We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Tamarindo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We just returned from our third family vacation in Costa Rica, and once again, it was awesome.

The Capitan had been recommended to us by a number of sources, including a local travel agent who said it was her number one choice for all of Costa Rica. It was excellent in every way. The rooms are great - large, airy, and a great view overlooking the lush gardens (and wildlife) around the pool. The property is maybe 50 feet from the high tide line on the beach - you can sit in the open air restaurant and have a beautiful view of the ocean, including the rocky island from which the Capitan derives its name. The hotel is an excellent combination of Swiss efficiency and the great Tica hospitality. There are no TVs in any of the rooms, and only a few rooms are air conditioned. You really do not need AC as there is always a good breeze and the nights are cool. The hotel has two computers for guest use and wireless broadband on the property. The ocean is very gentle near the hotel, very suitable for small children. For surfing you need to walk about a 1/2 mile for the bigger waves.

The restaurant at the hotel is pretty good and reasonably priced. Breakfast is included. However, there are some better restaurants in town for the same price - all in all, unless you are too tired to go anywhere, I would recommend eating in town for dinner. Town, such as it is, is a ten minute walk or a $5 cab ride. I highly recommend the Half Orange (Median Naranja) as one of the best meals I have had anywhere.

There is plenty to do in Tamarindo, and our children were never bored. We swam, surfed, boogie boarded, rode horses, used the pool, met people, lounged, explored the town, and walked the beaches for many miles in both directions.

Two caveats:

1. It is hard to get reservations at the hotel, especially at Christmas and New Years. You should start working on this 6 to 12 months in advance. I made our two room booking via many emails with a helpful employee named Diego over a period of months.

2. The hotel requires full prepayment and not by credit card - you must use check or wire transfer. Due to Costa Ricas very slow banking system, getting your payment verified by the hotel requires time and patience - even a wire transfer directly to the local bank can take a week to verify, and it is not the hotels fault.

There are plenty of ATM machines in Tamarindo, so you should have no problems with money. Most, but not all, places in town accept Visa. There are many good restaurants. There are many surf schools - I can recommend Witches Rock, which is what we used. There are 2 and 1/2 little grocery stores - the 2001 is a good one in town and like most places it takes local and US currency, and has everything you could possibly want. While the resort is very quiet, there is a good night life in town that goes on until about 4am. Your best bet is to fly to the Liberia airport and hire one of the vans to take you to the hotel - they charged us $70 each way for five people, and the trip takes about 75 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank UberXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2008

We stayed for a week (Thanksgiving week) in a bungalow. It was perfect. Everything you've read about this place is true. Right on the beach, which we loved since we're big beach walkers. The staff is a huge plus for this hotel. They obviously treat them well since many employees have worked there for several years. The grounds are beautiful. Restaurant serves a great breakfast and the dinners we had were delicious. We also attended the Beach BBQ on Friday night, which was fun also.

We walked all around Tamarindo and didn't see any place that would come close to this one. If and when we return to Tamarindo, this definitely would be where we would stay.

Only negative is the dusty road in front of the hotel, but that's not their fault. SUPPOSEDLY it will be paved soon. Let's hope so. Although you can walk to town on the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

We had a wonderful time at Captain Suizos. The rooms very comfortable, sparkling clean and steps from the beach. The hotel on a quiet stretch of beach a few minutes walk from town. They currently are raising 2 baby orphan monkeys, Sophie and Alice. It was so much fun to watch them play in the trees with the wild monkeys. We are already planning our return trip for Dec. 2009.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllisonSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

We loved this hotel. The bungalows were very nice, the people were extremely helpful, the food at the restaurant was very good and the hotel grounds were beautiful. The hotel area is like staying in your own private jungle. You will see monkeys, birds, etc. every day.

I don't know what I can add that hasn't been said in past postings. I can say that I would definitely stay in this hotel again when I go back to Tamarindo. I wouldn't want to stay in any other one.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CarrieO22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

We did a lot of homework on our trip on TripAdvisor and settled on the Capitan Suizo because of the good reviews and the fact that it was smaller and less "touristy" then some other places. We could not have been happier with our decision!

The private cabana looking out on the beach was beautiful. The staff was as friendly as they could be. We were there for a week and were sad to leave because we liked our "staff friends" so much. The pool is great and the poolside bar is small but perfect. We usually chose to end our nights there because it was so nice and close to home.

This is the one trip that we could do exactly over again (Groundhog Day style) and have just as much fun. Capitan Suizo had a lot to do with that. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Butterroast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

Stayed at the Capitan Suizo and thoroughly enjoyed the experience...particularly the restaurant, ordered a steak one evening and the chef stopped by to ask how I was enjoying the meal.
I proceeded to tell him that I was a steak eater and this one was the best I ever had! I asked if the beef was Argentinian, and he said it was from their own stock of grass fed beef raised on their land across the road. Great meals, service, and staff! A must if in Tamarindo!

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank degas8571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

My husband and I just returned from 11 days in Costa Rica. We spent 5 nights at Captain Suizo and overall it was a nice experience. The staff was probably one of the nicest we have ever encountered. The front desk was very helpful and spoke excellent English, which was great because our Spanish is very poor. Diego, one of the managers , was especially friendly and helpful.The restaurant staff were also wonderful and again all spoke English very well. We spent 3 nights in an upstairs unit and then 2 nights in a bungalow when one became available. Lack of air conditioning was not a problem as there are two ceiling fans in each room. Be aware that there are no TV's in any rooms. It seemed strange at first,but we got used to it. You also have to get used to all the animals around the place. We had raccoons visit us every night. I agree with another poster that the bathrooms are outdated and could use some remodeling. but we did enjoy the outside shower in the bungalow.The chairs overlooking the ocean are very comfy and great for napping, as are the hammocks.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank egh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 24 in Tamarindo
736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#8 of 24 in Tamarindo
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique

Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Capitan Suizo)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $205 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing