We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Princesa Cafe

La Princesa Cafe
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $4
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Princesa Cafe is a family owned coffee shop/bakery, that opened in January 2014. We offer breakfast sandwiches/croissants, bagels, empanadas, veggie fritata, pastries, desserts and coffee/espressos. Everything on the menu is homemade, even the bagels and bread. We open at 7:30 am and we close between 6-9 pm, depending on low/high season.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Delicious and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

An excellent place for your bakery needs and a super spot to get a fresh cinnamon roll and your morning coffee. Love it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetJohansson, Owner at La Princesa Cafe, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your Review! We work really hard to try to "please" all our clients and we are happy that it shows good results.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burgdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very very delicious breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

we went to the la princesa cafe two times for a wonderful breakfast and the third time for the best coffee we had in costa rica and the famous alfajores-cookies with dulce de leche from argentina! all! is home made and very fresh! the owner and his girlfriend are very nice persons! we really can recommend this bakery. saludos de las tres suizas chicas.

Helpful?
Thank Myriamvs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetJohansson, Owner at La Princesa Cafe, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time and tell other people about us/recommend us here at Tripadvisor. We hope to see you again in the future! Muchas gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Coffee experience OUT OF THIS WORLD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

On our first trip to Costa Rica (with a group of 9 Coloradans), we fortunately stumbled upon La Princesa Cafe in the awesome little Tamarindo Food Court! (The smoothies across the street are also amazing, and the ladies are so sweet who work there; Sidenote).

Diego, the owner, welcomed my best friend and I will such a warm and familiar demeanor immediately when we walked up. Such a welcoming little cafe. And the cafe! So unbelievably awesome. We had been searching for a latte in town and this is the place to go! It is full bodied, the crema is perfect, it's just right :) There pastries are also out of this world. The breatfast croissant. WOW! And in the food court area you can sit and chat with friends, or make new 'little while friends'. Although my recommendation would be to chat with the owners! Diego is so friendly, and informative, and you can tell he loves what he does, and is great at it.

If you're looking for a perfect, small coffee and dessert cafe, in the heart of the town of Tamarindo experience - La Princesa is the place! GRACIAS DIEGO!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaLa2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetJohansson, Owner at La Princesa Cafe, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We are so happy that you liked our coffee and breakfast. We are coffee lovers ourselfs and it feels great to hear that you had a good experience at La Princesa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Ridge, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What A Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

La Princesa was such a pleasant surprise for us during our recent stay in Tamarindo. The owners Diego and Janet provide a wonderful selection of bakery, desserts as well as empanadas and breakfast sandwiches. One of our many favorites was their cinnamon rolls. They are tender and flavorful. The desserts we tried were delicious and not overly sweet. Their cheesecakes were another great treat. When you're in Tamarindo find the food court and you will see their bakery case. The owners are friendly and helpful and you can tell they love what they do. Thank you Diego and Janet for adding to our enjoyment of visiting Tamarindo.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank senorsenior99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetJohansson, Owner at La Princesa Cafe, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting us at La Princesa Cafe and sharing your good experience with other people here at Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found the food Court and even happier that you came back and came back and came back to visit us! We are glad that it shows that we love what we are doing! Muchas gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best coffee shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

When in Tamarindo you must visit La Princesa for the most amazing desserts!! The alfajore are to die for-you must try them, they are so worth the calories!! Every dessert we tried was amazing!
It is obvious that the desserts are made fresh from scratch, so delicious! The owners are wonderful, friendly people who are very welcoming,and of course, service was awesome! We started our day at La Princesa every mornng with a wonderful cup of coffee and pastry. We can't wait to return to Tamarindo to visit La Princesa!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank royalvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetJohansson, Owner at La Princesa Cafe, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for visiting us at La Princesa Cafe! We are super happy that you started your mornings here with us and that you loved our coffee and pastries! We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Princesa Cafe also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Princesa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing