We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Llena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luna Llena
Ranked #14 of 48 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a cute place from the outside, nice looking pool and bar area and is within walking distance to town and the beach. Nice tile shower.
I didn't stay in one of the bungalows so I can only fairly review the standard room which was a small, run down room that smelled musty. I would not recommend staying in one of these rooms. They seem old and dingy, just overall yucky. It has a bed, an older model tv,A/C and not much more. Staff did their job but didn't seem especially helpful or even friendly.
They advertise a "breakfast buffet" which was not even close to a buffet but a small complementary basket of toast and jelly, juice and coffee or a small plate of rice, beans and scrambled eggs. I had to laugh at this. At least it is served complementary and in a cute little outdoor bistro type "restaurant". I never did find any food served at any other time of day or any real restaurant so if it is there, I never saw it! Internet didn't work for a full day. No refrigeration or even ice available for the room.
Overall, cute and convenient but I cannot recommend staying overnight here.

Room Tip: Standard room not recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kcctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    57
    15
    14
    7
See reviews for
65
64
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

First off the positives:
-it was walking distance to everything so that was great
-the bed was comfortable
-nice pool
-breakfast was good (kinda small though)
-super friendly staff

Negatives:
-charged more than advertised
-tons of ants/millipedes/stinkbugs/other creatures in the room
-internet did not work in the room
-didn't have our room ready as they were not expecting us

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is a nice little spot just off the beaten path in Tamarindo, but walking distance to everything. We stayed in a bungalow unit which was clean and spacious, staff was friendly and helpful, and price is very reasonable. I enjoyed the atmosphere with plenty of happy cats and dogs milling about, and the building structures allowing for some free flowing air (and the odd gecko) in from the outside.
My only discomfort is that the mattresses are foam, which we are not used to and thus proved for a bit of a restless sleep. We stayed mid week just before the busy season so not sure if the noise level of the gravel road becomes an issue during busy season or on weekends as you do clearly hear each passing vehicle that goes by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed in 2 upstairs room. We loved the decor. The rooms are individually designed, both had big bathrooms and nice balconies. There were some ants around and the first room did have some funny odor in the bathroom. But nothing that bothered us too much.
It was still low season so for the most part there were only very few guests, weekends got busier.
We didn't mind the short walk to the beach and enjoyed the surfing and great food choices around town. Overall, it's a small but busy beach town with things to keep you entertained if you want.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will come back. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhyWeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamarindo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

peacefull and paradise place near the ocean
best italian restaurant in town
very friendly family
near surf spot
Simona,Pino;martina & Sara...the best!!!!.....................................................
.....................................................................................................................

Room Tip: bungalow is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waltertamarindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in a bungalow for a month and it was complete with everything from kitchen supplies to AC to TV. We had a wonderful stay! My daughter loved the beautiful colors in the room. The hotel was always clean and the friendly and very helpful staff went out of their way to meet any needs we had. It is just a short walk from everthing in town and to the beach. It was nice and quiet. Breakfast was delicious and the kitchen staff remembered what we liked. Although it's close to the beach, it was nice to have the pool too. The wifi came in handy. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again if I find myself again in Tamarindo.

Room Tip: Bungalows are good for families as the kids have their own room. Bungalows are equipped with a kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los ángeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I can't stop but saying good things about this property. It's a little gem in Tamarindo beach, the location is perfect, it's close to the beach to the market and the main strip but it's also nice and quiet and away from all the main strip noise. The staff was excellent, my room was gorgeous with A/C (you will need it), cable TV, Wi-Fi, a beautiful bed and bathroom. I spent Easter Sunday in the pool drinking great tropical drinks made from fresh fruit. I also used the restaurant quite a bit and the Italian food was great (coming from an Italian it means a lot). I felt safe (they have night security staff) and all my needs were met (I'd like to mention that I work at a Five Stars Five Diamonds hotel and I do know what service means). The hotel owners are an Italian couple very active in the community (they started a foundation to help and protect the howling monkeys as well as creating a children play area) and I can't wait to see again Pino and his wife Simona, Ms. Marianella (she works at the front desk and organized my zip-line canopy tour as well as a beautiful day on the Marlin Del Rey Catamaran) and Tony who runs the bar and the Restaurant.
Thank you guys for the great hospitality, I am already planning my trip back.

Room Tip: Depending on what you need, just send them an e-mail and they will choose what is best for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abulletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
40.0 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
39.8 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
40.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#8 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 stars 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.1 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
39.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
41.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Llena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Llena

Property: Hotel Luna Llena
Address: Calle Real | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Llena 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Luna Llena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Llena Hotel
Luna Llena Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing