We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our family of seven (parents/daughters and spouses/15 month old granddaughter) spent four nights here in February. We stayed in the four-bedroom suite/apartment, which was very beautiful and spacious. The hotel had a great pac n' play for Emily, which was much appreciated. All bedrooms are individually air-conditioned and well-appointed, and there are two and a half bathrooms. The masterbedroom was very quiet and faced the courtyard. The other bedrooms faced the street and there was some traffic noise. The beds were very comfortable in all the rooms, and there was plenty of storage in the rooms, as well. There is a great family room and a huge verandah, with comfortable seating and a hammock - you can sit and watch the howler monkeys that reside in the tree that is five feet away! The only problem is that there is no air conditioning in the family room area. Normally this is not an issue, but we had an extreme heat wave while we were there, and were also unable to leave the doors wide open because of our toddler. Ursula and her staff were very considerate, however, and immediately brought in a portable air conditioner which helped somewhat. Our apartment was kept spotless by Xenia, who was very attentive to our needs and even helped me with my Spanish.

The staff is a wonderful aspect of this hotel. Everyone is warm and friendly and very helpful. Rosa is a wonderful concierge, and helped us make plans, change plans, and re-make them! Maricela took such good care of us and Baby Emily in the restaurant, and we looked forward to seeing her smiling face every day. The girls and I had awesome massages from Ubania (spelling?)- what a way to wind down after a day on the beach. And someone at the bar makes a fabulous pina colada!

The beach location is perfect. The water is warm, calm and very swimmable. There are great lounge chairs under palm trees. It's a quick (8 minute) beach walk into Tamarindo. I loved being close to the town, but in a quiet, private location. There is great walking in both directions on the beach.

The wildlife is another great draw- we saw more howler monkeys on the hotel grounds than anywhere else we went. We also saw lots of iguanas and birds- Even with all the animals, the grounds are pristine. Someone is always following the iguanas with a scooper!

This was a great place to stay- hope to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMJ3466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    222
    37
    17
    13
See reviews for
347
642
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We couldn't have chosen a better place to escape from the cold and long hours of work. We sat for days in the chairs in front of our bungalow watching the wildlife. Walked the beautiful beach and let the sun nourish our souls. We feel so blessed to have enjoyed their little slice of heaven for 13 days.

Room Tip: We loved bungalow 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pugdogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I, and two dear friends, spent a wonderful two weeks at Capitan Suizo this February. It was our second visit, and it turned out two weeks were better than one! The rooms and the whole place are lovely, just as pictured, with a lovely pool, right on a gorgeous beach that is wonderful to walk and swim (and surf if you are inclined). The staff is warm, helpful, and very friendly - we had hugs all around as we left (and some who immediately remembered us from last year with a hug when we walked in). Playa Tamarindo is a scruffy but interesting surf town with some very good food. The food at Capital Suizo is good but it is nice to get out and walk to other very good places to eat. My only hesitation in recommending this place fully is that I hope it does not become too busy for us to come back - we already have our reservations for two weeks next year, but some of the rooms we wanted were already taken! We did get a very nice room for next year and I'm now counting the months until we return. This is one of our very top places compared to all the places we've been in Costa Rica, Florida, Mexico, and the Caribbean. I place it on the level with the best places in St. Bart's but my wife like Capitan Suizo better - so who's arguing!

Room Tip: We like the upper floor rooms as the decks are more private than the patios. The small houses look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is the 3rd time at Capitan Suizo and we are already booked for December 2014. Capitan Suizo is such an amazing place, you can relax by the pool & watch the howler monkeys as they pass through the canopy of the trees, or walk on the beach or Rosa will book tours for you, no end of choices. There's also a restaurant on the property which is excellent, the entire team at C.S are truly amazing. You won't want to leave! Cheers Les & Heather

Room Tip: We always stay in a Bungalow, very private tucked back in the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Go to Capitan Suizos.It is more than a resort, it is a most lovely respite from urban life, and a time of refreshing on every level. The bungalows are designed with clean and comfortable materials, mango wood furniture, a huge bathroom and an outdoor shower option.The people who work at Capitan Suizo are simply very special .Costa Rica lives its motto of ' Pura Vida' (Pure Life).It radiates in their smiles and gentleness,and in their attentive yet relaxed manner.The open air dining is glorious and delicious.You can watch the ocean, the monkeys, the birds, the sky, the incredible expanse of beach..
Anywhere you want to go, just ask: ziplining, snorkeling, trips to the volcano, the turtles, river rafting or you can get a massage. Do as much or as little as you want.Capitan Suizos is perfect for younger and older families, couples or groups. Guests from many countries are all warmly welcomed. While I felt comfortable here last year,this year it was like staying with friends.The kind who make life sweet and joyful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had been recommended Capitan Suizo by friends who reckoned it was the best small hotel on the beach they had ever stayed at, anywhere. They were absolutely correct...it is! Just far enough away from Tamarindo town to be away from any noise, but close enough to stroll into town (along the beach or down the road) for lunch, dinner or shopping.

It has only 30 rooms and bungalows set in a lush garden inhabited by howler monkeys, iguanas, red squirrels and countless birds. The restaurant and bar are situated alongside the pool. The breakfasts were the best we had anywhere during our 3 weeks in Costa Rica.

The beach along this bit of coastline is really quiet, even around Tamarindo town. Our daily routine was coffee around 6am (provided in the room) and then a walk along the beach before breakfast around 7.30am. No need to reserve sun-loungers anywhere, there are more than enough for all the guests, both around the pool and on the beach. Although the hotel was quite busy while we were there (it was the start of the school holidays in the US) it never had the feel of being crowded anywhere. Never saw more than 5 people in the pool at any one time during our stay.

The hotel is owned and run by a Swiss family who obviously value their employees. The staff, from reception, bar, restaurant, pool, housekeeping etc were the happiest and friendliest people we have ever encountered in a hotel. They clearly enjoy working there and are passionate about the place.

Each room has its own verandah (or balcony if on the first floor) with sun loungers and plenty of natural garden shade. There are also some bungalows which are bigger, but our room was spacious with a large double bed and separate seating area.

Ignore the odd negative comments about the resort being "a bit dated". If you want a fully tiled bathroom with the latest walk-in shower, then find the nearest Radisson hotel!! The bathroom and shower was perfect.

Costa Rica is a long way from the UK and we expected this trip to be a one-off. Having experienced Capitan Suizo we are now rethinking this and look forward to another, possibly longer, stay at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: We paid extra for an air-conditioned room which was worth it if you are not accustomed to the humidi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave-sabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
147 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We're very glad our stay in Tamarindo was at Capitan Suizo - it's away from the chaos of the town but close enough to walk either on the street or beach to enjoy the restaurants and experience the town. The property is beautiful, right on the beach and they've maintained the large trees and it has beautiful landscaping. You feel tucked away in a little paradise. The rooms were very nice. We stayed in both a superior room and a bungalow and were very pleased with both - they are both very large, clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good, as were the lunches and dinners. All of the staff was all very friendly and helpful. And we loved the animals that visited - birds, monkeys and iguanas! Rosita the concierge was very friendly and extremely helpful and helped us work out our schedule to see the turtles laying eggs, sailing and our massage. If you want to do something in the area she'll help you arrange it all. The beach is amazing, very wide and never very crowded - great for walks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebTraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Property: Hotel Capitan Suizo
Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing