We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nearly Perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property
 Beach house with hotel-size pool, palapa bar, and grand stairca
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 Beach house with hotel-size pool, palapa bar, and grand stairca
Eco-friendly home in Costa Rica with Solar Panels Private beach-front cabina beside the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Beach house with hotel-size pool, palapa bar, and grand stairca
Eco-friendly home in Costa Rica with Solar Panels
Private beach-front cabina beside the pool
Beautiful entrance with large parking area
Beachfront pool and garden area
Large living area and dining table
Living room and kitchen
Spend peaceful evenings relaxing on the patio in paradise
Luxury suite on ground floor
Master suite on second level
Ground level suite opens to flagstone terrace
Full bathroom with tub/shower
Second level suite with private balcony
Upstairs living room with queen Murphy bed
Bunk Room With Queen (Sleeps 6)
Private beachside casita by the pool
Breezy outdoor living area
Full gourmet-ready kitchen
Mornings on the pool terrace are shady and cool
The romantic beach-front casita
The Pacific Ocean and the horizon meet at Casa de Luz
Solar panels make Casa de Luz easy on the environment
Howler Monkeys in the trees at Casa de Luz
Enjoy breathtaking Costa Rica sunsets from the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 23
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christoph...
Southlake, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nearly Perfect!”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I've been traveling down to CR for several years and this is one of the best villas we've rented. Its far enough from town to have some peace and quiet, but close enough that it wasn't a chore to venture in. I recommend it for anyone! During low tide, you can even stroll into town via the beach, but I'm certain its impossible during high tide.

The grounds were clean and safe and we had no issues at all. The gate to the property locks at night and the car and personal items in the house were of no concern. The beach was pristine and the sunsets were perfectly amazing.

We received the chef service for two meals each day and they were great! They even accommodated for the food allergies! (Celiacs take note) For our dinners in town, Aly took care of us with recommendations and we found those restaurants superb.

It was a great visit and I will consider another trip in the future.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2017
Hi Chris, Im so happy this was one of the best villas you've ever rented! The home is indeed spectacular and very comfortable, and is well located on a secluded highly sought-after part of the beach away from the more crowded town center. I hope to greet you back at Casa de Luz on your next visit to Costa Rica! Aly - Concierge at Casa de Luz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keatiat
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay in Tamarindo”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My family of 15 rented this house for the week. It was absolutely perfect. There was enough space for us to move around, the pool was wonderful and the house beautiful. We had many meals prepared by the wonderful chef Patricia and the grounds were nicely maintained by Ceasar. The housekeeper was fantastic as well. We ziplined, surfed, went horseback riding, etc. A terrific family vacation. I would highly recommend this house. Ally was terrific in making all our arrangements.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure to help plan your family vacation and I will certainly pass along your praise to the staff! They go out of their way to please and and keep the home in its immaculate condition. Hope to see you all back at Casa de Luz one day! Aly - Concierge at Casa de Luz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keats100
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
“Excellent property and staff”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My Wife and I took the whole family to Casa De Luz in Dec 2016 (15 total people). The house accommodated us nicely. The property was very well maintained (only minor issue was hot water did not work in the Casita but not a big deal as there were plenty of showers in the main house). The onsite staff did a nice job but does not speak English and they keep a low profile. When you needed to you can communicate with them fine. The cook Patricia was excellent and every meal was enjoyed by all, even by the finicky eaters. She prepared two breakfast' and 5 dinners. All were excellent. And finally, Aly was a great Concierge to deal with. She arranged excursions, dinner reservations (2 nights), and all transportation for excursions and airport transfers. She also arranged a rental car that was dropped off and picked up at the house which was very convenient. Aly recommended a private 52' Sail Boat Sunset cruise which was the highlight of the trip. The crew on the boat were exceptional and the boat itself is in great shape. Highly recommended! Actually for large groups I recommend this house as you will not be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2017
I'm so happy you all enjoyed the Sailboat as much as I do, what a lovely way to end the year on Dec 31st followed by a wonderful meal by Cook Patricia. You did it right! Hope to see you back here soon!
Saludos,
Aly - Concierge at Casa de Luz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyLaVall...
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Perfect crew getaway!”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Our group of 17 stayed in this amazing rental the second week of December and loved it! Not only were there plenty of comfortable bedrooms for everyone to relax and make themselves at home in, but spacious common areas to enjoy together. We made great use of the large kitchen cooking a few meals daily and the infinity pool was perfect for relaxing after surfing twice a day. Aly was super helpful in making sure we knew how the house worked, wifi in the three separate houses (front house, large main house and pool house), and even had a great chef she recommended to cook a few meals for us. Really enjoyed our experience!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2017
Hi Amy,
It was a pleasure to welcome you to Casa de Luz! We are so lucky to be so close to several great surf sports, I'm happy your family enjoyed them twice a day! I hear surfing is addictive; a repeat visit might be in order! :) Until then, take good care!
Pura Vida!
Aly - Concierge at Casa de Luz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfilipos
2 reviews
“A wonderful place to stay in Tamarindo”
Reviewed December 15, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We had a large group (17) that we were bringing for a company trip. The house was spacious and comfortable, the amenities (wifi, pool, speakers, etc.) were all great and the staff was amazing. If you're looking for a large place to host an event or get away this is definitely a great choice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2016
Hi Luke, what better Incentive Trip for your work team; to come and discover paradise while staying all together in a beautiful beachfront home, and building your team spirit! I'm happy everyone enjoyed the comforts the home has to offer (the wifi signal is strong throughout the estate because there are several access points; you always connect to the strongest one)! Happy holidays and we look forward to seeing you and your team back again next year! Aly - Concierge at Casa de Luz

ALY
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksanda...
1 review
“Great getaway”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We spent the week of Thanksgiving in that house and everything was great. From the pool and beach to the house keepers and the private chef. The concierge Aly was very accommodating and helped us with everything we could think of! Definitely will recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2016
Hi Alex, it was wonderful to meet you and I am very happy you enjoyed your Thanksgiving holidays here! You have a lovely family, and it was my pleasure to help you arrange things! Hope to see you back again soon!

Aly - Concierge at Casa de Luz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyfried
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Elegant House with gorgeous view”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

9 of us came to Casa Luz to have a 3 day celebration of my daughter's recent wedding. The house and its locationwas just perfect. The house was quite spacious with large bedrooms with incredible ocean views. The ocean was waiting for us just outside the gate of the house. There was also an infinity pool that was used bright and early every morning before breakfast! Everyone also loved walking to Tamarindo, which is a very charming town. 4 of us took surf lessons and became "hooked" on surfing. Having such a great time at Casa Luz, we plan to return next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: proximity to the ocean
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2016
Hi Judy, with such close proximity to the center of town, but yet nestled in a prestigious and tranquil neighborhood, Casa de Luz is indeed in an exceptional location. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you next year when you all return to keep working on your new surf skills!

Pura Vida!
Aly - Concierge at Casa de Luz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing