We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speechless!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely the best hotel we've been in costa-rica. Bathsheba and Joe were such a great hostesses. Helped with every little detail, for example, we asked for a restaurant recommendation and before we knew there was a taxi waiting for us outside. We needed to find hotel for our next trip location and immediately got two places they use to go to. Joe printed us a map like he read our minds. Breakfast very good and changes by the day, room was all we needed, huge bed. You can immediately tell it's all new and well tasted design.
Bottom line, Bathsheba and joe cracked the code that takes a good hotel and make it exceptional- Hospitality Hospitality Hospitality!
Just gave us the feeling we are guest in their own home.
Just wish we could stay longer!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeG66, Owner at Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words Tal!
You were both a real pleasure to get to know and we wish you the very best, and much happiness in your future together!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 327 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

Aside from the beautiful grounds, peaceful surroundings, and huge rooms, the service is what sets this place apart. The owners, Joe and Bathsheba, were so awesome. They helped us plan things, gave us advice, she even let us text her and set up a cab service for us one night on my birthday. They truly made us feel like we were valued guests and they get 5 stars all around. I'm so thankful we chose to stay here despite the lack of reviews because the hotel was only newly opened. Thanks for making our stay in Tamarindo a really great one!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room w/o a pool view and it was still great. I could imagine having a view of the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Clean, spacious rooms. Comfortable bed. Great rain shower. Beautiful grounds. Awesome breakfasts. We felt safe and secure here also. Joe and Bathsheba go above and beyond to make sure your stay is everything you want your vacation to be! Will definitely be a return guest.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Honnestly, if you are looking for high end at affordable rates, book this place.
This is a select 6 room, boutique hotel, feels like a private villa, great rooms( but ask for the rooms overlooking the pool), pay the extra charge, definitly worth it. The owners are experts, cubans based there since 12 years, they will make your visit on the peninsula great.
Breakfast are to die for, attention to details, 5 stars in my book!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jean marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The warmth and beauty of this small, boutique hotel is generated by the professionalism and hospitality of its owners... the service, the food, the overall vibe is a 10 out of 10!!! The rooms are oversized, quiet, modern, the breakfasts are not to be missed, the common living/dining area is comfy and hip, ... words really don't do it justice... will definitely return!! Thanks to Bathsheba and Joe for making it all possible..pura vida!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margieb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel and were treated like true guests. The breakfasts were an exemplary display of the culinary arts in a perfect tropical setting. The owners are personable, helpful, and will go far beyond all expectations for helping set up tours, transportation, and more. If we were to return to Tamarindo we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VastDifference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This place is a true gem. A friend and I ended up staying here by chance on our last night in Costa Rica and we loved everything about it.
This hotel is located just a short walk from the beach and the main street of Tamarindo. We had no expectations coming here and were absolutely blown away with wonderful grounds, luxury rooms and beyond phenomenal service.
I have just looked at their website for the first time (as I said, it was by chance that we ended up there) and can confirm that pictures of the property depict 100% of what you get. We stayed at deluxe room and LOVED our outdoor rain shower. Room décor as well as the property grounds are designed with the modern, contemporary but sophisticated outlook.
But what really sets this place apart is their extraordinary service. We met both owners, Bathsheba and Joe, and they were both very personable, made sure that we had everything we needed for our stay and some more…they really make you feel like a family here. Again, I had no idea Bathsheba is a chef until just reviewing their website, but it now totally explains why the breakfast was so delicious. My friend loves pancakes and eats them very often for breakfast and she claims that these fruit filled ( fruit comes from their private garden) were, by far, the best pancakes she ever had.
Just for the comparison, before this hotel we also stayed at 2 other hotels in Tamarindo , one being Tamarindo Diria hotel, and if given the choice again, would prefer staying at TBBH, hands down.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LenaMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#6 of 24 in Tamarindo
565 reviews
5.7 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 24 in Tamarindo
734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: 100 meters south of the Banco Nacional de Costa Rica | west of Hotel Arcoiris, Tamarindo 2034 BXU, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range: $116 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new, contemporary, eco friendly design that combines elegant style with the comfortable feel of your home away from home. We offer a private and secure setting, just minutes away from the beach, dining, shopping and all local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing