We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Couldn't be happier!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Capitan Suizo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't be happier!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from 7 days at this charming little hotel. I cannot say enough how much we enjoyed it.

The hotel property is amazing. Situated at the south end of the town of Tamarindo, the hotel is secluded from the crowds. Still, it sits on a beautiful beach and is wonderfully green and lush. Prior to our visit, we understood the hotel's committment to protecting the environment, and making nature the focus of a vacation. As such, we were pleased with the peace and quiet, as well as the indigenous flora and fauna throughout the property (we saw so many birds, monkeys, raccoons, iguanas, bats,a and even an anteater, among others). It is also evident that there is a conscious effort made in recycling, conserving energy and using local, sustainable food and materials.

We stayed in one of the bungalows (#8), which was beautiful and spacious. No, there is no tv or Internet in the room, but we loved that! We spent so many hours on our little patio, watching the beach and wildlife, and loving being disconnected from "real life" and connected to each other.

The bar/restaurant and pool are virtually on the beach. The beach is very rocky (and painful on your feet) during low tide, but swimable when the tide is up. Walk south along the beach for pretty shells and views.

Tamarindo is a short walk from the hotel, and many of Costa Rica's popular activities are easily accessed from town. (if you need to rent a surf board or surf information, see Deigo at Costa Rica Surf Club right on the strip in town!)

Thank you to Hotel Capitan Suizo, the owners and the staff (special mention to Eddie at the bar/breakfast) for a wonderful stay. We can't wait to return!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank sbsmutoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    202
    33
    17
    12
See reviews for
311
577
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for the Tamarindo Beach Marathon, location is great since is close from the start line. Service was great, food was amazing and the rooms are very very comfortable. Loved the gardens and the strongest point is the hotel beach front location...beautiful pool right in front of one of the nicest white sand beaches in Costa Rica...had an amazing Bloody Mary just watching the pacific ocean...watchout for the magpie jays trying to steel your food..very cute...the only negative aspect and is not part of the hotel is the tamarindo roads...very embarrasing for me as a tico to see tourists struggling on those muddy and horrible "roads"

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eoreamuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sigrid32, owner family at Hotel Capitan Suizo, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guests,
We always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests and would like to thank you for taking the time and consideration to write a review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We take pride in creating an enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable stay for our guests and are extremely pleased to receive such kind and complimentary comments. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you recommend our hotel and also that many of you are planning to return for another visit. Thank you for your compliments on our location, pool, well kept gardens and clean and comfortable rooms. We are also very pleased to hear that you found our staff helpful, friendly and accommodating and enjoyed our breakfast buffet and ‘delicious drinks’. Several of you wrote that you truly enjoyed your stay and praised our hotel. We would like to thank you for this as it is always nice to know that our guests are happy and that our work, dedication and effort are achieving this. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Capitan Suizo and recreating another wonderful stay for you!
Sigrid Engel – owner family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Wow! What a fantastic home base for our honeymoon! It was gorgeous, the room were clean, cool, and spacious, and the staff was amazing! Only a 10-15 minute walk to the town, peaceful and serene! Love!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MegMills7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were there during july 4th week and everything was amazing. We stayed for 7 days at this location. The property is beautifull and the people are very nice. The food is probably some of the best seafood we have ever eaten. The free breakfast buffet was very good. Plenty of food to choose from, just watch out for the birds when you getting up to get a drink, they will take your food.

The property is located near the end of the beach so there aren't a lot of people on it, which was a good plus for us. There is a supermarket about a 15 minute walk towards town, and the rest of the shopping is about another 5 minutes away from there.

jojo the monkey is probably one of the more memorable things from the trip. We would go every morning to the common area near the help desk to play with him. He is not shy, so watch out for your stuff, or it may be gone. In my case he took the #1 key from my laptop. But for only $10(replacement key) I will have the memory from that hilarious moment for the rest of my life.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The property was very nice. The rooms didn't have AC, but the ocean breezes and ceiling fans were perfect. The restaraunt was probably the best food we had all week in Tamarindo. The staff were so friendly and nice. Rosa was helpful at getting us everything we needed and George (and Ingrid) were kind enough to take us to the "Farm" where we were able to play with the monkeys and racoons. It was amazing!

Room Tip: get a second floor room, they have nice balcony's that include gas lamps for ambience. Also up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bp1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Wonderful staff, beautiful place to stay. Beach was amazing and the grounds, landscaping were amazing. Love the animals! The food was very good (very fresh) and offered lots of options. The drinks tasted great. Very romantic place. Well managed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Pros:
The grounds are lovely and feel natural.
Very nice pool
The restaurant is great for lunch snack or a fancy dinner
on a great, beautiful sandy beach
Ample shade for the beach chairs
AMAZING BF buffet with great selection for all
Service from the entire staff is unbelievably good. They are caring and energetic - it looks like they are really happy there.
Rooms are big and spacious with a porch and comfy seats
We saw tons of wildlife at the hotel grounds


Cons:
The rooms are old and outdated
The AC is noisy

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikicanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 23 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 23 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 23 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#8 of 23 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Property: Hotel Capitan Suizo
Address: | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 22-50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing