We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Infested with Ants” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Flores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Flores
Ranked #15 of 49 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Infested with Ants”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

I am giving this hotel a 'terrible' because our apartment was infested with ants. Not the small ones but the large, red ones that seemed to multiply at night. During the day, they were non-existent, save one of two. When we got back in the evenings, the walls and the floors were crawling with them. My fiance and I estimated that per night, each of us killed about 20+ ants apiece. It was disgusting! We went to the front desk and she told us the ants weren't dangerous - which is great - and gave us environmental bug spray to use. Which we did and it still did not seem to help, it just made our room smell like antiseptic.
I hate to give this place a terrible review as I think the inside area is very beautiful, the breakfast was great, and our apartment would've been fantastic. But as a paying customer, I think it's disgusting to have an ant-infested room anywhere!! Don't stay in Apartment 5 and you should be okay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooter1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    26
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
60
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Nice b&b with friendly owners. Other reviews are spot on - only things to add might be how to find it in town. Go directly into town and turn left when you see sign for Hertz - right before coming to end of main road/circle - no street signs anywhere in CR. Hotel is right before Hertz on right. Don't be surprised that you are on a dirt road - all the roads in town are dirt. Easy walk into town - about 2 blocks - and safe even at night. Good wifi in room, great breakfast, they had some pool towels you could take with you to beaches. A very nice stay for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 looking out at the pool - it was quiet and had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PITennisMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Hotel Flores is right near the center of town and allows you to walk everywhere. The staff was nice and we felt pretty safe too (grounds were locked at night and you are given a key). Only thing is on 2nd night there was some really loud banging and a scream which was probably just a guest so I can't knock the hotel for that, but it was a little scary)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in March 2009. The staff was very warm and accommodating, the hotel clean and affordable and its very close to everything. There is also a very nice and clean pool.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shlobb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Hi

I booked this hotel as I know the italians are taking serious when come to tourisam. The hotel is run by a family and found the mom and son are doing a wonderful job. First is very clean, room was very specious, providing with anything that you need: A/C, Wi-Fi, micro, kitchen supplies, top stove, TV, a coffee (coffee suplied) and only 5 minutes walk to the beach. The top 2nd floor a beautiful view where breakfast is served. I will recommend the hotel to people are traveling solo (like me), people with family and couples. Thank you

Room Tip: My room was facing the street but honestly did not hear any noise. I've been traveling around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

My friends and I stayed her for 3 nights on our recent trip to Costa Rica and we would definitely stay here again. The staff was extremely helpful, kind, and polite. They answered any questions we had and if they didn't know the answer right away they would find out and get back to us. The rooms were nice for the price of the hotel. There were ants in the bathroom but it is Costa Rica after all. The rooms were big and everything you would need for your stay was already provided (plates, pots, pans, etc). They had just started serving a free breakfast when we were there. You had a choice between the typical Costa Rican breakfast (rice, beans, tortillas, eggs, fresh fruit) or american (toast,eggs,fruit). Both were good. It was a short walk to the beach and nightlife which was perfect for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mander426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

We have been in Costa Rica for 7 months and have stayed at this hotel 3 times. We found it by accident and continue to come back whenever we visit Tamarindo. For the money it is worth it, especially if you spend most of your day at the beach or on tours. The room is always clean and the pool is well kept. Location is quiet and within walking distance to shops and restraunts.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnjwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.3 mi away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flores

Property: Hotel Flores
Address: Frente Hotel Pasatiempo | Calle Guanacaste, Tamarindo 5000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Flores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Flores is a small and cozy hotel with different accommodation options. We offer rooms, studios and apartments, for all your needs. Only 8 units surrounded by tropical landscaped grounds and a beautiful pool with waterfall provide a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Close to the center of Tamarindo and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing