We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Wildlife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of Wildlife”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is a great place to see some animals. The birds will join you for breakfast, the iguanas will share your ocean view, the raccoons will walk by while your enjoying your dinner and if you so lucky, the howler monkeys just might be your morning wake up call. The animals, secluded spot on the beach and gardens seemed to be unique to this hotel. It was a great place to both relax and take on some Costa Rican excursions. The town is about a 10min walk up the beach making it very easy to get to without a car. The restaurant at the hotel was exceptionally good and some great places to eat in town.

We were most impressed with the hotel staff. With all the animals around, they have their work cut out for them with cleaning but they are constantly on top of it. They were all around nice and happy to help with anything you needed. In fact, we had some trouble getting a replacement medical device to Costa Rica and they helped in everyway they could to make it happen. Wonderful people! There is no TV in the room and only WIFI in the lobby but you quickly get over that by spending more time at the beach, in town or down at the pool.

Room Tip: Try for a second floor room as they better views. Be mindful that if you would like AC, you need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    222
    37
    17
    13
See reviews for
347
642
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The view is amazing. We had a Beachfront room and could walk right out across the lawn onto the beach. We loved the animals like the iguanas, monkey and kittens on the premises. In fact a raccoon swung by and visited us for dinner and a bird flew in and ate my breakfast when i got up to get more coffee. It is such a relaxed atmosphere that anything really goes. No wifi in the rooms is always frustrating to me. It's a very secluded area of the beach which we enjoyed the privacy. The rooms are ok, nothing spectacular, but with a beach to play on right in front of you their is little reason to be in there but sleep. You can't go wrong with this place.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the room. The beach is surreal. you won't want to leave it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msacco6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Capitan Suiza for the last 2 days of a two week trip. The room was lovely and the grounds were so well maintained. We ate in the restaurant and was very impressed by the food.

The location os perfect, close enough to Tamarindo to walk to the busiest areas (5 minutes along the beach) but far enough away to have an almost private beach to yourself.

We did have a problem with the water getting hot enough in the shower, but to the manager's credit he corrected the problem immidiatly and gave us a $100 credit for our troubles.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor, facing the ocean is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasi_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The majority of the reviews for Capitan Suizo spoke very well of this hotel, so we were obviously excited to get there. When we arrived, however, the first step through the door was disappointing. So, too, were all subsequent steps taken the remainder of our stay. The lobby was uninviting, and also the only place to get WIFI... more of a smoker's getaway than anything. The room was unspectacular, with the back of our room facing the road and a fairly disgustingly unkempt lawn. The food was really very good, though most of the food in Costa Rica is great, anyway. The restaurant is outside, which makes your morning dining experience awesome, but once the smaller wildlife (BUGS) comes out, being still for any length of time in an open-air environment can become quite annoying, especially at night after any precipitation. The pool is very nice and probably the highlight of our short stay. The beach is pretty, with a nice walk to the south, but it is VERY rocky in the water. Not a great place to enjoy the waves or a casual swim. Tamarindo is by far the most disappointing thing about staying at Capitan Suizo. Too many bad tourist shops, taxis, and rude surfers walking around. It feels very dirty, especially in the rainy season. Just not a fun place to be. We were supposed to stay for four nights, but decided to leave after the first. The hotel was very understanding and refunded our money. As with most of Costa Rica, the people at Capitan Suizo were extremely helpful and even helped us find another place to stay, which is why I rated them with two stars instead of one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just returned from two weeks at this beautiful boutique and wish we were back there now. We fell in love with the tranquility and ambiance as soon as we stepped through the door. The staff were incredibly kind and would bend over backwards to make you feel welcome and relaxed. The setting was beautiful; overlooking the sea whilst capturing a lagoon-looking pool surrounded by nature. Wandering around the grounds you see racoons at ease, howler monkeys jumping tree-to-tree and squirrels enjoying their feed. We tried out a variety of the rooms and were very impressed with them all - especially loving the main huts overlooking the sea. I highly recommend any nature loving person in need of a relaxing escape by the sea to come here.

Room Tip: The more you pay the nearer the beach you are. It's worth having at least one night in the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 721Riley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is our first trip to Costa Rica and this place came highly recommended. The rooms were really nice on the beach but the landscape is very unkept, staff members were very lax to their guests, even passive aggressive. The food is less than desirable. We actually shortened our stay there and went to another hotel of higher quality.
The only place that has wifi is the entrance area, which has a communal table. They give two outdated computers for your use. I dont know how important having a TV is to you, but there are no TVs in the rooms. The maid service is just average and not as thorough as it could be. We had a problem with the room and nobody came for 30 minutes as we waited for someone to come assist us. There are much better hotels along the beach that are better than this place. Stay away!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spent one week at Hotel Capitan Suizo - and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Tamarindo. Small, boutique hotel. Exceptional hospitality. Perfect balance achieved - the comforts Americans are accustomed to finding in better hotels alongside cultural immersion and the richness of the natural world found in the tropics. Guests of all ages, from many different countries, couples and families, all friendly. Literally right on the beach - southern end of long, sweeping, crescent-shaped Playa Tamarindo - perfect beach for all ages and swimming abilities. Slow walk along the beach into town takes about 10 minutes. Town is small, with a surf town vibe. In retrospect the hotel's own website underplays the property and it's amenities. Thought twice about writing a review - hotel seems a bit like hidden gem (which is likely their preference) but decided there might be a reader or two out there struggling to decide between Cala Luna, Los Altos de Eros, and Capitan Suizo - as I did - and perhaps this review will be helpful to them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Property: Hotel Capitan Suizo
Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing