We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capitan Suizo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We loved staying at Capitan Suizo. We had a ground floor room with A/C and a patio. The grounds are beautifully landscaped complete with monkeys, birds and lizards. I loved the visiting mapache (raccoons) in the evening who come to eat and the baby porcupine who also comes to eat in the evening. I got to feed papaya to the baby porcupine! There are also several resident cats and some visiting dogs.
The pool was awesome and literally steps from the beach. It was so amazing having breakfast so close to the beach. You can also eat at the tables on the beach. Food at the hotel was good as well. Loved the bar and the drinks and the hotel staff.
Tamarindo itself is a fun town with many choices for restaurants and shopping.
I would not hesitate to recommend Capitan Suizo or return for another stay. Truly relaxing and beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    194
    31
    17
    12
See reviews for
298
562
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Beautiful room, nice staff, in the middle of nature - you can watch monkeys, lizards, birds, squirrels,.... while having an EXCELLENT breakfast! One of the nicest hotels I´ve ever been to, the price is totally worth it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgit Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sigrid32, owner family at Hotel Capitan Suizo, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear guests
Thank you to all our guests who, over the last few weeks, took the time and effort to write their valuable comments about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We really value and appreciate all your reviews and kind comments. We are very pleased to read that you had a nice holiday at our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our beautiful location, the tropical gardens, the plants and trees as well as the amazing wildlife, the comfortable rooms, beautiful beach, the overall cleanliness, great food, as well as our friendly staff and the excellent service they provide. We are very happy when our dedication and efforts pay off with happy guests! Thanks again and we hope to welcome you all back to Capitan Suizo very soon. Sigrid Engel – owner family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in July with our 3 kids...14, 12 and 9 years old. Loved it. Room 73... Beachfront...huge sliding door facing beach. No tvs on property which was nice. Kids constantly back and forth from pool to beach. Great service.

Despite it being "rainy season" we had great weather the whole time...highs around 90 but nice and breezy. They've done great job building hotel in the trees that were there...there are wild monkeys, exotic birds, iguanas, etc. beautiful landscaping. 10 minute walk down beach to Tamarindo where we took 2 hour surf lesson with Tamarindo Surf School.

Big auto mercado supermarket as entering Tamarindo from east where you can stock up. We had car but easy to get around with taxis.

About 50 minutes from Liberia airport.

Great meals at dragonfly, noguis and las baulas (thin crust pizza).

We enjoyed pool/beach so much we didn't do any other activities (rented boogie boards for 10 bucks a day from Tamarindo surf shop)...saved those for arenal where we headed next.

Nice free breakfast buffet at hotel...watch out for the birds...will take your food!

Not cheap (500 per night approx)...but felt was worth it.

Room Tip: Room 73 was big enough for our family of 5.... King size bed and two pullout sofas. AC worked well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpitzNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights here last Feb. 2012, after leaving the small town of Samara. We loved the atmosphere and the hotel itself was just awesome!!! There were many animals wandering about that the hotel staff takes very good care of, it really did make our stay quite interesting, there were many monkeys, iguanas, raccoon family, etc. We fed the animals and learned a lot about them! This was just an added plus to our lovely surroundings. The grounds are out of this world gorgeous and well maintained, the pool area is beautiful, and really everything you would expect of a small resort. It felt very intimate, yet had all the amenities of a larger resort. We thoroughly enjoyed the beach as well, perfect waves for surfing right outside our door. The room was beautiful as well, I liked the set up with the bathroom facing the street side, and our bedroom facing the beautiful resort, we were on the 2nd floor with a lovely balcony as well. We did not encounter any bugs in our room or anything at all which is a plus after some stories I've read about Costa Rica! It was very very clean!!!! We enjoyed a lovely show on Friday night with a really good barbecue dinner as well, that was lots of fun. One night we ate dinner all alone at a candlelit table on the beach, that was unbelievably beautiful, romantic and memorable!!! The food was always great, enjoyed all drinks as well!! Service was impeccable throughout, would definitely return, as we are planning to in the very near future!!! Oh, also loved the cool surfer town of Tamarindo, it had a cool vibe, really interesting looking places to eat but we didn't get to ck. much out b/c we weren't there long!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Hotel Capitan Suizo provided our family with a fantastic week long beach experience. The hotel property is beautiful and tastefully appointed. Beds were solid and comfortable. Air conditioning was perfect and the beach - the surf, the warm water, the sunsets - was as good as any we've experienced. The pool was a great place to relax after playing in the surf. And yet, none of this compared to the warmth and overall high quality of the staff. The hotel activity czar/concierge, Rosa, was fantastic. She helped us with various activities and travel arrangements as well as some on-the-fly Spanish conversation lessons. We spent quite a lot of money for the hotel, and the cost of Tamarindo is generally high, in some ways, it's obscenely high, and yet... in every way possible, the Hotel Capitan Suizo delivered the goods and made the trip well worth it. Muchas gracias!

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the road as it can be rather dusty and it will end up in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SebGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

After a long drive up from San Jose, we really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and mohitos on the beach at the Capitan Suizo. Just far enough away from the mainstream, yet a casual walk along the beach to all the action. The kids really enjoyed the wildlife who has also made it thier home away from home. Great staff, friendly smiles and excellent service....even when we put the kids down and went for ´la ultima´ at the bar (which was technically closed). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Anything facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlitos1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#8 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 stars 2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
3.3 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Property: Hotel Capitan Suizo
Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local Airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach Hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing