We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”
Review of Los Altos de Eros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Altos de Eros
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed March 30, 2007

We recently returned from an amazing stay at Los Altos de Eros. While trying to not be redundant and repeat all the wonderful things reported by other guests, we can’t possibly neglect talking about the incredible hospitality and warmth we felt while staying at this very special inn. This was our 2nd trip to Costa Rica (our first being at the Four Seasons Resort) and while the Four Seasons Resort was also a gorgeous property and service was excellent, the service at Los Altos was beyond anything we’ve ever experienced. Calvin, Jacquelyn and the entire staff were so warm and personal, and we felt that each of them genuinely wanted to make this a perfect vacation for us. They succeeded! There was nothing that we wanted that didn’t magically appear or wasn’t simply arranged. We enjoyed the remoteness of Los Altos de Eros (about 20 minutes from the nearest town) and on days we chose to relax and lounge by the pool, we felt we had the place to ourselves (although mysteriously, whenever we needed anything – a drink, a snack, a good book – there was always somebody there to deliver it!). On days we felt more adventurous, our hosts arranged for surfing lessons (we highly recommend this for everyone – the instructor Calvin and Jacquelyn put us in touch with is excellent and will have you up and surfing in no time!), canopy tour, dinner in Tamardino, or whatever else we wanted. They even did our laundry for us! One our favourite things about Los Altos de Eros was that we felt free to really make the place our home during our stay. My husband is a very early riser and loves his fresh cup of coffee right away. When Calvin heard this, he showed him around the kitchen, made sure the coffee machines were loaded and ready to go the night before, and encouraged him to feel free to hit the button and enjoy his coffee whenever he wanted. The entire property is gorgeous and very well maintained – it was a real treat to be up first and enjoy the peace and tranquility from the beautiful yoga ashram or spa. We did want to make a notable mention of one real character. Although he doesn’t make it to any of the pictures, ‘Oso’, one of two resident dogs, really added fun to our vacation. We fell in love with him and his antics and were so thrilled when Jacquelyn allowed us to take him with us on a hike around the property. (we saw lots of birds and howler monkeys on our walk!!). These are just a few of the many special touches everyone at Los Altos will indulge you. We highly recommend this to anyone looking for a perfect getaway – in addition to all we’ve said, the food was excellent, the rooms beautiful, the property impeccably clean, and the experience an all around good value for the money.

  • Liked — Personal service.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank K&D/Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    29
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
524
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2007

So who says you can have too much of a good thing?
This was our 2nd trip back to Los Altos De Eros, the first time was for our honeymoon. My family warned me "it won't be the same, try somewhere new", but in all fairness they had no idea just how wonderful our trip had been first time around. How could they? You really cannot explain to people just how amazing the 'Los Altos Experience' is!

Granted, first time around, we were a lucky couple that managed to stay at Los Altos by ourselves, we thought this could not be beaten. My husband and I thought we would not like to share this place with other people, we had been spoilt...perish the thought!

Well how wrong you can be...we had a truly amazing fortnight in February. This time, and we were glad for Jacqueline and Calvin, they were fully booked. The guests (now friends) were great, like-minded people, there because they want to be pampered...and there's no better place for it then Los Altos.

This is my 2nd review, although my original one has gone, I'm finding it difficult to really explain just how magical Los Altos is and I remember struggling first time around.
All I can say is, check out the rest of the reviews....need I say any more!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tayl0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2007

Los Altos was our first stop on a two week trip through Costa Rica last summer. After four incredible days, we booked our last two night there as well so that we could end our trip on a high. Everything about the resort is perfect. Owners Calvin and Jackie, manager Ariadna and their staff are exceptionally hospitable and gracious, and create a mood of relaxation and intimacy so that all the guests feel at home. The setting is spectacular and the decor is impeccable - elegant and artistic without being ostentatious. We particularly enjoyed the indoor-outdoor shower and excellent bath products. The food is outstanding - delicious and plentiful, but at the same time healthy and light. Meals are satisfying without being too heavy and filling and there is always something sweet at the end. Unlimited coffee, tea, juices and chilled white wine all day, as well as snacks...just ask. The spa is luxurious with a stunning view from the hot tob, excellent therapists and treatments. Finally, our favourite part...a beautiful yoga ashram where we enjoyed early morning classes with a great teacher and also practiced on our own, meditated and even spotted monkeys in the trees. If you want to get your heart rate up, join Jackie for her morning 5 K walk or use a cardio machine in the small outdoor gym. We would be remiss if we failed to mention the complimentary transport to and from the airport and any destination or attraction that you may want to see. Jackie and Calvin will book your surf lesson, sunset catamaran cruise, canopy tour and a variety of restaurants in town for dinner, and ensure that you are chaufeurred back and forth. They even helped us plan the rest of our tour around Costa Rica! Considering that everything about this place is 5+++++ stars, the rates are an incredible value. We know that we will be back again soon.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Lor&Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

We just left a little piece of heaven on earth! From the moment we arrived at Los Altos De Eros we were treated like royalty. We were picked up at Liberia airport at 9:00pm and hadn't eaten a meal since breakfast at 9:00am, so our complimentary hotel driver offered us cold beverages for the ride and called the hotel to ensure we would have a beautiful fruit plate and delicious nachos with 3 dips waiting on our patio when we arrived. The entire hotel staff was so friendly and courteous, they make you feel like you're part of a family. We stayed in 2 different rooms during our stay and both were outstanding. Spacious, comfortable, a/c, fridge, safe and fresh flowers on the bed every night. Everything you could possibly need/imagine and more. Breathtaking views and fresh flowers throughout the hotel. The hotel itself is secluded in the mountains outside Tamarindo, but we took several wonderful day trips which the hotel suggested and ensured we were escorted by the very best tour guides (we believe the hotel only uses 2 or 3 guides, the very best, and we highly recommend Jaime). We also visited Tamarindo and local beaches, and the hotel provides complimenatry transportation to suit your specific needs. All of the meals we enjoyed at the hotel and on our day trips were incredible. A sample breakfast at the hotel...fresh coffee, fruit juice, scrambled eggs, beans & rice, fried plantaines, chocolate croissants, fresh fruit plate, cereal, bread/toast with jams & marmalade, etc... From the moment you wake up, the hotel staff is at your side ensuring you are comfortable and have everything you need. A variety of complimentary drinks (beer, soft drinks, wine and smoothies)are served all day. The smoothies are fantastic, made with fresh fruit and absolutely delicious! Our stay at Los Altos De Eros was just incredible and we could not ask for more. If you want all the luxury, comfort in the world plus spectacular views, you need to visit Los Altos De Eros. We loved it, highly recommend it and can't wait to return to a little piece of heaven on earth!
Stephanie & Larry
Montreal, Canada

  • Liked — Quality and service
  • Disliked — Creepy critters
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
24 Thank L&SMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2007

Los Altos de Eros was definitely all my new husband and I were expecting for a honeymoon and so much more!

We stayed here for 5 days and were able to experience all that the Tamarindo area has to offer, thanks to our wonderful hosts, Calvin and Jacqueline. They - along with their wonderful staff (Ari, Victoria, Janine, Javier, Francisco, etc.) - arranged all of our activities, from surfing to exploring the little town to going on an excursion, full of adventures, to Rincon de la Vieja. They accommodated all requests and were full of very helpful tips and recommendations. The rooms were simple, but very clean and daily fresh flowers on the bed made us really pampered.

We are not relaxing kind of people, so we wanted our honeymoon to have a lot of different experiences and that is exactly what we got. The first day we booked the sunset massage for two, followed by the romantic dinner at the spa and we had the most marvelous, decadent time of our lives! The massages were so good that my husband booked another one for the day before leaving. The food was fresh and cooked perfectly to our specifications. It was the definition of romance!

The next few days we experienced as much as we possibly could of what Costa Rica is famous for: surfing, horseback riding, canopy tours and of course, laying on the beautiful beaches. We definitely recommend a day trip to Playa Avellanas, it is breathtaking. We shopped for wood artifacts, shell necklaces and the wonderful 'salsa Lizano' in the small Tamarindo town (The hotel gave us this sause at breakfast and my husband is now addicted!)

I was a little disappointed that the climate was very windy and dry, so we didn't get to see all the greenery, though we did see monkeys, frogs and iguanas galore. We even saw a scorpion in the bathroom... well, my husband did, I just saw the picture he took before killing it. Now I know that the time to see greenery is July/August.

My only complaint was that the shower does not have a complete ceiling and though bathing under the starts sounds wonderful and romantic I discovered that with the strong wind blowing I found it very stressful and uncomfortable. To be fair, I should say that my husband completely loved the shower, so it is just a personal preference.

We wouldn’t change a thing about Los Altos de Eros, the location is just amazing, the service is superb and we had the perfect honeymoon.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
23 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2007

It is hard to know what to say that has not already been said about this beautiful little Inn. I agree that the accommodations are lovely and lovingly cared for, the spa is decadent and affordable, the food delicious and the staff and owners warm and caring. I completely disagree with some of the recent posts that imply that the service is less than perfect or the room costs not worth the money. The service is on par with any 5 star resort – but better, because it is personalized. Here, if you love tuna it magically appears for dinner. If you enjoy a Cuban cigar after your meal, they are sitting and waiting for you on the coffee table. Your laundry is whisked away and placed back in your room before you return from the beach, washed and folded. Understand that these things do not appear on your bill – they are part of the incredible attention to detail you find at this Inn all dedicated to making you happy. Where else will someone knock on the door of your room and invite you to come look at the monkeys that were spotted in the trees? I loved this place and thought it was as close to perfect as it can get. I will make some recommendations for travelers that follow us. First, I would recommend the king room. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to one and I believe it added to the experience. It is a little bigger (the rooms are small), has a few more windows, and a semi-private deck that I enjoyed early in the mornings. I suggest that you do the sunset massage and the romantic dinner. It was VERY romantic and truly special. The day trip to Palo Verde is quintessential Costa Rica if you are looking to see wildlife. Take your coffee early in the morning to the yoga ashram and sit quietly and watch the birds. Pure bliss.

  • Liked — the outdoor shower and the flowers on the bed every day
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
21 Thank Traveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2007

We came to Los Altos de Eros for a vacation and left with so much more. The owners and staff were wonderful. The people of Costa Rica are some of the friendliest we have ever found, and the property is very relaxing... visually stunning, very clean, and quite comfortable. Jacqueline and Calvin are excellent hosts and their staff very attentive to your needs. Some of the comments on this site might lead one to wonder, but I am convinced that, in life, what you give to others all comes back to you. In other words, if you come with a bad attitude and treat others unkindly, that is the experience you will have. Come with a friendly demeanor, open to new friends and experiences and I do not know how one could not be content at this hilltop paradise.
I, personally, did not feel a lack of privacy. If we desired privacy, there were plenty of opportunities to find it. The other guests could not have been better if I chose them myself, I actually thought Calvin was in the match-friends dot com business. Paul and Andrea; Henrik and Lara; Doug and Abbey, and Anna and Dmetri made our vacation even better than we had hoped; and we feel like we left the property with new friends. Actually, by the time we left we felt like old friends.
If you like the big resort feel, this is not the place for you. It is a small, beautifully designed hotel for twelve guests. The price includes transportation, breakfast, lunch, drinks, daily laundry (we brought too many clothes), beautiful sunsets, great people, and wonderful memories. Calvin, Jacqueline, Javier, Francisco, Wilfredo, Arianna, Hannia, Laio, Jennina (sorry for my spelling) and all the staff at LAdE... we cannot say enough for all you did for us this trip. Thank you amigos.
We have already rebooked for next year. Tripadvisor reviews have rightfully made this property in demand.

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
24 Thank Tim-Sue81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
6.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
6.1 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,208 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,442 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
124 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Altos de Eros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Altos de Eros

Property: Los Altos de Eros
Address: Spa de Eros, Canafistula, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tamarindo
#4 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Altos de Eros 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5-Star Costa Rica boutique hotel & spa resting on a 27 acre estate atop a small mountain with stunning views to the Pacific Ocean. Within a 15 minute drive, (which we provide to you as a courtesy) you can surf, swim at two beaches, shop, take a canopy tour, go sport fishing, ride horses or ATV's, play golf, visit nearby towns, nightlife, restaurants. Day trips are available for whitewater tubing, rappelling down waterfalls, hot volcanic mud baths, and river experiences with crocodiles and with white faced monkeys in your boat! Rates Include: - Transportation to towns, beaches, shopping and all area attractions. - Full breakfast and delicious lunch every day. - Wash, dry, fold, iron laundry service. - Free Cuban cigars. - Exercise center, WiFi. - Concierge level service- 3 to 1 staff to guest ratio. - Coco the Chocolate Lab. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Los Altos de Eros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos De Eros Hotel Tamarindo
Los Altos De Eros Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing