We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
95
46
20
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
95
46
20
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off street parking loft style king bed toes in the sand rooms are basic nice patio perfect location great beach pura vida air conditioning lounge chairs howler monkeys rolando surf couch stove kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 181 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2018 via mobile

Rolando and Audrie were the most accommodating, gracious hosts. Our room was spectacular, view right on the beach. This hotel offers the best of the Pura Vida Costa Rican experience. My partner and I are already planning our next trip, and we will be booking the La Palapa.
Muchas gracias, Rolando and Audrie.
Hasta luego.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 983MichaelS983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

We took a shuttle from the JW Marriott for an evening dinner and based on reviews and picture expected a somewhat higher-end dining experience. We were greeted warmly and chose an outside table on the beach. The table was a bit sticky and the menus were filthy. We waited for 15 minutes and no one offered drinks or took our order. We finally gave up and walked away. We tried again the next day (for lunch). The tables and menus were still sticky, but the service was better and the beer was cold. Food was okay, nothing remarkable.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank cary5969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

Rolondo and the staff were very friendly and wonderful! It was my 40th birthday and they made an effort to recognize it. They also were kind and helpful when the shower was giving us problems and the safe was tricky. Love this place and would definitely stay again!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 609annied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile

Great little hotel as close as you can get to the beach. Easy access to beach and main strip in tamarindo. Highly recommend! Rolando and his staff are great. Walk out for a surf out back or out the front to be snack dab downtown. Can't wait to visit again next year.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

Location is everything! It makes a huge difference to be able to leave your shoes in the room or run back from the beach for a beer. We stayed in Room 1 (they only have 7). The room itself was perfect for us. Very clean and the housekeeping crew does a great job getting rid of all the sand you track in. Nice king bed, big enough bathroom, and a really practical kitchenette. The fridge was awesome, saved a lot of money buying our own drinks and cooking breakfasts- the kitchen has all you need. We had a nice patio with covered seating but we usually just walked the 20 feet to the beach. There is a shower and slicker right outside the room to keep you from bringing the whole beach inside. The restaurant is awesome and didn’t mind us drinking our own drinks or ordering from them. Its surprisingly quiet and private in the mornings so we were able to sleep in, but it’s also super central to any restaurants or activities. There is secure, guarded on site parking and Rolando, the concierge, was super helpful and accommodating. The lobby is a little dated but honestly we were rarely inside and they could probably charge a ton more if they made some updates- so we were totally fine with it. If you’re practical and aren’t looking for total luxury, you can’t beat the value of La Palapa. If you’re in Tamarindo, nothing beats being directly on the beach!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank markkM6919EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews