We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Harry's the Man!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harry's, El Escondite
Certificate of Excellence
LaSalle, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Harry's the Man!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed with Harry April 20th-25th. He was a blast to be around, totally laid back and he cooks a mean steak! He treated us like out of town friends visiting, lending us his mountain bikes, surfboards and giving us lessons on how to surf. He was all around a fantastic host.
His cabinas are extremely private and the pool is perfect for cooling off in the hot Tamarindo sun.
We look forward to visiting with Harry again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
85
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Harrys place truly felt like home. So much so that when I woke up in my bed today I said, "ugh I want to go home". Harry is such an awesome guy and his place is gorgeous. Its pushed back, about 5 minutes into town, super quiet and very safe. Its very close to great restaurants; noguis, baulas, bamboo sushi.. Just to name a few of our favorites. The pool and rooftop deck were great to cool off or kick back and relax. The bikes, boards, google tv (not that we used the room much for any thing other to sleep) were an excellent addition. The set up of the cabinas really gave a community feel and we met some really down to earth people; some of the best times were getting to know the other travelers, chilling in the hammocks, grilling upstairs on the deck and jumping into the pool. Harrys dog, Dont, was a gem and ill give a shout out to the cat too! Without a doubt we will be back. Soon :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at Harry's for 3 weeks and we would not even hesitate to look into other places if we are ever able to return.
Having Harry there to pick his brain for places to eat (and drink), when to surf, what to do, what bugs were harmless, when the market was, etc, was something we could not put a price tag on.
The cabana was clean, comfortable and even came equipped with some friendly little geckos to gobble up any bugs. The google tv system was awesome for a relaxing evening watching movies, there was a hearty selection to chose from.
The outdoor kitchen was fantastic to have BBQs in with other friendly guests we had the pleasure of meeting.
The pool is extra deep which means it stays nice and cool and was very handy to have to cool off in the mid day heat.
The cabanas are very close to the beach but it was also great having the bikes to zip around on. The use of the surfboards saved us a bundle too. There was a great selection of boards for all abilities!
On the property there is a lemon, mango and grapefruit tree. We had monkeys come right into the mango tree that we could watch from the outdoor kitchen. It was great being surrounded but the native wildlife.
Tamarindo is such a great little town. We felt like all the restaurants and shops really truly appreciated our business. Everyone we met from there was so friendly and welcoming. The quality of the restaurants surprised us.
I would recommend this place without hesitation to anyone looking for a real local experience. We hope to be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deymal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Feel like a local experience! 4 clean and well maintained cabinas. Colour coded according to size. Dip pool right outsdie your door was a life-saver after a hot day on the beach. Short walk to the beach along a residential road. Shared BBQ deck area allows you to interact with the other travellers. Free surfboards and bicycles and local advise from the proprietor made this stay exceptional. Longong to be back! See you soon Harry

Room Tip: Keep your door closed so the gecko's dont' take over :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Harrys place is amazing! A great get away from the small hustling and bustling city of tamarindo. Its location is a short walk away from town but isn't as noisy as being in town. The accommodations were great and every amenity was provided. Harry was an excellent host and guide of the area. His knowledge saved us time and money. The bikes and surfboard were excellent to have a different choice everyday. The cabinas had A/C and tons of movies and shows to choose from. I cant wait to get back there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jberg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The cabinas were excellent and provided everything we needed. The pool, gardens, hammocks, and lots of shade provided the ultimate relaxation environment and the upstairs deck and BBQ were perfect for dinner and drinks. Harry is so righteous, was great to hang out with, and provided us with all sorts of excellent advice. The availability of bikes and surfboards was a huge bonus and saved us some cash. All in all it was a fantastic spot and I can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBC890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Ah what is there to say about old Hair-ball's...the place was amazing. It suited our every need. Harry really takes good care of his guests and has the best dinner recs. A truly knowledgeable guy about everything from surf breaks to happy hours. We all had a blast jumping into the pool and cooking up fresh fish on the deck. Surfboards and bikes were super convenient to take out of the shed and down to the beach. The cabina we had was perfect size and the A/C was nice after a bike cruise. Also there are a ton of movies/music/tv on deck if you are staying in. Hope to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRM112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#14 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's, El Escondite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's, El Escondite

Property: Harry's, El Escondite
Address: Cabinas Escondite, Tamarindo 2000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free use of surf boards and bikes. Surf lessons and guide available. A secluded 4-plex of studio-apartment style cabinas; favorite 'hideout' for both returning surfers and first timers. Accommodations for individuals up to a party of 10 in 4 cabinas. Each cabina can sleep up to 3 people and has a kitchen, large bathroom with hot water, air-conditioning and cable TV. El Escondite also has laundry facilities, phones and internet access. A pool, BBQ and hammocks round out a perfect place to hangout after surfing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing