We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Vacation EVER!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Capitan Suizo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
shrewsbury, nj
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Vacation EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our family stayed seven nights at the hotel in June. Our family all agreed it was the BEST vacation ever! The hotels peaceful jungle setting was amazing. Seeing monkeys (up close), raccoons, iguana and funky squirrels was so much fun. The staff was all super friendly and went out of their way to make you feel at home. My kids also loved the two frisky kittens, that spent most of their time napping in the lobby.
We spent almost all our time outside in the pool or ocean. Everything was so well maintained. The food in the restaurant was also very good and was very convenient when you did not feel like walking into town.
The rooms were open and airy. White and linens walls and a big four post bed. Plus great framed black and white vintage 1920’s photos of Costa Rica on the walls. We had two rooms that connected and worked perfectly for our family.
The kids 8 and 15 loved swimming, boogie boarding surfing and zip lining at Monkey Jungle. They were so happy and busy at the hotel that we hardly even went into town. They did sometimes watch a movie in the lobby on our ipad. We all had a hard time staying up past 9pm.
A few tips…
Be sure to get the bug spray in the silver can at the gift shop. The bugs in June were bad a night and OFF did not work for us.
Also spring for the AC because it was very humid.
Do not walk into town on the road bc there are no sidewalks and bad roads. Take the beach route, but remember to take your cell phone (set it for the highest brightness) or flashlight bc it gets dark at 7pm.
Bring zip lock bags for ANY food in the room. If not the ants will go crazy.
Pack light. We lived in our bathing suits.
Don't pay attention to the weather. They predicted rain everyday and we had one sprinkle in 8 days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colleenShrewsbury_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    210
    35
    17
    13
See reviews for
326
609
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Beautiful beach, great restaurant at this nice small boutique hotel. Really friendly and helpful staff. Close walk down the beach into Tamarindo. No complaints and would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time and would recommend this boutique hotel to anyone. The service was outstanding, the food was delicious, the rooms were very clean, the grounds were well manicured and location was exotic. This is a top destination you must go too. Management is top notch. Diego the manager gave me one of his own shirts and I were it proudly here. It's a well run hotel that takes care of the habitat and animals. If you are looking for a tropical destination with a beautiful beach this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
159 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Costa Rica is an amazing country with a lot of vegetation and wildlife. Hotel capital suizo is the definition of Costa Rica. If you don't like animals around you, including bugs, this hotel may not be for you. I loved how they treated then animals as one and did not ever run them off.

Transportation to the hotel was arranged by hotel. It was $85 for the two of us. The driver was prompt and professional. The road is small, bumpy and windy. I did get car sick. It will take about one hour.

The hotel: wonderful, courteous staff. The Free wifi in the lobby works good. The garden is amazing. We snacked on passion fruit picked straight from the tree on the property. We were visited each night by raccoons and each morning by birds. A few times we also enjoyed the monkeys on the property. Domesticated cats are always visible.

The room: we stayed in room 35 without AC. During the day it was kind of warm, but you shouldn't plan to stay the day in the room. At night, it was perfect. The room is spacious with enough closet space for two. There's a mini fridge, coffee pot and hair dryer. The restroom is big. The cleaning staff does and excellent job. Be aware that if you leave snacks on the counter, they will for sure be attacked by ants. Since the windows are always open, you will be awaken by the birds signing, monkeys howling, etc.

The pool/beach: the beach is your backyard. Accessible, clean. Not a beautiful beach compared to some we have seen, but still very nice. The water is dark, but the sand is also dark. The sand is the softest I have felt. The pool is never full, clean, and enough lounging chairs for everyone.

The restaurant: it has a good selection for dinner. We made the mistake of ordering too much the first day. All plates are big. First day we paid $70 for both of us, but we had ordered four plates, water and two juices. We decided to eat all of our dinners in the hotel for the convenience and because we heard that the restaurants outside the hotel weren't remarkable. We did have lunch outside the hotel at restaurants our tour guide took us to. The food was very good and authentic.

The excursions: ATV tour: if you're adventurous, I would recommend this. Know you will get very dirty and have to go through rough terrain. Zip lining: FUN, not to be missed. Hot springs in Arenal: nice on a rainy day. Arenal volcano: beautiful, but most of the time it was behind a cloud. We ended up getting a good view of it at 6pm, but only for a few minutes. The best tour we took was the one to the Tenorio Volcano. We hiked to a beautiful blue waterfall and lagoon. Then we hiked more to natural thermal pools on the blue river. This is the experience of a lifetime. You can't be out of shape for this one. Warren was our personal tour guide. He was excellent. Ask the hotel for him.

Tips:
1. Mosquitoes are everywhere!!! Bring your bug spray. We went through two cans in four days for two persons.
2. Dollars are accepted everywhere. No need to exchange.
3. Bring clothing you don't mind getting dirty
4. Bring good hiking shoes

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobetrotterBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We loved going to Kona Village in Hawaii until it was closed after being hit by the tsunami a few years ago. Our wonderful travel agent (Sharon Delano of Frosch Travel) found Capitan Suizo for us as a Costa Rican alternative. We loved the place! It's very small, only about 25-30 rooms, spread out over delightful grounds and right on the beach which we loved. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and will stop whatever they're doing to chat or help in any way. The collection of wildlife at the resort is wonderful - families of howler monkeys, almost tame racoons who wander around the restaurant, and delightful cats and kittens that my kids fell in love with. We had 2 adjacent rooms which had A/C. I definitely recommend getting rooms with A/C based on the heat and humidity, though some people we met there said they were fine with just the fans.

They have free boogie boards, ping-pong, an outdoor pool table, bocce, etc. We also rented kayaks ($15 per hour for a double) and went out to the little island just off the shore.

Rosa at the activities center was very helpful. After a couple of very long and bumpy car rides, we didn't want to go far and she organized zip line and mangrove tours that were both quite close by. We also took surfing lessons that she organized. It's worth asking for a discount if you are more than one person - we got a $5 per person discount for some of the tours.

The restaurant is quite good - nothing spectacular but very reliable and reasonably priced. They were good about accommodating our daughter's gluten-free requirement and were careful check with the chef on anything we had concerns over.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We are a couple in our 50s and stayed in one of the private bungalows with air conditioning. It was spacious, beautiful, private and very comfortable. There was LOTS of storage space which was great. The bathroom is huge and there is an outdoor shower! Perfect for coming in from the beach with sandy feet.

My one, small negative remark about the bungalow is that it was dark. Put some brighter lights in! There are two bright (but quite small) reading lights on each side of the bed which was helpful but not enough. There are other lights but all are dim. Not that you go there to spend time inside, but while inside I'd have been more comfortable with more light.

The staff was wonderful, the pool area gorgeous, the pool temperature perfect. The setting on the beach is like a postcard of the tropics. We watched the sun go down one night, over the ocean. The wildlife is fun - we saw monkeys in the trees, several large lizards and interesting birds.

We were there in June which is "green" (meaning wet) season. It did not rain but was incredibly humid. Insect repellent is an absolute must! My husband didn't use it the first night and was eaten alive. He got a lot of big bites which hurt for a couple of days. I used it religiously and still got a few bites but they didn't really bother me. The book in the room warns you about the need for the bug spray.

The restaurant and bar are open air, very tropical and casual. They will serve food and drinks to you at the pool if you ask which we did, one day, and it was just lovely. The meals in the restaurant are great. The breakfast buffet, which is included, is okay although not as tasty as the other meals. Bread, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, scrambled eggs, sausages, pancakes - a good selection and all you can eat. There is some exercise equipment outdoors. We didn't use it but saw it being used; Nautilus-type stuff. I admire the people working out in that humidity!

You can walk to the small beach town of Tamarindo in about 15 minutes and one day we did this. It was a very hot and humid walk on a dusty road but still nice to be able to walk. It's a typical beach town with many souvenir shops and restaurants. I think everyone we talked to spoke some English, which was helpful, although I was trying hard to practice my limited Spanish!

We had a very good time at Capitan Suizo and definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Make sure you have air conditioning! I think not every room has it and it is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SP100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place was the tops! Could not have asked for a better place! The views, the food, the service, the rooms, the beach, the drinks, the pool. Everything! 3 minutes from town! This place was excellent! So much wildlife in and around the property. It was awesome. The trees, foilage, plants and all nature was so beautiful. Would love to return one day!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 22 and it was such a pretty view. From our porch you could see all the way to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielnorwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 22 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#9 of 22 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Property: Hotel Capitan Suizo
Address: | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 22-50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing