We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great end to our 1st Costa Rica trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Capitan Suizo Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our family (3 older teenagers) just got home from our 1st trip to Costa Rica. After 5 days of adventure in Arenal and Monteverde, we wanted some relaxation on the beach before returning to the USA. Capitan Suizo delivered exactly what we were looking for. The entire staff was extremely nice and always offered a Pura Vida or a buen dia! We had connecting rooms not too far from the lobby with a nice 2nd floor garden view. The rooms are very big and the balcony is very nice in the early morning and evenings. We had dinner at the restaurant our final night and the food was very good. The breakfasts were good but not great. The location is excellent. On a quiet part of the beach with a short walk to the action of Tamarindo. The pool area is nice but the beach area is wonderful. You get to see monkeys and lots of birds while staying here. The sunsets are beautiful while sitting on the beach with a pre-dinner cocktail. I would highly recommend a stay here and look forward to returning next time in CR.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Nova1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our final three nights of our honeymoon and we wished that we had had more time! The staff were wonderful and helpful. The rooms were large, beautiful and very comfortable. The restaurant was delicious for both breakfast and dinner. Watch out for the birds at breakfast! They will steal your food when you're not looking. The hotel is immediately off of the beach on the quiet end of town. Walking along the beach into Tamarindo was always pleasant. We recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a small, off-the-beaten-path retreat!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

4-day stay on Tamarindo Beach was an incredible time due to the accommodations at Hotel Capitan Suizo. We were fortunate enough to book a bungalow and it was incredible. The room was beautiful and had a feel of your own home away from home with private eating area with a view of the beach and wildlife. Food and drinks are top notch and all freshly made. Can't say enough good things about the staff as they were always helpful and ready to make your day with a warm smile and laugh.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks and loved every minute of it! The property is close enough to town to be a comfortable walk but far enough away to feel as if you were isolated. Perfect. The staff was wonderful and the food was outstanding. In fact, I ate nearly every dinner there. I would stay there time and time again. The bungalow I had was immaculate and the outdoor shower under the banana tree was the bomb!!! If you are planning a visit to this part of Costa Rica this is the best place in I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow if you can...so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JeffAtlanta_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We just returned a few weeks ago from Hotel Capitan Suizo celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful time. The accommodations were beautiful. Wild life all around. Our room was smack right on the beach. Everyone was so nice from Max & Juan Carlos, and all the girls in the restaurant. The food was great. Rosa was very knowledgeable about all the side trips that you could take, as well as setting all of our trips up, Rosa also helped us arrange the cab back & forth from the airport. She was a tremendous help. The beach & the ocean was absolutely beautiful. We stayed in it for hours. You can also walk to the town from the beach or take the main road as well. What I really appreciated was that there was no television or clock in our room. You can really disconnect from the outside world and really relax. Perfect location. We had a blast! We will differently be back to Hotel Capitan Suizo.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have AC, so if you are a AC lover, you must ask for a room with AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in bungalow #6. Almost everything was great about our stay and would def recommend it and would stay again if we ever went back to Tamarindo.

Breakfast was amazing. Lots of choices and some options changed each day. Servers would keep your coffee cup full (good coffee!) and offered boxes to take some to go. Juan Carlos was great and said having too much food there was "impossible" :-) Birds would try to steal your food which was amusing to us, but could be annoying to others. Oh and flies were enjoying the fruit so we couldn't, but they fixed the problem the next morning with saran wrap. The onsite manager met us at breakfast which was nice.

Our maid was friendly even though we didn't speak the same language. We arranged an excursion at the hotel which was cheaper than advertised and went off without a hitch! Saw beautiful birds, iguanas and monkeys on site. The beach was calm and relaxing. Max was our amazing server for a candlelight dinner on the beach.

My only complaint is that under the desk and high above in the bathroom were spiders and webs. I suggest they pay closer attention to these areas where spiders may live. I understand we're surrounded by nature there and they'll find their way in, but maybe a few extra swipes with a feather duster in the shadows (especially under the desk where your legs go) would help....Oh also I tried to visit the gift shop 3x during their posted open hours and it was dark and locked. That was frustrating.

Aside from that it was great. Our bed was comfy. The AC was clutch. The whirlpool tub worked great. Napping on the hammock and reading on our porch was lovely. The grounds were beautiful. Early every morning the staff were out sweeping, cleaning the pool, and pointing out animals to us that we would have missed. They did seem to honestly try to be courteous and attentive. My husband was walking to the bar with a bottle of wine hoping they could open it for us, but he didn't even get that far because the first person who saw him coming whipped out an opener from his pocket to assist him. Great service! Super friendly staff! And you can tell they take care of the place.

We appreciated that there was no TV in the room (they even explain why in their room booklet). Who needs TV when you're on vacation with an ocean and a jungle outside!? No problems with the WiFi either.

Thanks for Juan Carlos, Max, Pita, and everyone else who's names we didn't catch. We had a great stay at Capitan Suizo :)

Room Tip: Our bungalow #6 was perfect. You could hear the sound of the waves and was right across from the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Our recent stay at the Hotel Capitan Suizo was very quiet, private and romantic. It is beachfront and the pool is open 24 hours. It is a short walk into the town and is much safer and clean than staying in the town of Tamarindo. You're treated like royalty as soon as you arrive and escorted to your clean and spacious room. The showers are big enough for 2 and candles are provided. No TV. No jacuzzi. Breakfast was served daily and was delicious fresh fruit, plantains, beans, rice and toast. The coffee is bold and delicious and the bar made us fresh, rich, and crisp mango smoothies. We loved this place and highly recommend staying here. It is very clean, private and quiet. Thank you for the excellent service Hotel Capitan Suizo!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Bartosortiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 24 in Tamarindo
749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#8 of 24 in Tamarindo
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitan Suizo Beachfront Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitan Suizo Beachfront Boutique Hotel

Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $249 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capitan Suizo Beachfront Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Capitan Suizo Beachfront Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing