We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Paradiise”
Review of La Palapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Palapa
Reviewed December 26, 2011

My wife, son and I stayed here a couple nights recently while traveling for two week by rental car around the Northwest and West of Costa Rica. We loved this place! GREAT location, really nice owners (French and Ukranian), and very laid back and relaxed atmosphere. If we hadn't wanted to see the rest of of the national parks and the other sights around the country, we would have stayed a lot longer. The room had a nice loft and the secure parking lot was helpful. Henry the guy behind the bar was super cool. We were steps from some nice restaurants and shopping.

Only a couple of considerations: there wasn't any internet computer at the hotel (they have wireless, but I was traveling without my PC this time) - the good news was that there was a cheap, accessible internet cafe about 4 doors down. Also, there is no pool - of course the ocean is on your front doorstep, so for us it wasn't a problem...

All in all, we'd really recommend this place and will try to come back again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SanderD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 152 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

If you're looking for a 5-star resort full of luxury, look elsewhere (and plan on spending hundreds more per night). However, if you're looking for a cozy little place right on the beach, look no further.

My wife and I just wanted a hassle-free trip full of surfing and a few coctails. We wanted to stay in the middle of town so we wouldn't have to drive every time we wanted to surf or go out. It doesn't get any easier than La Palapa. It's right in the middle of town, surrounded by plenty of restaurants, bars, shops, and surf shops. It's right on the beach, so you can just wake up, grab your board, and walk out into the waves.

The manager, Verny, goes out of his way to make sure you have everything you need. From checking you in, to serving you drinks at the hotel bar, to recommending local restaurants & shops, Verny will take great care of you.

Our room had a kitchen (with a small fridge, stove, sink), a king bed, TV with a pretty good selection, and a small bathroom. It also had a small covered patio. Everything you need for an easy surfing trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I walked past this place on the beach side and it looked so cute so i had to go in for a cocktail- after that i had to move there for 3 nights. Its so cute- the rooms are really nice- big kingsize bed, tv and a kitchen if you feel like cooking. The restaurant was good, the staff so so friendly and thelocation amazing- the best sunsets, right on the beach with palm trees in just the right position to watch the most beautiful sunsets. Stay here it's lovely

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank shaunagh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

La Palapa certainly knows how to please guests of all age and make them feel at home. Vernie, the manager, goes out of his way to accomodate guests. The entire staff is kind and helpful, the rooms are basic but very comfortable and literally few steps from the beautiful beach.
The food: EXQUISITE!
Went there with hubby and 2 kids (14&12) and we all loved it and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank judithcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We came to stay few nights and ended-up staying for 10 days. Amazing location right on the beach. I'm surfer so waking up in front of a surf-spot is the best. Great hospitality, friendly service. Rooms comfortable and clean with ocean view. The restaurant on site is also really good. two thumbs up for everything!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicomerot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We are right now in the Hotel; the staff is really nice and friendly, rooms are just in front of the beach so you can relax in your room with an excellent view. You can spend the day with service in the beach... You have free parking lot, security at night and is just in the main street of Tamarindo. If you are coming here, don't hesitate booking here... :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoniaCristina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

If you are looking to stay on the beach and soak up Tamarindo for what it is, this is your place. The rooms aren't resort style but are cabin style. Excellent views of the ocean from your room which is only about a 10 meter walk through some privacy providing palm trees. The room wasn't exceptionally clean but it was (more importantly) bed bug free. The staff at the hotel was more than willing to go the extra mile to make sure things would be done the way you wanted them. Bernie (the owner/manager) told us as soon as we checked in that we were going to be treated just like family. Thats exactly how we were treated. All special requests were taken care of easily and swiftly. Even on the day of check out, he made sure a plate of fruit was prepared for us to eat since breakfast wasn't going to be ready by the time we left. There was even a night time security guard on the property constantly monitoring the rooms. If you want an affordable room that is in the best location in Tamarindo with service that cannot be matched, La Palapa is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Llena
Hotel Luna Llena
#10 of 48 in Tamarindo
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca Tamarindo
Hotel Casa Blanca Tamarindo
#13 of 83 in Tamarindo
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hacienda JJ
Hacienda JJ
#3 of 48 in Tamarindo
244 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Mauna Loa
Hotel Mauna Loa
#2 of 6 in Playa Avellanas
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pasatiempo
Hotel Pasatiempo
#4 of 48 in Tamarindo
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palapa

Address: Main St, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range: $80 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Palapa 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Palapa Hotel is a small family business of 7 rooms right on the beach! We just took over again on december 2016 !WE are just in the center of Tamarindo, next to restaurants, chops, banques, Pharmacy and supermarket. You will be 20 steps away from the beach, the sun, the sea! Come and relax at Hotel La Palapa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Palapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palapa Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing