We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of La Colina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Colina
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Oxnard, California
1 review
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The moment I set foot into La Colina, I was instantly in LOVE. EVERYTHING...the beautiful, lush, well kept garden, it's cleanliness, the complete privacy, the safety, the security, away from the crowd, the clear extra-large pool, the sunset VIEWS of Tamarindo from our private balcony, the maid service, the owner Hanz, the Bar service, the Full size kitchen, our Condo…I can go on and on about this place…

It became my Home away from Home…

My family (boyfriend and 6yr old son) and I stayed here for an entire month! I did NOT WANT TO LEAVE! We had everything we needed plus more 2 be happy.

I HIGHLY recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shorty2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    23
    2
    1
    10
See reviews for
13
24
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an awesome condo in La Colina for the last month and we had a great time! A balcony with panoramic ocean views of Tamarindo with some of the most stunning sunsets you'll see anywhere. Included large master bedroom, loft, kitchen and more! Friendly customer service. A++!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArisMikelatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My friend and I stayed at La Colina this past week. Hans, the owner, is extremely personable and goes out of his way to make sure his guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The views of Tamarindo and the ocean from the hotel are spectacular and each room has a front-facing balcony. The grounds were extremely well-kept, complete with a variety of tropical plant/flower species. We had such a great stay and will be back again when visiting Tamarindo in the future!

Room Tip: All rooms have an amazing view of Tamarindo but the larger rooms are higher up and are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I spent Easter 2013 here. I stayed for 3 nights and I loved the views and the sunset! The rooms were clean and spacious. Comfortable beds. Only a few minutes walk to the beach. Quiet area. Hummingbirds and monkeys! Clean pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becci007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We found the place on tripadvisor and just dropped by to ask for a free room. We were lucky and stayed for 5 nights. The views from the rooms are stunning, every room with private balcony and small kitchen incl fridge. We really enjoyed chilling in the room for siesta during the day. By foot to the beach and tamarindo centre takes 10-15 minutes. But as you are slightly off the tamarindo noises, its really peaceful and quiet. The host is super friendly and always there for quiestions or if you need anything. Great place and great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed there for a week in late March 2013. Fantastic view of the bay! Clean spacious rooms. Nice kitchenette, good air conditioning and fans and cable TV! Very comfortable. Nice, clean pool. Best of all, it was very quiet; anytime of day or night. Just a short walk to beach and restaurants. Hans is a great proprietor. And we saw monkeys in the tree next to the hotel!!

Room Tip: Rooms on west side have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmeyercpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the location and the good price offered for a one month rental.
But after reading all the negative reviews, I wondered if I had made a mistake.
We were there from january 15 to Feb. 15. We were never so pleased with our choice. The place is a gem away from the noise but yet so close to everything. And the views !!! must be the best in Tamarindo. Hotel La Colina offers cozy, clean and private little appartments ideal for snowbirds and longterm rentals seeking a quiet beautiful retreat.
We loved the pool that was located just below our balcony and used it every day.
Hans, the owner, is a quiet friendly person. we had an issue with wasps building a nest in the planter on our balcony. As soon as I informed him of it, it was taken care of imediately. He kindly helped me find a dentist and use his telephone to contact our travel insurance when an emergency arose. He is quick to resolve any concerns. We needed a new coffee pot and a larger frying pan and in no time we had both.
I wish I could keep this place a secret, but because I really appreciate the reviews posted on TA, I feel that I need to do my part and share our experience in order to help other travelers in making their decisions.
Go ahead and book with confidence. You will be delighted with your choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfingOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colina

Property: La Colina
Address: En Frente de Jardin Del Eden Hotel, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed on a Hill, unique sunsets, nice breeze, outstanding view 50 sqft pool, bar, tropical garden, fully equipped kitchens, tv, ac, ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Colina Tamarindo
La Colina Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing