We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquilo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tranquilo”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here as a package with Witch's Rock surf camp because the camp was full for the second week of our stay. Cocodrilo is a 3 minute walk from Witche's and is actually the closest hotel to the river mouth surf break. It's a peaceful little place. We were in room 11 which was very nice but a few changes would make the room great. It had an awesome deck with a great ocean view. This is the best thing about room 11. The problems were that we had no hot water the whole week, the mattresses were not firm enough, it would have been nice to have a dresser so we didn't have to live out of our bags on the ground, and the tv was fuzzy because the cable from the wall was frayed. These are all such easy things to correct and I really hope they do because I would stay in room 11 for my return trips if they could make these fixes. The property also has a great little French bakery.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddiesNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    63
    23
    13
    14
See reviews for
24
86
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with hopes that the reviews posted had some truth to them. It was recommended on Lonely Planet as well. I have never encountered such rude customer service. Our sheets had little hairs and brown spots on them. Our air conditioner was leaking all over the floor. It clearly is not hooked up properly as their was mild surrounding the air conditioner. The tv turned on, but was completely fuzzy and you could not make out anything. The wifi does NOT work in the rooms as advertised. They have a common area to use the wifi, which is kept pitch black at night with one lamp and hundreds of bugs. They have a security guard who works from 11 onwards. Don't be fooled. He sat at the desk with earphones in on Skype the entire time, oblivious to all around him. When we brought these issues to the attention of the owners he proceeded to tell us we would not be able to check out one night early and that we would have to pay for the additional nights, 100%, despite telling him of all our issues. He told we should gotten security to change our sheets, and because the tv turned ON, it was good enough. No comment was given on the air conditioner. Save your cash and stay somewhere closer to the beach. You will find much nicer places in the same price range with commendable

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller12345677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times on various visits to Costa Rica. I love surfing at Tamarindo and this hotel is the perfect location. Mickael and Cedric are fantastic - I always feel very welcome here, they are very accomodating, and what could be better than having a little French bakery on one side, plus the best smoothie place in town on the other?! The rooms are basic, exceptionally clean and tidy, comfortable (I love the ones that face the beach) and I felt secure as a woman traveling alone. Also, not being in the town center, it was quiet in the evenings, which I prefer. Enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3CatCricketFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I loved staying here with a super nice ground level room, very quite and relaxing after the days of surfing the local surf spots. I will definitly come back again for another week stay next year. All of the people working here are fantastic and helpful. The French Bakery on the front of the hotel is out of this world greatness, everything a person could want from drinks pizza pasteries so good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlosurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at Laguna del Cocodrilo at the begining and end of a surf trip in August. The location, right on the edge of town, is perfect. Easy walk to the beach and to town. Rooms were simple, but clean, comfortable and secure. The staff was very accomodating. Breakfast at the attached bakery before the morning surf session is a must as are Mickael's Mojito's after the sundown sesh. I won't bother looking anywhere else next time I'm in Tamarindo!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexaSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were surprised to find this French-owned hotel with great beach access right as we arrived in Playa Tamarindo. The French bakery next door had a wonderful assortment of French-inspired local pastries and breads which made us feel right at home on the beach. The room was clean and comfortable. Mickael was a joy and had wonderful recommendations for restaurants and surfing.

Room Tip: Scout your room for mosquitoes as they can easily get in through door if you leave them open for too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therabbit86ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I spent at week at Laguna del Cocodrillo while taking surf lessons at Witch's Rock Surf Camp and loved it. Michael and his family that run the hotel are great and really take care of you. The French bakery/restaurant was great to have nearby and Michael kept the bar open for guests and was always welcoming.

I'm giving this place 5 stars, but of course, it's not a luxury property and doesn't try to be. The rooms are very clean, but basic and there aren't a lot of amenities, but for what it's trying to be, I don't think you can beat it in Tamarindo. I saw some of the rooms at Witch's Rock Surf Camp, and the Cocodrillo is much much better -- the rooms are bigger, the bathrooms are bigger, you get television, and it's a little quieter too (although it's a couple hundred yards down the street and a little further from town, so not as convenient).

This place is highly recommended and I'm looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nahua
Hotel Nahua
#16 of 22 in Tamarindo
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pueblo Dorado Surf Hotel
Pueblo Dorado Surf Hotel
#18 of 22 in Tamarindo
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo

Property: Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Address: Calle Central 275, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family and friendly hotel located on the beach. Tropical garden, with faun and flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing