We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Marlin Del Rey Sailing Tours
Book In Advance
$90.00*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The BIG boat..Marlin Del Rey. 66 feet of wide open space where you can lounge in the sun, relax under our more than ample shaded area or sit on the deck watching for whales, dolphins and turtles. Based out of Tamarindo Bay, Costa Rica we operate daily tours that include open bar, snorkel equipment and snacks. Afternoon tours incldue the amazing Costa Rican sunset free of charge. Also available for private charters.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

What an unforgettable experience- we are so glad we did the sunset catamaran cruise! I would definitely recommend this to any couple looking for a great day and evening! At $85 per person it was a great value (our hotel wanted to set us up with a different company that was $100 per person). It included sailing, unlimited drinks, snacks, snorkeling/swimming/diving, and whale sightings. We loved it!!! We had a great time, and met lots of other friendly people to talk to and hang out with. Definitely do this!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mack09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    962
    135
    44
    22
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect afternoon spent in Costa Rica”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Booked with Ciro from Go Adventures via email, very helpful person. Picked up in a shuttle at the JW Marriott. The boat was very nice and my gf and I felt super safe. The crew knows what they are doing and couldn't be any friendlier The drinks are flowing as soon as you step on board. Best part about beer is there are coolers so just help yourself. Trip is relaxing and zero pressure from crew about activities. Do what you want attitude.Ken, Taca, Felipo, Marcos, Alex J. and ofcourse Mama Hellen are AWESOME!. Highly recomend this tour if you have time in Costa Rica. Food provided was delicious and served at the perfect time. Have nothing negative to say. Great Sunset to view. Pura Vida.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nic s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The "BEST" sunset cruise in Tamarindo”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We booked this tour through Costa Rica Surf Adventures. I have been on these catamaran cruises before, but I was not expecting such a great experience. Open bar included any kind of mixed drink, from piña colada and daiquiri, to beer, whatever you wanted, Mama Helen mixed. My husband doesn't drink, so he had plenty of coca cola or virgin daiquiris. We had a wonderful lunch of chicken, assorted fruit, guacamole, chips, and cookies. If you had an empty drink in your hand, Felipe would dispose of the empty cup and bring you a fresh drink. I've been on these cruises, where you wait in line forever for a drink. The service, skills and expertise by Alex Jr, Marcos, Taca, and Kenn was over the top. Leo let me sit behind him as he steered through the water. He talked to me, joked with me and never acted as if I was in his way or keeping him from something, while always paying attention to what he was doing. This crew was extremely safety conscious. We watched as they diplomatically handled a guest that was out of control. Being a germaphobe, I was impressed with the cleanliness and especially the clean bathrooms, which contained hand sanitizer. We were allowed to snorkel in a lovely inlet and saw whales! We completed the tour with a beautiful sunset. This is the catamaran tour to take!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dutto11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“We had to do it again!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had so much fun, we had to do it again the next day! This was one of the most relaxing afternoons we had. We hung out on top till we got to the place to snorkel, Felipe helped us by pointing out the different things under water. We saw whales, dolphins, turtles all with the help of the captain Taca. He turned the boat to which ever direction we needed to see the animals. The staff got everyone attention so we would not miss anything. Momma Helen kept up by making all of us the best drinks ever. We had the best service on the boat than we had all week. Thanks to Felipe, Captain Taca, Momma Helen, Alet, Leo, Marcos & Rehn. You all are the best. The next day we went back and they had are drinks ready when we step on the boat. How they remember? Guess they are just good like that! Lets do it again next year!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent way to spend the day”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We did the Xmas day sunset cruise and it was great. The crew goes out of their way to ensure you are having a great time. The drinks were great (the girls loved the blended mojito), the food was great (damn good guacamole) and the views were fantastic.

Even though the it was a busy cruise, it did not seem overcrowded. We were early on the beach though and were on the first boat out to the catamaran and we got a great spot on the roof. I would recommend getting out to the beach early to make sure you get on one of the first trips out.

Merry Xmas indeed...fantastic day!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlin Del Rey Sailing Tours also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Marlin Del Rey Sailing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing