We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A home away from Home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Tamarindo
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A home away from Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

With excellent hospitality, this hotel is a good option for anyone looking for a quiet, clean and safe hotel. Within walking distance of all the Tamarindo. They have an excellent French bakery on site and the staff make you feel like family.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brittany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    56
    20
    12
    12
See reviews for
19
75
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Booked in at Witch's Rock Surf Camp and it was full for the first 3 days, so they set us up here. lovely little place, clean, and basic, with 2 really neat features, 1st, the bakery attached, oh man, these french treats were amazing, so nice at any time of the day to get a coffee and some fresh baked goods. 2nd the one night it was open, the restaurant in the Cocodrilo was fantastic, we had a fresh lobster dinner, for an excellent price. Probably one of the best features is that the hotel is close to the estuary, and slightly out of the centre of town, totally walkable, but far enough away that you did not get the late night loud bar crowd. Although Witch's is my favourite spot in Tamarindo, hands down, i could definitely see myself back here…..especially when they change the mattress, which was far to thin, and uncomfortable. We were on the second floor, I think either would have been great, although most of the lower floors hand sliding glass doors and chairs, which would have been a nice feature. overall, thanks to Sandy, and staff, and the baker, bless her heart, I could get really fat here.

Room Tip: I might suggest a lower room or a room with a balcony, and in any case, a room that faces the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I'm almost hesitant to write a review about this hidden gem in Tamarindo for fear of it becoming too crowded and popular. Very selfish of me, I know! But this little hotel gets it right. The location on the beach, the French bakery, the hospitality...perfect. Imagine strolling outside of your room and sitting down to a delicious breakfast in a garden that leads to the beach. This hotel competes with others on price and offers simple, clean rooms accordingly. If you are expecting a luxury hotel, you might be underwhelmed. But if you appreciate a comfortable room without a million unnecessary perks, then it gets the job done. If Rick Steves covered Central America he would love this place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bekabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

My son and I checked in as part of the Witch's Rock surf school and were happy enough with the clean and basic accommodation. The owners and very kind and helpful and will respond very quickly to any concerns. We would have appreciated heavier curtains on the sliding glass doors to keep out sun and to block out the light at night. Location is terrific for surfing and Tamarindo. The beach is a short path away as is the estuary where we took a terrific tour on the recommendation of the hotel's front desk lady. No, it's not luxury; it is reasonable, friendly and convenient to the town and ocean. We would stay again but probably not on the ground floor so as to have a little more privacy. No pool or fitness stuff but we certainly didn't miss it; we had the ocean!

Room Tip: try for a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veni vidi vici F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night and would not recommend it for several reasons but before I get into that, I'd like to say that the price was low and the staff were very friendly. They also let us off the hook on the second night of our reservation and let us check out after the first night without a penalty.

Now, on to what didn't work ... The hotel claims to be on the beach but while this is technically correct in that there are no other buildings between the hotel and the beach, you have to walk through a bunch of woods and bushes to get to the beach. The Internet worked about 10% of the time while we were there. Lighting in the room was terrible. We had so many bugs in our room, it wasn't funny. The mattress was uncomfortable and the sheets were dirty. There were no chairs in the room. The water didn't get hot.


Altogether, It was a bad experience. If you are desperate and need to stay somewhere cheap, I'd suggest you check out the hostel in Tamarindo because I doubt this place is any fancier than the hostel.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Agandcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here in Tamarindo for 4 nights. The food is unbelievable, between the french bakery in the morning (can you beat fresh croissants and latte?) and fantastic, fresh fare for lunch and dinner from "El Chef-O" (a Salvadoran born chef trained in Denver now testing his skills on the Tamarindo crowd). Best fish tacos I've ever eat. Rooms are simple, beds and showers everything you need with nothing more. Beach access is further down separate from the crazy, overcrowded main street but close enough to still have access to everything going on. If you want unique, delicious, lively, familial, separate and perfect location... this is it.

Room Tip: All rooms relatively similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Got booked here since Witches Rock was full, the location to the beach was perfect.
The place meets my list of laidback requirements.
Be advised, this is not meant to be a luxury stay. Its rustic, on the beach and perfect for surfers or someone wanting that close access to the beach. There were a couple of mosquito's in the room but this is expected, rooms have open access to the outside so just cover up. I didn't get bit, I squished our friends on day 1..
No in room coffee makers and blow dryers and stuff like that but it's got character where it counts!!!!!!!!
- Clean, clean room, clean linens, clean hotel overall with regards to the grounds.
- Safe, i felt very safe at this location, it was a little dark on that side of the street but so many folks out and about. Its a walk to everything, shops, bars, restaurants, Witches Rock for surf lessons.
- has its own private walk out to the beach.
- Run by nice people, the owners were very friendly
- onsite access to food and beverage. The french bakery that's attached to the hotel has some great breakfast food and coffee. We packed stuff for brunch on the beach.. YUM.
-The Restaurant and bar was the highlight, it was like our little hangout, just the right number of people, had that neighborhood feel to it. The food was amazing!!!!!!!! I will be writing a separate review just for Omar, The Laguna Lounge, Chef and owner.
I understand the rooms are bigger here then at witches rock, a new friend we met, stayed at witches rock for days then transferred and reported this info so I thought I would share it. Perhaps booking at Crocodillo and getting seperate surf lessons is a good cheaper alternative that I'll be doing in January when I go back for another long weekend :-)

Room Tip: Garden View is nice, they also have balcony and rooms with kitchenettes
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dv8angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 23 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#9 of 23 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#13 of 23 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 23 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo

Property: Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Address: Calle Central 275, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family and friendly hotel located on the beach. Tropical garden, with faun and flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing