We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!!”
Review of Los Altos de Eros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Altos de Eros
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Super location, fabulous staff and unbelievable food. Chef Andrea is a rockstar. The spa is spectacular, words can't describe how nice the setting and the treatments are.

Drivers are waiting to take you into town, free laundry service each day. The owners are so down to earth and attentive to making sure the staff is taken care of to be sure they put 110% into making the guests get everything they want or need.
Free Cuban cigars nightly? How great is that!

5 stars at least!!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 740 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I booked a queen room for 8 nights. We ended up staying 3 nights in the queen room then got upgraded to the king room for 2 nights which was awesome. We were then asked if we wanted to spend the last 3 nights of our stay in the suite and we couldn't pass it up. Thanks for all the upgrades LADE! Our flight was a bit early arriving to Liberia, but our driver Francisco was already there waiting for us. The entire staff at LADE was wonderful. Francisco, Ari, Tatiana, Rosemary, Chef Andrea, Leo, just to name a few were all friendly and helpful. Chef Andrea is an amazing cook all her meals were some of the best food we have ever had. We stayed full all day and looked forward to all our meals because we knew they were going to be delicious. As for the activities I had booked a zip lining trip with Pura Adventura before coming to LADE (if you book with Pura Adventura online you get a free DVD $20 value). We also did the sunset catamaran trip with Sailing Hibiscus which was excellent. We headed into town to Tamarindo and also spent some time at the beach of Playa Avellanas. If you go to Playa Avellanas be sure to stop by Lola’s for a snack and drinks. We had a small appetizer because we wanted to be back in time for Chef Andrea’s lunch. The spa was amazing! I had the banana oatmeal & honey facial and my husband had the hand/foot therapy treatment and we both enjoyed the signature massage. How can you pass it up with prices being 50%?? Don’t forget the 5K walk. We did this once and saw some cool birds and monkeys. Be sure to take Coco along on the walk. The LADE staff goes above and beyond, for example one evening I was feeling sick and didn’t want dinner, so they offered to make chicken noodle soup which was spot on and I was feeling great the next day. One day I asked if they had floaties for the pool like an air mattress. They said they had in the past but they were lost or blew away. I just said okay and went on with my business. The next day here comes the staff with 2 air mattresses! They had gone into town just to purchase them. What great service and everyone at the resort got great use out of them. We met Jacqueline and spoke with her several times and she is the nicest person. I knew ahead of time that Jacqueline and Calvin enjoy giving back to the local community and villages, so I brought several pairs of brand new Old Navy flip flops that they could disperse to whoever need a new pair. We can’t wait to visit LADE in the future we will definitely be back. I could sit here and type all day about how amazing LADE is, but you must go visit and see how wonderful it is for yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

There really is no comparison to this place. Incredible view of the jungle, ocean, gourmet dining, and the most accomodating staff you could imagine. It's been noted before how the staff to guest ratio was so great...usually 2/1 or 3/1 depending on how many rooms are occupied...that's what really sets this place apart. They're able to drive you anywhere you need at any time, they picked us up and droped us off at the Liberia airport, and we had the drivers take us to Tamarindo 3 nights for dinner, and down to Avellanas beach on two different occations...they were always happy to make the trips...it never seemed like a hassle for them. The staff will do laundry for you EVERYDAY for free, which is a great touch especially if you are staying at LADE at the tail end of the your trip. We came home from a 10 day vacation with ALL CLEAN CLOTHES! When you stay here you really feel like family...probably because so much of the staff are family! Two married couples work together here, a mother and son, and many of the staff live on the grounds or very near by the property...they really make you feel at home. You can stay at a Marriott or Hilton back home...this is the way Costa Rica was meant to be experienced!

Room Tip: We stayed in the detached king room and loved it. You have your own TV on a little porch with a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarmat1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in the detached king suite during the last week of June. We had an absolutely wonderful stay, and we will be recommending LADE to our friends and family.

There's little to be said that hasn't been said already, but what really stood out for us was the level of service provided to us by the staff members of the hotel. From being picked up at the airport to scheduling our excursions (horseback riding, zip lining, estuary tour), to simply being driven into town for a day trip, the staff at LADE planned and executed every last detail of our stay to perfection. We arrived in Costa Rica without any plans, and they helped to make our four-day stay full of activities, both adventurous and leisurely.

We also recommend the cooking class on Tuesday evenings. Speaking of the cooking, Chef Andrea's food was amazing. We initially planned to go into Tamarindo for a few dinners (breakfast and lunch are provided by the hotel), but after taking one bite of lunch on the first day, we decided to stay at the hotel for every dinner, and we were not disappointed. We also chose to do the Sunset Massage and Romantic Dinner. The one hour massage was wonderful, and we'd highly recommend it.

Thank you, LADE, for making our stay perfect. My mother is a travel agent and I have recommended that she refer her clients to you if they are looking for a romantic, luxurious, and stress-free getaway in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We stayed in the detached king suite, which was quieter and larger than the most of the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I enjoyed the spa LADE greatly. Jessica was great and the entire staff was welcoming. The cucumber/lime facial, mud wrap and massage were all amazing! They offer plenty of time to relax and enjoy the hot tub and the food was fabulous as well. A must do!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llp711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review more than six months after our stay last year. Not sure what took so long but my wife and I regularly enjoy remembering the great aspects of our time at LADE. This trip was designed to be the start of our 35th Anniversary celebration and it could not have been more perfect. The Sunset Dinner and Spa Experience for 2 made this 35th year like a honeymoon again. Cooking school was made more awesome as one of the other guests brought the fish from their fishing trip that day! The younger couples on actual honeymoon brought a romantic tone to the table at each meal. The wildlife on the estuary tour was over the top! Go....enjoy...relax...refresh!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I wanted to celebrate his MBA graduation with a vacation. We finally narrowed our options and focused on Costa Rica. I found Los Altos on Trip Advisor, and by crazy chance one of my coworker's friends lived in Tamarindo and had visited LADE. She gave it a 5-star review, as well. So we booked it and hoped for the best.
We stayed 6 days at the end of May, and every day was unbelievable! The resort was so amazing - the staff was friendly and so accommodating, the owners were down to earth, the food was out of this world, the spa was paradise, and the other guests were nice company. And we really loved that we could build a day of adventure OR relaxation - there are so many options!
While there we enjoyed a few massages in the spa, ziplining, a sunset catamaran tour, an estuary tour, yoga, and trips to two of the local beaches. Anything we wanted to do was always easy to arrange - all you had to do was tell the staff, and they worked out all of the logistics! It was so nice to have all transportation provided. We also just loved laying by the pool. Even the views from the pool were awesome. We also took advantage of their laundry service almost every day!
When we initially booked our stay, I was concerned about the rain because we were visiting during the start of "wet season." It did rain every day, but only for about an hour each afternoon/early evening and very light rain. Since most of our adventures were in the morning, it didn't effect our day. Instead, it was nice to get back to the resort and enjoy the rain and the cool breeze that usually accompanied it. It was like a built-in break during our day.
All of the other guests were really nice and welcoming, as well. Most of them were other couples, some even honeymooners. And we had things in common which made for good conversation. That was really nice, since all meals are community dining (unless you choose to do the couples massage with dinner in the spa or go to town for dinner) and it's a small resort.
If you are looking for a more personal experience at a luxury resort in paradise, book now! We are already looking for an excuse to go back. Maybe even rent out the whole thing with other couples we know.
Since we've returned many people have asked us about our trip, and my first comment is, "Paradise....just absolutely wonderful. We had the best time." So go, leave the real world behind and experience your best vacay today!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
5.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
6.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
5.7 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique
5.9 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,573 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#8 of 24 in Tamarindo
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Altos de Eros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Altos de Eros

Address: Spa de Eros, Canafistula, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $363 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Altos de Eros 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5-Star Costa Rica boutique hotel & spa resting on a 27 acre estate atop a small mountain with stunning views to the Pacific Ocean. Within a 15 minute drive, (which we provide to you as a courtesy) you can surf, swim at two beaches, shop, take a canopy tour, go sport fishing, ride horses or ATV's, play golf, visit nearby towns, nightlife, restaurants. Day trips are available for whitewater tubing, rappelling down waterfalls, hot volcanic mud baths, and river experiences with crocodiles and with white faced monkeys in your boat! Rates Include: - Transportation to towns, beaches, shopping and all area attractions. - Full breakfast and delicious lunch every day. - Wash, dry, fold, iron laundry service. - Free Cuban cigars. - Exercise center, WiFi. - Concierge level service- 3 to 1 staff to guest ratio. - Coco the Chocolate Lab. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Los Altos de Eros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos De Eros Hotel Tamarindo
Los Altos De Eros Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing