We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Terrific experience traveling with 3 families”
other travelers have booked this property
 Beach house with hotel-size pool, palapa bar, and grand stairca
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 Beach house with hotel-size pool, palapa bar, and grand stairca
Eco-friendly home in Costa Rica with Solar Panels Private beach-front cabina beside the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Beach house with hotel-size pool, palapa bar, and grand stairca
Eco-friendly home in Costa Rica with Solar Panels
Private beach-front cabina beside the pool
Beautiful entrance with large parking area
Beachfront pool and garden area
Large living area and dining table
Living room and kitchen
Spend peaceful evenings relaxing on the patio in paradise
Luxury suite on ground floor
Master suite on second level
Ground level suite opens to flagstone terrace
Full bathroom with tub/shower
Second level suite with private balcony
Upstairs living room with queen Murphy bed
Bunk Room With Queen (Sleeps 6)
Private beachside casita by the pool
Breezy outdoor living area
Full gourmet-ready kitchen
Mornings on the pool terrace are shady and cool
The romantic beach-front casita
The Pacific Ocean and the horizon meet at Casa de Luz
Solar panels make Casa de Luz easy on the environment
Howler Monkeys in the trees at Casa de Luz
Enjoy breathtaking Costa Rica sunsets from the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 23
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Finn H
1 review
“Terrific experience traveling with 3 families”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a great time together. The house was big enough that three families could each have their side of the house and come together for meals, play, and activities. Aly, the concierge, was available all the time and did wonders on short notice to get us scheduled for activities and to remedy any small issues with the house. She also met us right at the house and gave a quick intro.
The place is amazing. It has chairs right on the beach which have been great to just relax and enjoy the quiet in the morning and the sunset in the evening. There is a nice bed & breakfast next door that we have used three times for breakfast when we had a slow start to the day.
I would definitely recommend staying here and would love to come back again.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2016
Dear Joerg, I'm so happy you enjoyed the wonderful location of Casa de Luz, on its beautiful and quiet stretch of playa Langosta, with front row seating to watch the gorgeous sunset each evening! It was a real pleasure to assist you in setting up the various activities and excursions the different members of your family wanted to experience. We look forward to your return visit! Aly - Concierge at Casa de Luz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This Is The Place To Rent”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely, large house right on the Pacific Ocean. We were able to fit 16 people in it comfortably. The service was also wonderful. There is tons to do in Costa Rica and the people are very kind. Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Hi Thomas, indeed we are so lucky to have such interesting activities (white water rafting, ziplining, sailing, ATVing) in the surrounding area! And people here are so kind; they are very family orientated and such a warm culture! I'm very happy you so much enjoyed your first trip to Costa Rica! I hope you come back to stay with us again!
Aly, Concierge at Casa de Luz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In heaven”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Beautiful location right on the beach. Secluded beach for one to watch the waves and dip their feet in the water. Infinity pool for one to swim in. The house itself is immaculately created with beautiful architecture. The rooms are well decorated and there are plenty of bathrooms. The bunk bed room is awesome for the kids. House cleaner is wonderful. I loved staying here. Definately the most luxurious place I ever vacationed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Hi Christina, thank you for your kind words, I will pass along your compliment to housekeeper Zaida. She takes much pride in her work and is so pleased when she can help make guests stays even more comfortable. I'm happy you enjoyed relaxing in the infinity pool, it is wonderful to have both that AND the ocean right in the backyard! Hope to see back in Costa Rica soon!
Aly, Concierge at Casa de Luz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
facedoc_G...
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was, without a doubt, one of the best vacation experiences we have ever had. From the very beginning Aly, the house concierge, was amazing and extremely helpful. She was always available and helped with everything that we needed from dinner recommendations to arranging for zip lining, fishing, etc. She certainly knows her way around Tamarindo!
I have to say that the description of the house does not make it justice. It is so much more amazing than we were expecting! We had a group of 19 and never felt cramped. The location, decor, amenities , etc were all top notch. Cesar and Zaida, the house staff, were there every day to keep the place spotless and to help with anything we needed. Truly amazing people.
The only problem is that we didn't want to leave!! We will definitely find our way back there in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Dear Guillermo, the staff and I try to provide guests the ultimate vacation experience and service, I'm so happy you enjoyed it, and that the house was a perfect fit for your lovely family! I look forward to seeing you back here year after year! :) Pura Vida! Aly - Concierge at Casa de Luz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillann11...
Laguna Niguel, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dream Home Made for a Perfect Family Vacation”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This home "saved" our family vacation. Initially we were in a different home that did not meet even safety standards so I had one night to find another home and this beautiful home was available. The management team contacted me right away, arranged for my family of 8 to be picked up from the other home. Upon our arrival we were personally greeted by Aly, the concierge, and she walked us through the entire home and introduced us to the house staff. She gave us an international cell phone to use during our visit and a "house" book that had any and all information we could have needed. The home has 4 master suites, two casitas (beach and courtyard) and two other rooms with beds if needed. The kitchen was modern and had everything we could have wanted. It had speakers inside and out (which was a must with 5 20-27 year olds that need music). The home is beachfront and very secure with a security system, motion detection lighting etc. Not only were the towels laundered everyday but our personal laundry was done daily as well. Our needs were attended to promptly and professionally and I can't thank Aly and her team enough. Thank you , thank you, thank you!! I would highly recommend this home to anyone!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Hi Jill, thank you so much for your detailed review! The management team and I are so happy we were able to help make your trip more smooth and enjoyable! And thank you also for your lovely comments about the home; the owner takes great care of the estate and is always making improvements and upgrades! It was a pleasure to have you, and hope you will return for another visit one day!
Aly, Concierge at Casa de Luz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica D
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Wonderful house for a group of families!”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We celebrated a bunch of 40 year old birthdays by renting this beautiful oceanfront home for five families. The home was wonderfully spacious, the pool was amazing and the rocky oceanfront provided hours of tide-pool viewing and snorkeling fun. We had a group of 10 adults and 10 kids (ages 7 months to 9 years). The house worked perfectly for us. The bigger kids all enjoyed sleeping in the bunk room (which sleeps 6 kids comfortably). The babies enjoyed the pool and the sand. Aly, the house manager, was quick to respond to our questions and needs. She even lent us her DVD player as the one at the house was being replaced. The short drive to town was convenient for when we wanted to go get ice cream and swim at the beautiful sandy beach. The walk to the sandy beach was about 20 min but was a very easy walk along the ocean. I highly recommend Casa de Luz. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, size and layout of the house and the pool area
Liked least: We had an issue with the plumbing in one room (it's Costa Rica after all), and an issue with the a/c in another. The manager was quick to address the issues but the plumbing issue was never fully resolved.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
Hi Jessica! It was so great to meet you, and thank you for your wonderful review. I'm happy all the families enjoyed their stays at Casa de Luz! The home's beachfront is indeed so much fun for snorkeling (and fishing off the rocks too)!! It was my absolute pleasure to host you, and I hope you return to visit us in Costa Rica again soon! Aly Concierge at Casa de Luz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lainie29
Hopewell, New Jersey
1 review
“Best Family Vacation Ever!”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked Casa de Luz with 4 families for spring break and it was amazing. Adults and kids ages 6 - 14, all had the time of their life! The house was amazing (the pictures don't even do it justice), the concierge really helped to organize and book great activities and restaurants! Our whole party learned to surf, loved walking on the beach in front of the house and watching sunset, enjoyed swimming in the pool from morning till night, and just hung out with friends. It was a great combination of adventure and relaxation. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Hi Lainie, thank you for your wonderful comments! I'm happy you all enjoyed surfing, it is a must to take some lessons when there are such great surf breaks for learning, so close to the house! There is no better way to end an active day, than to watch the gorgeous sunset while floating in the infinity pool... I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Casa de Luz soon!
Aly, Concierge at Casa de Luz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing