advertised, large, clean, nicely decorated with a well appointed kitchen and lush linens. The beds are very comfortable. The chairs and sofas allow for socializing and relaxing in comfort as well. The pantry has a large shelf of soft beach towels, games, pool and beach toys. The place could easily accommodate the 16 they allow very comfortably. The wi-fi was very unreliable but it may have been due to the extremely high winds during our visit. Much of the time we had no access. We heard from several residents that they had never seen winds that strong. The power was out one day and to our wonderful surprise this unit has a generator to keep some lights and necessary things running-like the refrigerator.

Bob greeted us, showed us around the condo and got us settled in. We had a few maintenance issues and Bob took care of them within a few hours. (A/C unit leaking, one not working, sink running slow) It was very easy to work with Bob, Sebastian and Juan. I do recommend that you rent at least one phone from them for your stay. We had to rely on email or walking to their office (a ten minute walk across from the Beach Club) to contact them because there is not a working phone in the home. It would also have helped us to get taxis into town, make dinner reservations, etc. The guard at the gate was kind enough to call us a taxi, but the cell phone would have been a big plus.

We loved Tamarindo. It has a vibrant (by Costa Rican standards) nightlife with lots of dining, bars, and a casino. We did touring 4 of our 8 days. They are long days in the car but so worth the experiences. We took the Mega Combo, the Day trip to Nicaragua, a trip to the beach to see the turtle nesting areas, hiking in the rainforest and the Palo Verde Tour. All the tours were unique, fun and our entire group from 22 to 73 enjoyed them.

We also spent a few days at the beach club. It has lovely cabanas and a pool with poolside cocktails and dining. Due to wind, the pool was constantly full of debris but the staff was diligent in trying to keep up. With the beach just a few steps away and the availability of boogie boards, surf boards, paddle boards and kayaks we played in the ocean most of our time there. Also due to the high winds, the trees over the club were alive with howler monkeys. It was such a treat to watch them jump and play. The babies were so funny and kept us entertained.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ability of our group to congregate in so many areas of the home and also have a spot to get some alone time when you needed it.
Liked least: No local phone to call for taxis, reservations or to contact Bob, but this is easily remedied by renting a cell phone from him for $35 dollars per week.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing