We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beachfront hotel in Tamarindo! Friendly staff and great location.”
Review of La Palapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Palapa
Reviewed December 14, 2010

My husband and I found this hotel when we were walking around the town by chance. We saw a sign and pictures at the hotel entrance saying "beachfront." So, we went inside and checked out the room rate. A very friendly staff showed us one of the rooms. All rooms are facing the ocean, and it only takes about 20 steps to the beach from each room. The hotel is located in the center of Tamarindo where many restaurants and shops are. We immediately decided to book a room for two nights and ended up staying there for the total of four nights. The breakfast was included, and we enjoyed fresh fruits, coffee, waffle, etc every day. One morning we had to leave 6:30 am for a day trip, and the hotel staff pre-packaged breakfast for us the night before for us. We heard from locals that the hotel and restaurant have new owners/management and they are doing a great job. Since it was renovating the restaurant area, we couldn't avoid construction noise. But it will be over soon. We highly recommend La Parapa and look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cutiehoney1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 152 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2010

i am caleb mondragon i work on lapalapa cabinas at the beach i am the receptionist and i feel so really happy about all this comments is a really pleasure try to give the best service as possible, i have to let you know people about the new administration, it brings new spectatives and new services. the new restaurant have a really great service and your comments make us be better everyday.

so we will waiting for you at lapalapa with arms wide open, thanks for all and dont forget this for lapalapa you a re not just guess you are part of this huge family

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank calebmondragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Tamarindo is very compact little town. The big dram here is surfing and the partying. La Palapa Cabinas is now naming itself, "La Palapa Beach Hotel". The have a website: http://www.lapalapatamarindo.com

The hotel is ideally located. All rooms face the ocean. Mine was a loft (#4) that had a King bed up the stairs and two twins on the main floor. The TV didn't work well...but who cares...the best things are outside. Out the patio door was a great little wet bar...sink, counter table and chairs more patio and the beach. The property is right on the so-called "Circle" where a number of bars and nightspots are located. You are literally steps from the beach, the surf and the nightlife. The Hotel has a great bar...great food and all reasonably priced. Parking is free and secure in a locked, gated area on the hotel property. The tariff was very reasonable given the superb location. I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We found this place while we were walking down the beach and immediately checked out of the hotel we were in and moved in here. I loved the room with the loft bed and great a/c. The location was perfect, plenty of places to eat and drink near by. The restaurant was closed while we were there so it was really quite at night. There are not many hotels on the beach and the only other ones I saw were much more expensive than this one, we stayed here in May for $65 per night and everything about the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iluv2travel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

La Palapa offered everything we were looking for -- great location, excellent ocean view, clean room with A/C that actually worked, a fridge, and super friendly staff -- at an unbeatable price -- what more does one need!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Just to put things in perspective, I stayed in Tamarindo for 10 days...4 days at the Diria and 6 days at La Palapa. If you want over the top luxury, go to Diria (we paid $525 a night for a condo penthouse). But, I spent the rest of the time solo at La Palapa and found spending just $65 a night was just as nice if not better. The rooms were decent, I had a king-sized loft bed with 2 more beds below, so if I was able to share with one or two other people, it would have been a extremely great deal. The rooms are right on the beach with plenty of sunlight yet lots of privacy. Sunset happy hours were perfect. Too bad the restaurant is closed for the low season. Location is central to everything. The only drawback were the old TVs...but who is going to Tamarindo to watch TV? And Audrey the owner is super nice. I have to say that this was probably the most relaxing time I have had in a long while.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mantra828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

My wife and I took our honeymoon in Tamarindo Costa Rica. We absolutely fell in love with the layed back atmosphere and the beauty of the country. We were very lucky to find Cabinas La Palapa our first night in Tamarindo, we actually had reservations somewhere else but did not like the location because it was too far from the beach. Cabinas La Palapa is right on the beach and in a perfect location right in the middle of town, you can pretty much walk anywhere you need to go in Tamarindo.
The cabins are clean and comfortable and all have air conditioning which is nice at night. It was great to wake up in the morning and take a nice long walk on the beach. The beach is beautiful, when the tide goes out the beach is huge and you can find all sorts of crabs and things running around in the sand. One day we actually saw a howler monkey walking on the beach from one tree to the next, that was the closest we came to the monkeys but there are several big groups in the area that you can see from day to day in the trees.
Down the beach you can take an estuary tour to see birds, monkeys, iguanas and all sorts of things. I think our guide was named Christian, he had great eyes and pointed out just about everything. There are quite a few restaurants in the area and Cabinas La Palapa has one on the property. The food at Cabinas La Palapa was great and the seating at tables right on the beach made for a romantic evening. Audrey and Christophe run the hotel and restaurant and were helpful with just about everything. We were very lucky to find them and Cabinas La Palapa and hope to stay friends with them and come back sooner than later.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChicagoILPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Llena
Hotel Luna Llena
#10 of 48 in Tamarindo
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca Tamarindo
Hotel Casa Blanca Tamarindo
#13 of 83 in Tamarindo
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hacienda JJ
Hacienda JJ
#3 of 48 in Tamarindo
244 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Mauna Loa
Hotel Mauna Loa
#2 of 6 in Playa Avellanas
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pasatiempo
Hotel Pasatiempo
#4 of 48 in Tamarindo
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palapa

Address: Main St, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range: $80 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Palapa 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Palapa Hotel is a small family business of 7 rooms right on the beach! We just took over again on december 2016 !WE are just in the center of Tamarindo, next to restaurants, chops, banques, Pharmacy and supermarket. You will be 20 steps away from the beach, the sun, the sea! Come and relax at Hotel La Palapa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your La Palapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palapa Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing