We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Witch's Rock Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I went to WRSC solo in August and had a great time. Everyone is friendly and it is in a good location - great beach,water, waves, restaurants, shopping, etc. The staff at WRSC are super nice (wait staff, people at front desk/store, cleaning staff, board cage, the instructors and the camera guy. I had Isaac as my instructor for most of the week and he was awesome! Tips are a nice way to say thank you and they do appreciate it & don't forget the camera guy - he's the one taking the pics that you get to watch at the bar. Thank you WRSC. I had a great time and hope to be back soon. ~ pura vida

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYZ4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRSC, Guest Relations Manager at Witch's Rock Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you so much for the awesome review! We're pretty luck to have our amazing staff. They all do their best to make you feel like a member of the family.

Remember that we always offer special return guest discounts and we have a great 50/50 Guest Referral Program. Send us your favorite friends and family, and not only will we take care of them and make sure they have an amazing experience, everyone gets discounts!

Pura vida!

Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 635 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Good value to learn to surf and get the lay of the land. Great way to get access to all of the local and not so local surf spots. My only gripe would be the mosquitos and they were no ones fault so just bring bugspray. I would recommend trying different shortboards which I didn't just to see which ones work for you the best. Also they taught me to surf pretty well which I could only barely do before. Now I can get up almost everytime on every wave. Bottom line is everybody learns to surf by the begining of the week and can catch there own waves by about midweek. Had lots of fun here and met some great people. The town was a little quiet at night but I think it was the offseason. I would highly recommend this place to others wanting to surf. They were overbooked so I had to stay at the Crocodillo which was a short walk away but in the end I liked the hotel better b/c I had cable and a bigger rooom with a kitchen. It also had the best french bakery in the hotel which was unbelievable!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herr_Zach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRSC, Public Relations Manager at Witch's Rock Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Muchas gracias for the great review! Glad you had a fun trip with us and were able to improve your surfing! Those mosquitoes can be pesky this time of year but, during out dry season November-April, they're not so pesky at all.

Remember that we always offer special return guest discounts and we have a great 50/50 Guest Referral Program. Send us your favorite friends and family, and not only will we take care of them and make sure they have an amazing experience, everyone gets discounts!

Pura vida!

Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I just finished our second trip to Witch's Rock. This time we brought our 11 year old son along for the fun. This was the most fun we've ever had on a vacation, thanks to the amazing location of the camp in Tamarindo, Costa Rica and all the friendly staff at Witch's Rock - Especially our instructors, Andres and J. Louis! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnareichl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRSC, Guest Relations Manager at Witch's Rock Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hi Donna,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the camp. I am so glad you brought your son with you this time, I'm sure he had a blast! We can't wait to have you here for your third time!

Remember that we always offer special return guest discounts and we have a great 50/50 Guest Referral Program. Send us your favorite friends and family, and not only will we take care of them and make sure they have an amazing experience, everyone gets discounts!

See you soon in the water!

Julie Javelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

On my trip, I traveled to 4 different cities. Witch's Rock was by far my favorite! The room, food, beach, and staff were all wonderful. In addition, the town has so many tourist attractions, not to mention happy hours! Surfing was absolutely amazing...It has been a goal of mine to learn how to surf, so I thank Witch's rock for helping me achieve that goal!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becksters29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRSC, Guest Relations Manager at Witch's Rock Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Life is too short so I am glad you went with your dream and it was a pleasure for us to be one of your favorite spots in Costa Rica.

Just in case you want to continue improving your surfing, we always offer special return guest discounts and we have a great 50/50 Guest Referral Program. Send us your favorite friends and family, and not only will we take care of them and make sure they have an amazing experience, everyone gets discounts!

Talk to you soon!

Julie Javelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Surf lessons were great and so was the food and hospitality. They helped me actually learn to surf. The staff there obviously cares about their job. So exciting! I didnt have a chance to stay in the hotel so ill have to book a trip back. 
Luis G. .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRSC, Guest Relations Manager at Witch's Rock Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Make sure you reserve way in advance next time to stay at the camp, thank you to our awesome staff we are normally all full all year long!

Remember that we always offer special return guest discounts and we have a great 50/50 Guest Referral Program. Send us your favorite friends and family, and not only will we take care of them and make sure they have an amazing experience, everyone gets discounts!

See you soon at one of the most amazing sunsets on earth!

Julie Javelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Overall great experience in a friendly environment and most important great surfing with awesome surf guides!

We chose the rain season due to the reduced price and got perfect waves! The occasional rain showers that usually only last for 20 minutes did actually feel quite amazing out on the ocean :-)

Would always go there again!

Pura vida

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moritz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRSC, Guest Relations Manager at Witch's Rock Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Aren't the tropical rain the most relaxing thing ever? I know that feeling of sitting down on your board in the middle of the ocean with a nice tropical rain... AMAZING! Thanks you for sharing such a great experience with everyone!

Remember that we always offer special return guest discounts and we have a great 50/50 Guest Referral Program. Send us your favorite friends and family, and not only will we take care of them and make sure they have an amazing experience, everyone gets discounts!

Julie Javelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked Witch's rock on the recommendation from several friends who also surf. A big birthday in April demanded some celebration and Witch's Rock was an amazing choice.

The staff is so friendly and the surf instructors are great. Encouraging, helpful, and protective on the line up. It's also pretty inspiring to watch them surf too. Paco rocks!

The accommodations are basic, this is a surf camp so get zen and let the water roll off your back. We ended up with cold showers on two occasions after long day of surf, so that kind of sucked. Eventually fixed itself. I would highly recommend getting your evening shower in earlier, rather than later when the hot water is gone. Otherwise, an amazing stay in a good room.
Our drivers and boat captains were awesome, Maxie waxy is always smiling. Front Desk staff arranged a surprise birthday cake and mariachi band for my birthday! You guys rock!!
It really is a camp in the sense that we made some amazing friends while there and have already organized to meet again in November back at WRSC...can't wait!

Some tips: Bring your own beach towel or plan on buying one there. A cooler with ice and WATER and beer in your room wouldn't be a bad idea. If going on the Ollie's Point/Witch's Rock trip, bring cash as it costs $ to get your permit into the national park. And snacks.

Room Tip: Stay in a balcony room. More private, closer to the monkeys :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lieludalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRSC, Guest Relations Manager at Witch's Rock Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Wow - gracias for the awesome review! So amazing to hear what a great time you had, even though you had to shower with cold water a couple of times. We will definitely look into that problem!

Remember that if you come back again, we offer great return guest discounts & have an awesome guest referral program!

Pura Vida and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pueblo Dorado Surf Hotel
Pueblo Dorado Surf Hotel
#19 of 24 in Tamarindo
44 reviews
4.1 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witch's Rock Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witch's Rock Surf Camp

Address: Enfrente de Economy Rental Car | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range: $125 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witch's Rock Surf Camp is a small beach front hotel in Playa Tamarindo, Costa Rica. We have 18-rooms on the beach directly in front of the best surfing waves in Tamarindo, Costa Rica. We are located 45 minutes away from Liberia (LIR) Airport. We cater to surfers and anyone that wants to learn how to surf in Costa Rica. Come and join us for the surfing vacation of your life. Call Now! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Witch`s Rock Surf Camp Hotel Tamarindo
Witchs Rock Surf Camp Tamarindo
Witchs Rock Surf Camp Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing