We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to end our second holiday in CR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The moment we arrived at Capitan Suizo we could see we were going to have a great time. There was a racoon reclining on the reception floor! Our room was on the same level and close to reception. It was split level, spacious, with a big balcony over the gorgeous gardens. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Having just arrived from a beautiful but uninspiringly run ranch hotel, we were impressed by the attentive and enthusiastic staff, who seemed to work as a good team. Rosa, the excellent concierge arranged us two brilliant excursions to Palo Verde NP and to watch the turtles laying eggs. The position of the hotel at the quiet end of the beach, the dining area, the food, the lovely swimming pool, the troop of howler monkeys, in the garden trees, the cheeky magpie jays, the beach and lively little town all added up to a great stay before heading back to wet and dreary England. This a very well managed and attractive hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,239)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have been to Tamarindo a few times, and have either rented a house (nice) or stayed here (nicer option). The owner is German, and she is wonderful.... the rooms are great, but the Bungalows are fantastic. This is beach living.. hippie style. No frills, but really-stay at the Four Seasons if you want that. This resort is right on the beach, and the staff is fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillyknippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a great visit. The location is fantastic. The rooms are clean, not super fancy but quite nice. The food was good, the staff was lovely. We felt very safe, and well cared for. The location is perfect for those who like to walk, this is one of the longest stretches of beach I have ever stayed on. As we love to walk the beach it was perfect for us. I would suggest walking towards town and then taking the water taxi across the jetty and walking to Playa Grande, we realy enjoyed that and did that multiple days. Fairly quickly you are away from the crowds and have the beach to yourself. I will be back.

Room Tip: I would get on with AC, I am not a person who loves AC (I use it as little as possible), but we used...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We spent several days in Tamarindo and found Hotel Capitan Suizo to be a perfect location. We were at the far end of the beach which was more secluded but only a short walk into town. Also, the hotel is right on the beach which was so convenient to spend time in the ocean and then grab a drink by the pool. The grounds are beautiful and the staff were so friendly. We especially enjoyed the hospitality of the Manager, Vinicio and our waiter, Gustavo. The food was great and the atmosphere always inviting. The accommodations are small but all the outdoor spaces were so amazing that we never missed our room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFARES2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014


Last June I stayed for the first time at Capitan Suizo and was enthusiastic
about almost everything. This year I came again for a longer period and my original impression was more than confirmed. In my life I have traveled
intensively the five continents and stayed in all categories of establishments, from back packer, in early days, to five stars hotels, later
on. Capitan Suizo has subjugated me from the very beginning, it has all the attributes to satisfy the most critical guest.
Its location is spectacular. Nested in a lush tropical garden, just in front
of the ocean on the Tamarindo bay, it provides a very distinguished
atmosphere and the beauty all around is overwhelming. The rooms and suites are tastefully laid out and decorated, the size is more than generous. The staff is very friendly and competent and the chef in the kitchen is outstanding. Dinner is served on the beach, where the elegantly dressed tables with candle light delights lovers as well as single guests. Capitan Suizo is also reputed for its respect for nature and environment and has been awarded the five leafs certificate, the highest possible recognition for Sustainable Tourism from Costa Rican Tourism Board. As you walk around the gardens, you may meet several free animals, such as monkeys, raccoons, squirrels, tropical birds and more. The Establishment fully deserves the distinction Boutique Hotel, also thanks to the presence and continuous efforts of its owners Ursula Schmid and her son Urs.



Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Ricardo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our family had 4 bungalows during our stay, and none of us were impressed with the rooms. All of them seemed to be outdated, and just needed some touching up. I'm sure it difficult keeping up with maintenance from the salt water air, but for the price we expected more. Although it is in the rainforest, I found a large spider (silver dollar sized) in my shoe inside the room, and my dad found a large spider in his room as well. The location was a convenient 5 minute cab ride to town, although I wouldn't recommend walking, as the road is not conducive for pedestrian traffic. Additionally, the food was sub-par for a "gringo resort", leaving much to be desired for both breakfast and lunch. I would say the main highlight of our stay were the howler monkey's that came to visit just about every afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatieDavisRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milena R, owner family at Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear KatieDavisRoss

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about our Hotel.
We are truly sorry that Capitan Suizo did not fully meet your expectations.

Our property is almost 20 year old and it’s one of the first hotels built in Tamarindo and we are proud of that! With the charm the age gives it, it also comes with some difficulties to maintain it, especially because of the humidity and the climate we have here in Guanacaste. That’s why we close for a few months almost every year. During this time we do all kinds of maintenance work and give our best to innovate the hotel! Therefore we are really sorry to hear that you had the impression that the bungalows seemed outdated.

Regarding the spiders you found inside the rooms we apologize, but we are located in Costa Rica, which counts one of the greatest biodiversity in the world. Furthermore, how you can read on our webpage, we are a sustainable hotel, we love animals and plants and don’t use chemicals in our garden. How you wrote in your comment there are howler monkeys that come visit really often and many other animals; squirrels, iguanas, raccoons and it doesn’t happen often, but it can be that there is a spider, an ant or a butterfly inside a room.

We also believe that the road is not the best way to walk from our hotel into town, that is why we suggest walking on the beach, while enjoying the sunset, the tropical sun or the beautiful night sky.

We are surprised by your comments on the breakfast; usually we get great feedback on our daily, homemade, fresh bread and fruit variety. However, we are currently working on a new lunch and dinner menu, taking into consideration our guests wishes.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Milena Re – Owner family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We loved staying at Capitan Suizo, and it's a great choice in Tamarindo--perfect location at the far/quiet end of the beach, but easy enough to walk right up along the water line and into town (or back again). The property is beautiful; and the ever-present wildlife is great, if that's your thing. I loved the visits from the monkeys every day.

The service was, overall, excellent. Some staff are extremely friendly; others were less so. The daily breakfast in the open air restaurant was a great way to start the day, with lots of good food options. The dinners (we ate there twice in the evening) were just okay.

Our bungalow was great, and worth the splurge on the extra cost. I'd hoped to get one of the oceanfront bungalows, but as it turns out, those have enough of an obstructed view of the water that it didn't really make a difference. We loved our spot.

Overall, Capitan Suizo felt very good to me, for the price. I would go back again -- AND, at this price point, it's neither the best or worst place I've stayed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VTER12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 24 in Tamarindo
727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 24 in Tamarindo
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique

Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Capitan Suizo)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $200 - $622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing