We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited Tamarindo, Costa Rica in early January 2013. We stayed at Hotel Capitan Suzio for 1 week. We had a great time. The flora and fauna on the grounds was amazing, howler monkeys, iguanas, birds, raccoons, beautiful foliage. The staff was outstanding; friendly, professional, polite, knowledgable about the area and things to do. The food was good, the breakfast included in the price of the room and the choices of fresh fruit, eggs, pastries, rice and beans, cereals, juices, coffee, teas, milk, and more I'm sure. Our room was good size and clean. the bed was comfortable and the was a nice sitting area both inside the room and right outside our door as well which was great. The only negative was the closet area had a very musty smell from the wood used. All in all this hotel was wonderful and we would return. BEAUTIFUL!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with an air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a great time we had at the Capitan! Everyone was so wonderful! We cannot wait to return! The rooms are lovely! The pool is awesome. The food spectacular! The staff were all friendly and helpful! The beach is beautiful and we definitely felt safe to walk on the beach at night to town. Bring a flashlight for walking....the Friday night barbeque is incredible. 15 howling monkeys (with babies) to spot during happy hour...iguanas walking by your beach chiar...you will love this place!!!!

Room Tip: We had a basic room on the first floor with air conditioning. I am a picky traveler and I must say t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzyeq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

just returned 21st march 2013 food, location, room, and the staff, are great the beach is fantastic also nice easy to walk on mainly sand water not to deep every thing is great ill recommend this hotel if you want nice relaxed time

Room Tip: we have no objections were we stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim&liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Capitan was wonderful and laid back way to experience Tamarindo. The lagoon pool and stretching beach front was incredible and gave opportunity for swimming, surfing and beach walking/running. There was some solisiting on the beach, and we were careful not to walk the beach at night as advised by a friend who lives in the area. We weren't too crazy about the food from the hotel restaurant, but taxis to town are $5 or a 10 minute daytime walk on the road. The nature at Capitan was what really set this hotel apart from our other two stays in Costa Rica. There was a peacefulness and untouched beauty of Suizo that not many hotels can capture. With lush vegetation, star fruit and mango trees, we felt incredibly relaxed and really experiencing Costa Rica for what it is. As for animals there were squirrels, lizards and iguanas, magpie jays, and a plethora of other birds. We loved Capitan Suizo and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunsearcher23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Capitan Suizo was the perfect place to stay.
The staff was friendly, and the atmosphere was great for our relaxing honeymoon. Its location is great because you are far enough away from all the action in Tamarindo so that it remains quiet/relaxing, yet it is an easy walk along the beach to go into town if you want to eat/shop/party. The food is also good... I cannot recommend one thing because every meal we ate was delicious.
The hotel has kayaks and surf boards you can check out from the hotel, and they also helped us plan a scuba diving trip, which was also fun.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed there for 4 nights. First night in a regular bungalow and the last three in a beachfront bungalow. (They didn't have a beachfront one available for our whole stay.) The room change was easy. I returned my key at 11:30, and the bungalow was ready for us just a few hours later. They even moved our luggage for us. The location on the beach is perfect. Free use of boogie boards, which we spent a lot of time doing. Great restaurants in the area, all within walking distance. A cab to/from town if you choose, to use is only $5. Breakfasts were good. Traveling with my 12-year-old son, their dinner menu is mored geared towards adults, so we ate our other meals elsewhere. The bungalows are spacious and private. Bed was very comfortable. Get an air-conditioned room too, as it is VERY hot in this part of the country.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money (and if they have room) for a bungalow! Very private and roomy. No need to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent, wonderful, beautiful!!! If you stay here, you will not be disappointed! I have stayed at Capitan Suizo 3 times and every time it has been a delight! The location, breakfast, and staff are truly 5-star. The rooms are nice, but if you are willing to spend a little extra the bungalows are extremely spacious and private. Either way, both are very nice. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordanwinstonsalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 24 in Tamarindo
734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 24 in Tamarindo
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique

Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Capitan Suizo)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: $202 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing