We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, fun, friendly hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, fun, friendly hostel”
Reviewed March 15, 2010

This is a great hotel. It has very reasonable rates, spacious rooms with kitchenettes, nice pool, balconies with hammocks for every room, friendly staff, free internet & parking. It is a combination hostel/ budget hotel. It is a 10 minute walk to the beach, but is still a good location amidst shops, food & other hotels. They have all the basic amenties and it is a very comfortable place to stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    32
    14
    9
    18
See reviews for
13
34
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose
2 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2010

man stayin @ these place is always a bless, good people, and the management guys are great, they make you feel like if you were @ home, and the guest from the hotel were great too, we're all looking 4 the same thing having fun!!! total recomended!!!! make sure 2 stay there if you're comming to Tamarindo





























































































PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion-unreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

To sum up Chocolate Hotel Tamarindo in one word .... Repulsive!
We checked in at 2pm, wondered about the very musty smell of the room, raced into town to make tour bookings for the next day, came back, investigated the sheets and checked out immediately.
If you want to know the gory details, the sheets were liberally covered in dirt, pubic hair and bed bugs.
This place needs to be shut down.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I really recommend this Hotel. Very friendly and a nice manager who is always very helpful and takes good care of the place. We had a great time. I thought it was a very good place for the price!!!I Has a large kitchen with a large living room, you wont be disappointed! Great location, convenient for the beach. Travelers from Venezuela - Nov. /2009

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuyagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I stayed at the Chocolate on March 31st for two nights...left the area and came back the middle of April for another two nights, then left the area again....and returned on April 19th for two nights...This 5 star hostel is simply beautiful. Alberto and his two sons do a terrific job of the property and making travelers feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank commando08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

I stayed at Chocolate Hotel for nearly 2 weeks. It is cute from the outside. It resembles a small boutique hotel..it could be if they upgraded it a bit. I stayed at the biggest room. Upon entering the room, it was decent looking. The room fits literally 6 people. The beds were average in comfort. The kitchen had everything necessary. The bathroom was plain and simple. Oh..hardly any hot water which was okay. The room had good lighting and I loved the balcony. The staff was very friendly and helpful..the manager Antonio seems to appreciate his job and does things out of his way for the guests. We did get hot water, a safety box, and new mats in the bathroom. Oh..and bug spray is needed, just ask the manager. The good thing that the internet is available and so is free coffee if you ask. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. I ended up staying a few days alone after my friends left and felt safe. It does have outside cameras too. The pool is cute. The welcoming was also very helpful.
It is located walking distance from downtown Tamarindo, but it is not very far. There are restaurants around, and a small liquor store across the hotel, going north.
The hotel is accommodating and did not have major problems. The price was reasonable and due to my stay, I got a good price, thanks!
It is a safe area. Tamarindo is overall safe. I love it there! That is my second stay in Tamarindo, and never felt unsafe at all, at any time of the day or night.
The hotel may need few upgrades but I think the manager is working on it! It is not a disappointing place to be!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lina433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerman, Idaho
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2009

I stayed in one of their 5 star hostel rooms in February for 2 nights, left for a safari elsewhere then returned for 2 nights. I really liked the place but could see how some people would be disappointed so I will try to cover all the bases.

First, its about 400 meters from the beach on a dirt road. The road is not the best but its easily walkable and even at night I-a single female traveler-felt fine. because its away from the main drag its QUIET with the exception of the music that plays poolside during the day. However the guys who run the place will turn it off or if you have a ipod play whatever you want. Speaking of the guys-they are really nice and helpful and when I returned they said "welcome back...my name here..." which was a nice touch.

The pool area is nice but the pool needed to be cleaned-lots of leaves on the bottom and cloudy. Internet is free-they had 4 computers for use.

The hostel room has an outside sitting area with a hammock, table and chairs. The room has 3 bunk beds with nice bedding and ok mattresses, a TV, a nice bathroom, and its own kitchen area with hotplate and full size fridge. This is a very nice feature, rather than a communal kitchen-place to keep your beers, water, ice cream bars, breakfast food etc. OK speaking of food-I wish they offered breakfast-even if just toast and coffee. There is a restaurant next door but its only opened at night and I cant vouch for it.

The first two nights I had the place to myself. when I returned there where two other women-the owner introduced us and later in the evening when he saw us drinking rum and having a good time gave us half a bottle of rum and said he was happy to see us smiling and laughing!

For 15 bucks a night I think this is a great place to stay while in Tamarindo. Not if you want fancy-not if you want loud parties-but great for budget travelers in their late 20's to 40's

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serval_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.5 mi away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#14 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Botella de Leche Hostel
La Botella de Leche Hostel
#1 of 81 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp
0.3 mi away
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
#6 of 81 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Hostel
Sunset Hostel
#12 of 81 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel

Property: The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel
Address: Meters East Of Stella Restaurant 200, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel is the best choice for great accommodations in Tamarindo, Costa Rica. Our comfortable rooms are fully furnished and contain equipped kitchens, bathrooms with hot water, AC, cable TV, wifi and patios with hammocks facing a well maintained pool and tropical garden. Along with 24 hour security and daily maid service, The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel can assist you with tour and shuttle information as well as inform you about discounts around town and special points of interest. We are only a 5 minute walk to the city center and beach. Why rent a room when you can have an apartment? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your The Chocolate Hotel and 5 Star Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chocolate Hotel And 5 Star Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing