We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Plumeria

La Plumeria
Ranked #43 of 186 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: International, Contemporary, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The scenery is majestic, and the architecture and ambiance reflect the vibrant heritage and distinctive character of Costa Rica. Jardin del Eden's exclusive enclave combines an intimate boutique hotel and truly unsurpassed amenities, including an acclaimed poolside restaurant. Why not enjoy an authentic Costa Rican buffet breakfast, a light and varied lunch or a dinner where the palate savors the most exquisite, fresh, natural and surprising dishes, in a combination of fusion cuisine with natural flavors along with our best wine selection? The menu is designed so that travelers can experience something completely different each day of their visit. Jardin del Eden's inspired Costa Rica dining will delight and surprise you throughout your stay.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

As someone in the restaurant industry I want to say this place is incredible in service and culinary. We dined here every day while staying at the hotel and everything we ordered was amazing. Atmosphere is very nice as well (how can you spoil it when it's so beautiful out I guess). Service is very friendly and genuinely kind. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to enjoy really good food, especially sea food, at a great price. Thank you, guys:)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina2531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    18
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parachute, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting, great food, excellent service, very good value”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was our second time to El Jardin del Eden, the food was excellent as was the service. The setting is very relaxed. Dinner is by the pool which makes for a tranquil setting. There are several Menu options which offer great value and allow you to try several dishes.
We will be back for sure!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, Friendly service”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is the restaurant attached to the Hodel Jardin del Eden, but it is also accessible from the main street in Tamarindo, through a narrow private walkway on the side opposite the beach. As a result, the restaurant is set away from the noise of the street, in a relaxed, open-air, comfortable environment, surrounded by tropical gardens and a quiet pool. The casual setting had us expecting a mediocre food experience, but, wow, were we pleasantly surprised!

Our family of four ate dinner here twice during a three-day stay at the neighboring hotel. We had 7 different dishes and every one of them was absolutely delicious. We especially liked the "From the grill" items: chicken brochettes with bacon-wrapped banana on a skewer, pork ribs, and a skirt steak ("entrana de lomo"). The side dishes served with these grill items were outstanding, especially the eggplant parmesan (which was good enough to have been its own menu item) and the gratin potatoes (generous use of garlic blends well with the creamy, cheesy goodness). The prices were what one should expect to pay for this kind of food, in the $15-$20 range. Considering the quantity and quality, this is good value.

As good as the food was, the service was its equal. On the first night, we had Brian, who had a smile on his face from the start and made us feel welcome. The restaurant had no English menus at the moment we arrived, so Brian helped to translate and laughed with us as we tried to order in Spanish (he got everything right, though). The second night we had Fabricio, who was less jovial but very knowledgeable and attentive to our table and gave us an equally pleasant dining experience. Both nights, the pace was leisurely, as it was everywhere we ate in Costa Rica---you don't go there to be in a hurry.

I would be very surprised if one can get a much better meal in Tamarindo.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rileycoyotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best red snapper in Tamarindo!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My friends and I tried every red snapper in town and we all agree that the red snapper at Jardin del Eden is hands-down the best! The ceviche, mediterranean salad, fish tacos and veggie panini were also very delicious. On top of the awesome food, the chef/owner was a very gracious host and the servers Fabrizio and Beto were very entertaining and definitely added to the experience. We were staying in the hotel so we also were always around for breakfast and happy hour (11-12pm and 6-7pm). Definitely a must if you are in Tamarindo!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sumnboutme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal in Tamarindo”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I recently ate here with a group of about 14 and everything about it was excellent. The menu was plentiful and everyone loved their meals, especially the seafood, the BBQ ribs, and the desserts! The service was great, which was a wonderful twist since most other restaurants would take forever and would rarely check on customers, for example to see if you needed more water or what not. Also, the decor was gorgeous and I would really recommend it for couples, since it's very tropical, but it's great for large parties of friends too! I wish we hadn't waited until the end of the trip to eat there because we would have definitely returned.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dabeau2234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plumeria also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Plumeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing