We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Perfection!”
Review of Pura Vida Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pura Vida Hostel
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Perfection!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

If your looking for the perfect hostel, that gives you that family atmosphere, relaxation and amazing staff (Miriam), you don't need to look anywhere else in Tamarindo, this is the perfect place!

Having stayed with a friend at the beginning of our trip through Costa Rica, this was our first stop along our trek, and we couldn't have started at a better place. The surfing was fantastic, and you are just a short walk to the beach. The ability to rent a board and even receive lessons if you are a beginner, make things easily accessible and the staff will always go out of there way to accomodate your needs.

Beautiful, and quiet rooms give you that much needed sleep you need after the long days on the water, and the rowdy nights partying just steps away in the town. There is no shortage of meeting many travellers, as the beautiful common area brings all travellers together, and there are many nightly events to share as a hostel. Best of all you didn't feel the need to participate in all events and could come and go as you please.

Simply stated this place rocks, and as the old saying goes, you always save the best for last, and to finish off my trip I made sure I came back to Pura Vida one last time before heading home...... Looking forward to my next trip back!

Thanks for everything!

Lee

Room Tip: Just call ahead and the staff will be honored to accomodate your requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    67
    14
    14
    8
See reviews for
19
58
153
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was my first stay in a hostel, and won't be my last. I can't say enough bout Thomas and Robert - gracious, hard-working, accommodating. I brought fish back from a trip and he all but insisted on cooking it for me. They arranged a number of tours for me and my friends as well.

The common area is awesome. Thos hammocks are amazing! The room was fine - a little tired perhaps, but very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Very easy walk into town and to the beach.

By far the best part of this hostel was the people I met. From all around the world, I found everyone staying here friendly and open and looking to relate. I had dinner with 5 of them on my final night.

I highly recommend this hostel. If I am in Tamarindo and in need of a place to stay, I will stay here. Without a second thought. Thank you Thomas and Robert!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed in a private room for four nights ($35 per night). The location is okay - off the main drag but still walking distance to everything. The room was clean, but a bit tired looking. The bathroom was icky -- no door (curtain only), icky shower tiles and shower curtain. Nice common areas. It can get a little bit loud, with the rooms just off the common area, but quiet time is after 11pm. Not terribly enamoured by this place, but maybe because I wasn't fond of Tamarindo altogether.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quitobound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My friend and I had a fantastic stay at Pura Vida hostel- we loved the open space with hammocks- the perfect way to relax after a hard day's surfing. It was very clean and secure. The room was spacious with good facilities. Thank you for a awesome stay. Amy and Lexie

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyliz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

The staff was excellent. Very laid back and easy to deal with. They allowed us to check in early. The place was spotless and full of friendly guests from all over the world. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Costa Rica on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veggiephunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Thomas greeted us the second we walked in and he and Robert made themselves familiar and were obliging during our entire stay. Both Thomas and Robert offered us local information and made calls on our behalf to organise diving and other activities. There's plenty of information available for taking the many possible tours and activities in the area. Most, or a lot of which can be organised directly through the hostel. The hostel recommended Pacific Dive Center in Playa Flamingo and I cannot endorse their recommendation highly enough. Likewise the guys recommended 'Taco Stop' Mexican restaurant in which they can offer a 10% discount for hostel guests. The food is amazing.

Bear in mind breakfast at the hostel is as basic as it gets. The coffee is good but it's basically toast and a bit of jam. So don't necessarily rely on having a hearty breakfast. We traveled as a 3 and had a room that was slightly claustrophobic for the 3 of us, but was airy and the supplied fan was sufficient for sleeping at night. The curtain that separated the bathroom from the rest of the room made it awkward occasionally but was none-the-less not a major problem. We didn't have any soap supplied so relied on our own resources but no big deal here either.

There's a really great culture at the hostel. Some great chill-out areas that encourage interaction with other guests but without the emphasis on full time partying. The guys encourage guests to plug in their iPods or music devices into the general area's stereo, which is never loud enough to disturb. There's also movie nights on Thursday. We met some great people here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's an enjoyable walk into town, but is not overly central. Not a problem for us.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Really great, clean and relaxed hostel! Couple minutes walk from the supermarket and main street and beach front. Can hire the surfboards there for the day for $10. Lights out at 11 for those who would like to rest in peace, they encourage you to go out and party after then. Ended up spending my birthday here with the other friendly travellers we met!

Rooms were nice, two kitchens and an large open area with a fantastic atmosphere. Always have some great tunes playing. Perfect place to meet other travellers, very sociable, or just a chilled area to relax and have some downtime. They have book exchange and information on the area and other destinations. Breakfast is toast.

One of the hosts Robert was fantastic, really warm and gave super recommendations whenever we needed it. We also met the owner one night who was really lovely and so happy to hear we were enjoying the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tokentravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.3 mi away
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
#6 of 75 in Tamarindo
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pura Vida MINI Hostel
Pura Vida MINI Hostel
#8 of 75 in Tamarindo
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
#3 of 75 in Tamarindo
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Botella de Leche Hostel
La Botella de Leche Hostel
#1 of 75 in Tamarindo
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hostel

Property: Pura Vida Hostel
Address: Avenida Central | 100m East From Banco National, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pura Vida Hostel in Tamarindo, Costa Rica has been providing guests with memorable travel experiences since 2006. We are a friendly, inexpensive hostel that welcomes backpackers and vacationers from all over the world. We welcome the opportunity to host your stay in Tamarindo. Our multi-lingual staff is happy to provide recommendations on restaurants, bars, attractions, getting to your next destination and, of course, surfing. Trips, tours and transportation can be booked at our reception. You can cook and dine al fresco in our 2 spotless, fully-equipped, outdoor communal kitchens. We have dorm beds with ensuite bathrooms and showers and private rooms with air conditioning in multiple configurations to accommodate your travel party. Bed linens are provided. Our "rancho" is the social heart of the hostel with rocking chairs, daybeds, and hammocks for you to enjoy while visiting with other guests and overlooking the lovely tropical garden which enjoys frequent visits from iguanas and howler monkeys. The chill-out atmosphere is enhanced by a great sound system and playlist, good vibes, the fastest wi-fi available in Costa Rica and interesting people from all over the world. We are located a couple hundred meters from the beach, across from Banco National and Hertz Rental Car and next door to Dona Lee's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pura Vida Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Guesthouse And Hostel
Pura Vida Guesthouse Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing