We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location on the beach”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a very good hotel right on the beach in Tamarindo. The service was very good, and the food also. you can eat right on the edge of the beach.
It is very much a beach holiday hotel.
The rooms were clean and a good size, and I think they all have a 4-poster bed (ours did).
The hotel is on a rough road of about 500 yards, (as are many roads in Costa Rica) so be prepared when approaching it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seni0r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    224
    37
    17
    13
See reviews for
352
644
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have already made our reservations for next December, so you know up front how we feel about Capitan Suizo. If you can, splurge on one of the bungalows, preferably the beach front bungalow. The bungalows are spacious and well appointed. The location is right on the beach with easy beach access. You can lounge on the beach, by the pool, or right in front of your bungalow with your own private “beach front.” The can run or walk the 4 km beach or extend the run/walk into other beaches north and south of Tamarindo. The breakfast buffet is exceptional with a vast variety of selections. You could go for two weeks without eating the same food twice if you wanted to sample the entire selection. The tropical fruit was my favorite. For me, the breakfast buffet is a significant asset that differentiates Capitan Suizo from other places in Tamarindo. Although wireless internet is not available in the rooms, it is available in the lobby with several chairs and a large table. The Capitan Suizo owners have a philosophy about this, but I think the philosophy should evolve with the times and how we communicate and socialize with social media. Perhaps it will evolve, and they will provide internet access to the rooms and bungalows in the future.

Our only disappointment was dinner our first night. The special was a seafood risotto, which sounded great and was “advertised” as mussels, shrimp, and fish over risotto. It turned out to be one mussel, two small shrimps (that is an oxymoron), a lump of some kind of fish over a gelatinous mush of something. The service was less than expected also. While one observation should not always lead to a conclusion, we decided to eat elsewhere for the rest of our seven night visit.

A taxi ride is about $5 to any place in town. You can walk either on the beach side or the roads, but most of the roads are unimproved and dusty so you may arrive at your destination dirty and sweaty. Capitan Suizo provides each guest with a flash light for the walk home at night if you choose.

All told, this is a great place.

Room Tip: Splurge for a bungalow if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenB-cpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sigrid32, owner family at Hotel Capitan Suizo, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear guests
Once again we would like to thank all of you who, over the last few weeks, took the time and effort to write a review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback and comments and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful beachfront location, and the magnificent beach with its clear, blue water. Several guests mentioned the dirt road into town. Unfortunately we can’t do much about the dusty road, as this is out of our influence (but we keep trying). Some of you would have liked wifi connection in the rooms, while others liked the fact that its absence provided the perfect getaway from it all and time to enjoy each other’s company, surrounded by nature. You commented on our lush gardens, full of exotic plants and amazing wildlife, such as birds, monkeys, racoons, iguanas, porcupines and many more. You also mentioned our spacious and comfortable rooms and bungalows and you commented on our excellent breakfast buffet with its great variety of selections, our delicious food and friendly staff. Thank you all so much for your feedback and kind words and we are very happy to hear that many of you are planning to come back to Capitan Suizo in future.
Sigrid Engel - owner family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hotel Capitan Suizo... Where do i began?

Pros: The wild life was, in one word, AMAZING! From playful monkeys jumping from vines to laid back iguanas eating a banana in the sun, capitan suizo has the best amount of wildlife ive ever experianced. The food was also great. My husband and i very much enjoyed the low priced specials. They always offered a different special each night! The rooms were also very nice. I saw no problem not having a tv in our room because you dont go on vacation to watch tv! The WATER at the beach was a beautiful bright blue and there was barely any seaweed at all! I also loved that DURING THE DAY it was a very short walk along the beach to a cool native costa rican town.

Cons: First i want to say this was a great resort overall but personally, i have a couple cons. Ok so what was up with only having 5 beach chairs? I mean really yall need some more, and i think everyone would agree. I also found the resort in general not as luxorious as id hoped. This may be a personal thing but i really like the high end fancier resorts and although i loved this resort, this is not one of them.

The beach at night is not a safe place. I realize that Capitan Suizo cannot control this but my husband and i are used to taking beach walks in the evening so it was dissapointing. Another couple that was probobly mid - sixties and were costa rican natives warned us about the beach at night and told us it is sadly, very common in costa rica. Once again NOT something they can control and i assure u DURING THE DAY the beach is very safe and enjoyable.

One thing i recommend doing is if you go to costa rica, stay at more than one hotel. We did not do this but everyone we met did and liked it alot. If we are to go back to costa rica we will definently do this and Capitan Suizo would definently be a stop along the way.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren9088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The rooms are very spacious. I loved having the entire front wall be windows. It was a comfortable room especially after initially having spent a couple of nights at Pasatiempo where we had a horrible stay.

The grounds are beautiful and I fell in love with how many animals visit the property. We saw iguanas, howler monkeys, and played with friendly and tame raccoons (which you could never do in North America!) There were some beautful birds on the property as well.

Staff was great and breakfast was standard but tasty.

It is about a 10 minute walk to town and the hotel provide you with a flashlight with your key which is definitely handy for the walk to town for supper!

Room Tip: We had a Superior room which was very comfortable and on the ground floor which was convenient for e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We spent 6 days of our two week honeymoon at Hotel Capitan Suizo in Tamarindo. It is the best place I've ever stayed! The hotel staff is amazing. They were over the top from the moment we arrived and it was obvious they weren't working for tips. We stayed in a beachfront bungalow and from what I could tell the best one on the property. It is a boutique hotel so it's naturally less crowded but seemed even more than we expected. Unexpectedly, the had a bottle of wine chilled for our arrival with a congratulations note. Exactly the kind of thing any bride wants on their honeymoon. The Bungalow faces playa Tamarindo with the sliding doors opening the entire bungalow up to the outdoors facing the ocean. The view is brought up to a four poster bed so it's the first view you have in the morning and the last before you go to bed. There is no tv and only wifi in the lobby...the perfect getaway from it all. The outdoor shower was invigorating! The pool is about 20 yards from this bungalow and the best lounge chairs ever.
They also provide the same lounge chairs on the beach along with a pool table and ping pong table. Who doesn't want to play pool on the beach??
The breakfast buffet was great too. The breads were baked fresh, local fruit, eggs, fried cheese and other pastries. If you wanted anything else, they made it for you at no charge. We ate dinner there once and it was delicious and reasonably priced.
The hotel is known for the on site wildlife. We saw many lizards, iguanas, geckos. We had friendly raccoons jumping into our laps and we were able to feed a baby porcupine! We didn't see any monkeys but we heard them howling at night. We loved it!
Capitan Suizo is within walking distance to Tamarindo by beach or a dirt road. Many people said it was booming but don't be fooled. It's still small surfer town with great food, super market and souvenir shopping. We loved it and will be back for sure!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraWesty93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed there for the first 5 days of our last Costa Rica adventure.. I was very happy with the accommodations and the service. The rooms were spacious and bungalows are even bigger. We were there in November so not during the high season.

Restaurant - great food and service. The breakfast (included) was one of the best of all the places we stayed in the country, more options than anywhere. We ate one dinner and lunch every day there.

We enjoyed all the birds and monkeys and took a ton of photos. We were woken up one morning by the howler monkeys but I had expected that, and went back to sleep afterwards.
There are 5 raccoons living on property and two of them are baby raccoons. They come to the lobby all the time, so not be surprise when you see them. They are friendly and sometimes walk over your feet.

We walked into town at least once a day for a meal or shopping. The distance isn't bad at all, but the dirt road is very dusty and since there's no sidewalk you in essence are covered with a layer of dust by the time you get there or back so better to walk on a ocean beach. During low tide it is almost straight walk, but during high tide the beach become very narrow. In any cases it takes about 10 minutes to be in the town.

The beach there is great (unbelievably wide at low tide) and you can walk forever.

It would be nice to have wifi in the rooms instead of just in the lobby, but they do have nice tables and chairs to use while using internet.

I look forward to go back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I would recomned to stay in bangalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the last 3 days of our Costa Rica adventure. I chose it based on a friend who had stayed her on her honeymoon. I was very happy with the accomodations and the service. The rooms were spatious since there was a seperate living area and a balcony. We were there in November so not during the high season. The only downside is that that is when they do construction. I had a massage and that was a little disappointing because the people doing work near the spa kept talking and walking by and it was distracting. They should consider having a totally inside place for massages because the road traffic is always present.
My only other suggestion is to not allow smoking at the pool or on balconies. It is a bummer to sit outside and enjoy your morning coffee and have a waft of smoke come across your balcony.
Restaurant - great food and service. The breakfast (included) was the best of all the places we stayed in the country, more options than anywhere. We ate one dinner and one lunch there. I am a vegetarian (mostly vegan) and they had more options on the dinner menu than almost any other restaurant. The also stated that with some notice they can prepare more options. So that was a pleasant suprise.
We enjoyed all the birds and monkeys and took a ton of photos from the balcony. We were woken up one morning by the howler monkeys but I had expected that, and went back to sleep afterwards.
We walked into town at least once a day for a meal or shopping or yoga (try Ser Om yoga studio, it's great). The distance isn't bad at all, but the dirt road is very dusty and since there's no sidewalk you in essence are covered with a layer of dust by the time you get there or back.
The beach there is great (unbelievably wide at low tide) and you can walk forever.
It would be nice to have wifi in the rooms instead of just in the lobby, but they do have nice tables and chairs to use while internet surving.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenGal111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,451 reviews
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Property: Hotel Capitan Suizo
Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing