We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel with excellent staff”
Review of Hotel Luna Llena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Luna Llena
Ranked #10 of 48 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were with two families, coming from the Netherlands, for 4 nights in Luna Llena at the end of our 3 weeks journey in Costa Rica in the month July 2011. Both families had a nice house in the hotel; nice swimming pool good and nice breakfast; the staff was very helpfull and were allways willing to help giving good and interesting information over the surrounding

Room Tip: all the (approximately) 8 rooms (little houses) are situated around the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l_spoormakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 235 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

I just got back from a three week stay at Hotel Luna LLena. Since I am a 49 year old "student," I opted to stay in a hotel while I attended classes at Coastal Spanish Institute instead of staying in the school's apartments or with a local family. I am so happy with my choice. The hotel is right down the street from the school, the grounds are idyllic and (usually) tranquil, and the staff is very hardworking. I said usually because one weekend I was there, a group of 20somethings came and partied all night long. Also, if you understand that you are in Costa Rica and not in the U.S., you will be more apt to forgive certain things. For instance, the wildlife will wake you up on occasion. Howler monkeys are frequent visitors - one morning they were literally yards away from my happy camera, dining on the trees the hotel owners plant to attract them. The beautiful red and grey squirrels will run across your red tile roof and make quite a racket. You may wake up to find land crabs at your door or an iguana may flee one of the cats just inches from you. If you're like me, you'll find all of these things exotic and just grab your camera. I found the hotel to be extremely clean. The staff even swept and mopped the cobblestone paths outside daily. I stayed in the Casita, which is a hotel room with a kitchen. It is larger than a regular room, but smaller than the bungalows. It was the perfect size for me, traveling alone. I am deathly afraid of cockroaches, but I can happily report that I never saw a single one while I was in Tamarindo. Spiders, however, are quite common. If you feel about spiders the way I feel about roaches, do what I did - pack a flyswatter! One other thing I should probably mention is that one night there was a torrential storm, and my roof leaked in several places. Thankfully, none of the leaks were above my bed, so it worked out fine. Several other people staying at the hotel said that they had leaks, too. Again, this was only an issue when there was a very, very heavy amount of rain. One last thing, if you're an Internet junkie like me, you'll often be frustrated with the wireless signal. Again, realize that you're practically in the jungle, and that the Internet for the entire country comes from San José. It's not going to be like at home, and unless you're staying,in hotel room 10 (which is where the Internet router is located), you probably won't have a signal in your room/bungalow. About the hot water- first of all, almost no one in Tamarindo has this luxury. The weather is so hot all year round that a cool shower feels awesome. But Hotel Luna Llena does have hot watee. You just neee to wait a few minutes for it to get hot. Also, several other guests reported that the water pressure was horrible in the morning. I never had a problem with water pressure because I always showered at night. Overall, my experience in Tamarindo was amazing and I am very pleased with this hotel. If you're going to be studying at Coastal Spanish Institute or Wayra Spanish School (right across the street from CSI), Hotel Luna Llena is a great choice. Just remember that you're not in the U.S. and that this isn't the Hilton, and you'll be very happy here.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cajungirl1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Luna Llena is a few blocks away from the beach and from the center of Tamarindo.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff was ever friendly. The Italian Restaurant on the premises was fabulous. There's also a sushi bar, but that will have to wait until the next time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scribblegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

As soon as you step onto the property from the dirt road that precedes it, you feel as though you've entered into a private oasis. The yellow cabanas with terracotta roofs surround the crystal blue (and very clean) swimming pool water, and the birds are chirping away...
If you are looking for modern 5star amenities, this may not be for you - but if you are looking to get away from it all in rustic accommodations, with excellent staff then I would highly recommend. The cabanas are small but very quaint and my son loved his own treefort like room upstairs. The breakfast that is included is perfect - fresh fruit, granola, yogurt and toast.
It is a 2 block walk to the beach, and I'm glad we stayed over any other place there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed here for 4 days. We had a bungalow that is very much like the pictures shown on this site. It was lovely. We did not notice more than a few ants, not anything out of the ordinary for a tropical area. The staff were great, the breakfast delicious. The two restaurants on site were wonderful. The italian restaurant was amazing as well as the Sushi bar. The only drawback was the water pressure in the bungalow. The bathrooms in the rooms seemed nicer, but the bungalow was very cost effective for our group of 4. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeilaA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

I stayed at Hotel luna Llena in Tamarindo beach for a few days and it was the perfect spot. I was happy to stay walking distance from the centre and the beach. Lovely, large room with a very big bathroom. Staff is so kind and will help you with anything you need. The place was very colorful too. Nice pool and great Sushi bar for dinner. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I stayed at Luna Llena with a group of friends and would like to thank the staff there for making our stay so comfortable. The room was spacious, clean and I loved the decoration. Simona, the owner, decorated the rooms and bathrooms herself and she is very arty! I liked the fact that the hotel is located in a quiet spot but still walking distance to the beach and centre. We did not have a car so this was great. Furthermore, Simona runs a "save the monkeys" project which is just great. Please buy her "safe the monkeys" merchandise in support of her project! I encourage anybody to stay at Luna Llena because it is just lovely!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachbunny2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Seis Playas Hotel
Seis Playas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Huacas
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#6 of 24 in Tamarindo
575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Llena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Llena

Address: Calle Real | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range: $69 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Llena 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luna Llena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Llena Hotel
Luna Llena Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing