We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Johnston, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our first visit to Costa Rica and our first 3 days at Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo were great !! Clean and convenient to get to the beach or to town. 100 meters to the beach. Safe and the staff was the best. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    53
    20
    11
    11
See reviews for
19
69
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here as a package with Witch's Rock surf camp because the camp was full for the second week of our stay. Cocodrilo is a 3 minute walk from Witche's and is actually the closest hotel to the river mouth surf break. It's a peaceful little place. We were in room 11 which was very nice but a few changes would make the room great. It had an awesome deck with a great ocean view. This is the best thing about room 11. The problems were that we had no hot water the whole week, the mattresses were not firm enough, it would have been nice to have a dresser so we didn't have to live out of our bags on the ground, and the tv was fuzzy because the cable from the wall was frayed. These are all such easy things to correct and I really hope they do because I would stay in room 11 for my return trips if they could make these fixes. The property also has a great little French bakery.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddiesNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with hopes that the reviews posted had some truth to them. It was recommended on Lonely Planet as well. I have never encountered such rude customer service. Our sheets had little hairs and brown spots on them. Our air conditioner was leaking all over the floor. It clearly is not hooked up properly as their was mild surrounding the air conditioner. The tv turned on, but was completely fuzzy and you could not make out anything. The wifi does NOT work in the rooms as advertised. They have a common area to use the wifi, which is kept pitch black at night with one lamp and hundreds of bugs. They have a security guard who works from 11 onwards. Don't be fooled. He sat at the desk with earphones in on Skype the entire time, oblivious to all around him. When we brought these issues to the attention of the owners he proceeded to tell us we would not be able to check out one night early and that we would have to pay for the additional nights, 100%, despite telling him of all our issues. He told we should gotten security to change our sheets, and because the tv turned ON, it was good enough. No comment was given on the air conditioner. Save your cash and stay somewhere closer to the beach. You will find much nicer places in the same price range with commendable

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller12345677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times on various visits to Costa Rica. I love surfing at Tamarindo and this hotel is the perfect location. Mickael and Cedric are fantastic - I always feel very welcome here, they are very accomodating, and what could be better than having a little French bakery on one side, plus the best smoothie place in town on the other?! The rooms are basic, exceptionally clean and tidy, comfortable (I love the ones that face the beach) and I felt secure as a woman traveling alone. Also, not being in the town center, it was quiet in the evenings, which I prefer. Enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3CatCricketFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I loved staying here with a super nice ground level room, very quite and relaxing after the days of surfing the local surf spots. I will definitly come back again for another week stay next year. All of the people working here are fantastic and helpful. The French Bakery on the front of the hotel is out of this world greatness, everything a person could want from drinks pizza pasteries so good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlosurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at Laguna del Cocodrilo at the begining and end of a surf trip in August. The location, right on the edge of town, is perfect. Easy walk to the beach and to town. Rooms were simple, but clean, comfortable and secure. The staff was very accomodating. Breakfast at the attached bakery before the morning surf session is a must as are Mickael's Mojito's after the sundown sesh. I won't bother looking anywhere else next time I'm in Tamarindo!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexaSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were surprised to find this French-owned hotel with great beach access right as we arrived in Playa Tamarindo. The French bakery next door had a wonderful assortment of French-inspired local pastries and breads which made us feel right at home on the beach. The room was clean and comfortable. Mickael was a joy and had wonderful recommendations for restaurants and surfing.

Room Tip: Scout your room for mosquitoes as they can easily get in through door if you leave them open for too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank therabbit86ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#8 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 stars 2,091 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.8 mi away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#13 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo

Property: Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Address: 275, Calle Central, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family and friendly hotel located on the beach. Tropical garden, with faun and flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing