We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Tamarindo
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (941)
Filter reviews
941 results
Traveler rating
405
331
119
58
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
405
331
119
58
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews langosta beach club infinity pool free shuttle shuttle service shuttle that runs in town open lobby beautiful hotel swim up bar hotel shuttle costa rica ocean view wet bar yogurt plantains hotel guests water pressure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 941 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is average and what I would call style over substance. The exterior of the hotel is tired and the interior ok. Breakfast is limited and extremely bland. They charge for Nutella, avacado, bacon etc. There is no variety aside from the fruit they add to the tap water each day. The staff are not friendly or hospitable. Only received a voluntary greeting off one female member of staff during the stay. We always instigated greetings and often when asking staff information felt unwelcome and
Like we were bothersome. Our safe was broken on arrival and required fixing 3 separate times. Our toilet was also broken and constantly running water extremely loudly. The maintenance man was efficient and fixed each time. So he was good. The patio doors would lock from the outside. Fortunately through shaking it a little we weren’t locked out. My biggest issues were the cleaning and cleanliness of the rooms and hotel. Our room had an incredibly dirty floor. lifts cleaned with baby oil meaning if you lean you’ll get oil on your clothes. Shower and your feet will be black in moments. Not nice at all. The floor was not cleaned during our stay and the standard of housekeeping lacklustre at best.. Seems like bedding and towels were the only thing that were changed. There are about 12 sun loungers around the pool, which is plain stupid and meant people become territorial from 6am TIL 9pm. Classy way of managing your customers would be to ensure there are enough loungers or a system that does not allow people to own a lounger as they put their towel on it. In Thailand there is a 20 min rule. This would be effective here. Perhaps investing in furniture for balconies would be wise also. There was no information in the room at all about hotel services and we weren’t greeted by a rep and weren’t assisted in any way with local amenities and services. We had to ask about every single thing. There is no table if you order room service and want to sit on your balcony. The prices for the bland food are high, the restaurant service is slow and that’s surprising when it wasn’t busy at all. The food is also bland.. The balconies are also dirty with dirty glass
panes and no safety rails or brackets. As adults this is fine, but I would not be happy with a child in this location. The shuttle they offer to town ended early and would drive past you when trying to return to the hotel. We weren’t once successfully able to return via shuttle and used taxis to return when we didn’t fancy the steep hike. The walk is an incline and a half, takes about 20 mins depending on if you choose the concrete or dirt path.
Neither are desirable. We never met our rep or were given information of what time he/she would be there as advised in our documents.. So all in all pretty poor bearing in mind the premium we were charged to stay here. I would never return to a place where it appears that simply no one really cares..

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venture33514241366, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We aim to ensure all our guests leave the hotel having an amazing experience, I have taken your feedback and will address the appropriate departments so as we can improve our services. Sincerely, Wyndham Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

Firstly amazing views over tamarindo from any balcony, love the staff, especially Wilmer and Carlos at the pool bar, very entertaining. Tamarindo is a very tourist style place and very expensive, beers are on par with the uk which is amazing as I’m sure it would be cheaper anywhere else in Costa Rica. Food isn’t cheap either and is very limited.so bring some extra cash,lots of trips to enjoy again which we need to in this fantastic country, again on the expensive side. The hotel bar closes quite early (10pm) but at these prices it isn’t a surprise it’s not too busy, even at ‘happy ‘ hour which happens all over tamarindo. We are still in to our first week and this is an amazing place but I feel they are trying to get in to your wallet at every excuse, watch for the ‘Iva’ and service charge on top of your bill (about 23%)
On the plus side the hotel is very amendable and will try to sort all your queries. We have a fantastic rep (TUI) Tony who has been so helpful to date.
The supermarkets are quite reasonable
The hotel provides a shuttle most of the day into tamarindo and the Langosta hotel which is well worth a visit, great facilities and on the beach, great gym...a shame this stops around 8, a bit early as in posted earlier posts. Taxis are available,some dodgy guys but at 5 dollars or 3000 colones is a good way of cutting out the hill.
That said we are looking forward to our next week or so you must try this place out

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank terry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venture33514241366, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us here at Wyndham Tamarindo. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards, Wyndham Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

It’s not a 5-star but it’s not really a 4-star either. The views are AMAZING! Our room was clean and very comfortable. My main complaint was the breakfast was average and the same every day. I wish 4 1/2 stars was available.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venture33514241366, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We aim to ensure all our guests leave the hotel having an amazing experience, I have taken your feedback and will address the restaurant so as we can improve our services. Sincerely, Wyndham Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

My friend & I done a month tour of the Americas & started in Costa Rica. The hotel is beautiful, the views are stunning. The rooms were 1st class especially the bathroom. It seems to be more than a 4* Hotel. I was very impressed & I would definitely stay again & also recommend to friends & family

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank F342RHryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venture33514241366, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us here at Wyndham Tamarindo. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards, Wyndham Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

Beautiful site on top of the hills above Tamarindo beach and village. The hotel feels new and clean and all rooms have a magnificent view over the sea and hills. The restaurant is average. Breakfast is basic and everything extra you would normally expect to be included in the service like peanut butter or avocado comes with additional costs (3 USD for a small serving of peanut butter). The staff is very nice and friendly. Lunch selection was limited so therefore we did not even try dinner, The pool bar is nice and runs a happy hour. But why not put out candles on the table after the beautiful sun set so customers do not need to sit in complete darkness. And they have an obsession with towels. At check-in you get a small towel ticket that you can exchange for a towel in the reception. If you do not hand in your towel or the ticket at the time of check out they threaten to charge you I dont know how much. For a towel that has been washed many many times. Why not just leave a pile next to the pool bar and a bin to collect them at the end of the day. I would be really surprised if hotel guests, paying a premium price for the hotel room, would end up stealing a washed out towel. Now to the walking. There is a shuttle that takes guests from the hotel to the centre of Tamarindo and then to the Beach Club (Langosta Beach Club, see a separate review). But it stops at 7.40 pm. So if you go down for dinner, which I really recommend since Tamarindo has a lot of lovely restaurants, you either need to finish 7.30 or walk back up. It is a 20 minutes climb, quite steep at parts, so not for the faint hearted. On new years eve we managed to get a taxi back up but otherwise the late night climb up the hill was not the greatest end to the evening. So WHY not run the shuttle at least until 10 pm, or 11? Even for a price. That would be a great improvement. Another improvement I would do, if I was the hotel owner, is to add a roof top bar. What a spectacular place that would be.

Room tip: all rooms have ocean view but the higher floor the better view
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Annika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venture33514241366, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We aim to ensure all our guests leave the hotel having an amazing experience, I have taken your feedback and will address the appropriate departments so as we can improve our services. Sincerely, Wyndham Tamarindo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews