We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spa experience of my life”
Review of Los Altos de Eros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Altos de Eros
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best spa experience of my life”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had the pleasure of taking my mom to the Spa at Los Altos de Eros...the height of love. The location is amazing...set on a hill overlooking mountains and the Pacific Ocean. From the moment you are greeted at the hotel door and escorted to your open-air private relaxation area, you know it is a truly a special place.

I found the rates to be a good value for all of the attention to detail and the extravagance of the package. They have a menu of spa treatments and you can pick 3 of them for this package. It even includes a delicious lunch with fresh off the boat seafood and wine!

I chose the 1.5 hour massage, the volcanic mud wrap and the Indonesian floral soaking tub. All in a private open air setting with views of the sea. The breezes were soft, the music was perfect and my massage therapist had "manos de oro"...

I highly recommend this hotel for a private getaway (they have many famous guests and always respect their privacy). And if you don't stay there, and there is availability, ABSOLUTELY spend a day at the spa. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I did not stay at the hotel yet, but had a tour. All the rooms look awesome. Of course, I would go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katsjourney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    29
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
524
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just got back from our third trip to Los Altos de Eros, and it was just as good as the first time we went 5 years ago.

From the moment we were picked up at the airport to the moment we were dropped back off 4 days later, everything was great (and taken care of for us!). The atmosphere, food, accommodations, spa, etc etc etc is all as good as every other review says. Since we'd been before, we didn't feel the need to do any excursions or have any dinners in town. The food is just as good, if not better, than anywhere in town, so why bother? We did to go Avellanas beach one day and had lunch at Lola's right on the beach. Highly recommend this for an afternoon, as it's a great beach and the food at Lola's is top notch.

We took advantage of the wonderful Spa de Eros a couple times, once getting massages, and another time doing the sunset massage and dinner, which is a really nice experience.

One awesome perk is that they will do your laundry for you, so pack light! It's very casual, so you don't need to bring much to begin with.

Finally, a word about the staff. They are really great. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is great, and it was nice to see so many familiar faces when we returned. There's something like 26 staff members (between drivers, grounds, chef, hotel staff, spa) to just 12 guests at most. It makes a difference, and you can tell how much everyone enjoys working there.

Los Altos de Eros is great, and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShniGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The outstanding service, attentive staff, and onsite amenities of this property far exceeded our expectations. Perched on the hillside and overlooking the ocean, the location could not have been more beautiful.

The open-air dining was the perfect place to catch a breeze and savor fresh, creative, and delicious meals. They were even able to cater to my food allergies. The meals were truly incredible! The community table concept was great as it allowed us to meet other travelers and create friendship through conversation. We had a few nights where dinner conversation bled into late night laughs over wine ☺

The rooms were a bit small, but we spent most of our time around the pool or exploring the grounds so it wasn’t an issue. The evening turn down service was a treat – it’s nice to come back to an AC cooled room before bed.

Between the sun loungers and the pool floats we spent a lot of time by or in the infinity pool. It was the perfect size and conveniently a few steps outside our room. With the resort being so small and intimate, many afternoons we had the pool to ourselves.

If you are into exploring, I recommend you walk the trails nearby as birds and butterflies abound. Depending on the time of day, you may even be serenaded by the Howler Monkeys. On a few occasions we were able to spot Howler Monkeys playing and sun bathing in the trees surrounding the Yoga studio onsite.

The most relaxing and romantic part of our experience was the sunset massage and dinner. Make sure you book this! Not only did we have the entire spa to ourselves, but we were entertained by a colorful thunderstorm that rolled through that evening. Tranquility.

If you want to explore town or catch some waves, it is only a 15-20 minute ride into the center of Tamarindo. It’s definitely worth the journey to stay at this secluded gem. Besides, once you are here you won't want to leave.

We can’t wait to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clgallo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but my friend and our daughters visited the spa for massages. The massages were wonderful however the staff was extremely unwelcoming. After the massages they practically kicked us out. We wanted to sit at the pool afterwards for a drink and appetizers and they told us we had to leave. The bar and pool area were only for hotel guests. After our massages the spa was closed for a private party. It was a very expensive massage considering you could not even get a glass of water or use any other amenities.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Starkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana C, Gerente at Los Altos de Eros, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We operate a high end-high class property. When we have space available in our Spa, we allow outside guests from other hotels to enjoy our services .We are pleased that you indicated the massage was an excellent experience.

Everyone who comes to our property wants to stay longer...they just don't ever want to leave! A massage in our spa for an outside guest does not include their being able to enjoy the rights and privileges afforded our hotel guests staying at Los Altos de Eros Boutique Hotel and Spa. We place an extremely high value on our hotel guests and the service and privacy we provide them.

For you to become irate because we would not allow your group to lounge by the pool and order drinks and more food- and impose on our hotel guests- reflects more on you than it does us. We suspect part of your anger stemmed from the fact that we would not let you take the sarongs home that we allowed you to use in the spa during your visit. In fact, we were rather shocked that it was necessary for us to ask you to please take them off when you attempted to leave the property with them.

Los Altos de Eros means 'The Heights of Love". If our guests cannot arrive with a 'smile on their lips and a song in their heart' we would prefer that they take their business elsewhere.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Los Altos de Eros...simply amazing... From the delicious meals (loved lunch & dinner) to the relaxing spa treatments this boutique resort is definitely worth visiting. Once my wife and I were at the resort we did not have any desire to leave. The service was fantastic and everyone was very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed doing yoga in the morning with the private instructor. My wife loves doing yoga but for the record it was my first experience and I really enjoyed it. By the end of our stay, I felt both relaxed and rejuvenated. Personally I'm not big on vacations but when we left I was already planning our next trip back. To the folks at Los Altos de Eros - THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: We had a king next to the pool and it was nice but I would probably recommend the secluded room off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This resort was by far the best that I have been to! Staff was friendly, the food was amazing and fresh, and the experience, well... truely exceptional!

Downside if you are a beach lover, not on the beach, but the pool makes up for it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMikolajewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Los Altos de Eros means the height of love – and that’s just what this place is. Every detail is thoughtfully planned and executed, from the rooms to the exquisite spa and delightful meals - and most especially, the amazing staff.

Los Altos de Eros is a small boutique hotel set on 27 acres high amongst the mountains of northwestern Costa Rica. The secluded romantic retreat is far removed from anything to spoil the perfection of the place or experience, yet only a 20 minute drive outside the popular town of Tamarindo.

Upon arriving, the entry lobby and common area living/dining rooms feel more as if you’ve just stepped into someone’s luxurious private home. The staff is warm and welcoming, and lead you to one of four poolside rooms, a detached suite with private terrace, or the upstairs Eros Suite. Each room is beautifully decorated with signs of Eros all about, from sculptures to other art forms. Each room is meant for romance, from the large two-person tubs to private terraces. It’s no surprise that this is a very popular place for honeymoons and small weddings.

The on-site spa is open air and very Balinese in nature; should you need to relax even more, this is the place to do it. Treatments from massages and body scrubs to facials and soaking tubs soothe away any stress easily, and the therapists are excellent and gentle.

The meals are a big draw here; Chef Andrea delights in creating fresh, local and very inventive dishes, and guests can also take her very popular cooking classes during their stay.

Other onsite activities include yoga with certified instructor Nicole Loria; hiking around the area; swimming or lounging at the gorgeous infinity pool; or going into Tamarindo for shopping, restaurants or the local beaches. Los Altos de Eros can also arrange a number of eco, adventure and culture tours in the area.

Insider Tips: This property receives high ratings and is very popular, so booking well in advance is advised. And they have a heck of a guarantee policy: If in the first 24 hours of your stay you don't think Los Altos has over-delivered on what you expected, they will happily refund your room charge and help you find another location at which to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NamasteFromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
6.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
6.1 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,208 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,440 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
124 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Altos de Eros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Altos de Eros

Property: Los Altos de Eros
Address: Spa de Eros, Canafistula, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#4 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Altos de Eros 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5-Star Costa Rica boutique hotel & spa resting on a 27 acre estate atop a small mountain with stunning views to the Pacific Ocean. Within a 15 minute drive, (which we provide to you as a courtesy) you can surf, swim at two beaches, shop, take a canopy tour, go sport fishing, ride horses or ATV's, play golf, visit nearby towns, nightlife, restaurants. Day trips are available for whitewater tubing, rappelling down waterfalls, hot volcanic mud baths, and river experiences with crocodiles and with white faced monkeys in your boat! Rates Include: - Transportation to towns, beaches, shopping and all area attractions. - Full breakfast and delicious lunch every day. - Wash, dry, fold, iron laundry service. - Free Cuban cigars. - Exercise center, WiFi. - Concierge level service- 3 to 1 staff to guest ratio. - Coco the Chocolate Lab. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Los Altos de Eros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos De Eros Hotel Tamarindo
Los Altos De Eros Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing